Most reliable production engine

My contribution is the Toyota Corolla engine (old model). Anyone know the engine type? It's the one you see in those OLD corolla wagons, always yellowish/cream colour. My dad had one of those when he was a student and when I went back to NZ, there was still quite a few on the road..... Toyota New Zealand had an ad where the odometer was 999,999km and still going strong.

Originally posted by gobiz@Mar 26 2005, 22:31
My contribution is the Toyota Corolla engine (old model). Anyone know the engine type? It's the one you see in those OLD corolla wagons, always yellowish/cream colour. My dad had one of those when he was a student and when I went back to NZ, there was still quite a few on the road..... Toyota New Zealand had an ad where the odometer was 999,999km and still going strong.
[snapback]843381[/snapback]​

What about Nissan/Datsun Sunny? Seen quite a few on the road...which proves that it has survived the test of time..hahaha :lol:

Originally posted by gobiz@Mar 26 2005, 22:31
[snapback]843381[/snapback]​

that should be the 4K or 5K engine ... yup most reliable engine ever.. read
bout the user reviews on the site below:

http://carsurvey.org/modelyear_Toyota_Corolla_1982.html

Originally posted by AccordRacing@Mar 26 2005, 22:48
datsun engine :rolleyes:
[snapback]843402[/snapback]​

old but still makes nice engine sound when u rev it... can easily notice it from far... :D

my father has a fren who drives a early batch of fuel injection 4G15
he always run here run there(a boss...but hardworking ones) until the meter also pecah ard
he ran that car till 999999 and now the new meter ard clocked 150k+ km
:lol:
so far i never heard my dad saying that he had a major repair of his fren's engine except thou consumable items

the honda EX5 engine......

do u ever seen stock ex5 take for repair, cause engine problem?
i saw many auntie, uncle abuse the bike....
still they run fine,,,

agree with lozo....diesel engines in general are the most reliable especially the ones without electronics...purely mechanical...not only for trucks and heavy vehicles but also for cars(old merc taxis...hehehe) and 4X4's(HILUX, LAND CRUISER PICKUP 4.2, LAND CRUISER NINJA...etc..)......they go on and on and on.........

thats becoz they were designed to be as lasting as possible. they had that in mind when they made them. in the commercial sector, there is great demand for machines that could cut cost by reducing the frequency of needed maintenance. this is one sector that motor manufacturers seem like they give in to the customer's dreams.. to me lah :lol:

if they wanted to do the same for our car engines they could. but the cars and even the engines would cost at least 3 times their current price.

k series toyota engine sure is reliable.. nomatter how you trash it, sometime it might overheat abit, just let it rest and then its back to business >_<. use the "wait until it blow up to get a 4age", and you'll wait forever... the K50 gearbox that come with it sux tho...