prem said:
hi all,
am new here, just bought my car last week. just want to know if anyone here knows where i can change my ignition key and also fit a reasonable good alarm system......scared of thieves liao....
Hello Prem,
1st of all, Welcome to ZTH and our very own
MLOC@Mitsubishi forum tread.
Now here is my input for your querys..
For ignition key, any good reputable accessories shop will have sets of those for aftermarket replacement purposes. The best person to ask would be our member Terence aka Lancerevvory or our big boss Leslie aka MLOC President coz this 2 roam the street of KL and PJ for accessories shop as their research n survey hobby !! :shades_smile:
As for a 'reasonable good alarm', it will depends on your budget. Since you mentioned you just got your car and are somehow new in this, I would say your very 1st instinct will tell you to fork out somewhere ard 1-2K.
Usualy if you are willing to fork out and invest 4K and above, you are no longer NEW and are consider a 'seasoned' and pro in alarm and it's setup.
Myself and another MLOC member, Jacob is also into alarm pretty much so I'll just share my knowledge a little. Let's assume you got 2K to start with..
Is not really much but here are your priorities and option to start off..
You must 1st accept the fact that Good alarm are expensive and do not compare features by features because local made or china made alarm do offer the same features but at a very much degraded quality made. Is always the case where good and reputable alarm makers and it's models features are copied by all other alarm makers but do remember we are paying for it's quality and realibility (agains theft hack) and not just plainly features.
We can't really do 'much' with 2K if you stick to average-good alarm. I suggest you invest on good visible locks (pedal + Steering) and put in additional measures such as fuel cut relay (nicely hidden) and if possible, a mid-range immobiliser (ie..cheetah) within your budget to start with. What the eye see, the mind believe !
With 2K, the most we can start by getting alarm in the low range level if you were to include the above (manual locks..etc) + some additional sensors. Bear in mind that although you get the 'same features' such as 2 way or others from the local/China made or common alarm I've mentioned, good and reputable brands such as Clifford, Vipers, Crimestopper, Sidewinder...etc is never the same with those 'common', although features might be the same. Their brands and reputation speaks for themselve and we are not only paying for the 'import charges'..bear that in mind.
Their (the good alarms) code-hopping mechanism, additional module function and logic circuitary design (against theft attempt with short circuit) is different and definately much reliable compare to the lower end brands offering the same features. In short, you get what you pay...simple.
Ok..if we move the budget a little up say to 3.5K, we can then get a Higher model of these 'good alarms' to start with and add on better module and add in according your budget the following...The most you can add is about 1/2 of the module below as anything more will UP your budget. But I'm sharing with you what are all the optional module available and in bracket (), their usage/purposes.
1. Backup Siren (against siren/battery cut)
2. Additional Siren (Louder)
3. Tilt Sensor (Against TOW/Jack)
4. Microwave Proximity Sensor (movement inside/near car)
5. Speakerphone sensor (glass brake)
6. Shock Sensor (shock, smash attempt)
7. Bonnet Lock (Lock it !)
8. Fuel Cut relay (so car cannot start !)
9. Immobiliser
and lastly if budget permits later on, a GSM or GPS based tracking module such as CAPTOR ..etc. Of course, from 1-9 is more of a TOTAL SOLUTION but then, the best prevention is still common sense.
I can't write a book long but if you can spare me some time and join us up for TT, I am sure myself and everyother member will be more than happy to share with you our knowledge as well as 'experience'.
Good luck and do PM myself, Leslie or Stomvolution9 if you are interested to meet with us and include your details/hp no so we can invite you for our TT (Teh Tarik session) next round.
Welcome to the forum again...
Cheers,
Ben
MLOC VP.