mud (sludge) in radiator.

legend7

dear all forummer,

I need some advise here, im driving a matrix 1.8. recently my car always overheating & my radiator seems to drink a lots of water. but today i found out my engine oil is empty & inside my radiator theres a mud (brown cream). i guess its blown head gasket is allowing coolant to mix with the oil.

Went to a workshop they advise me to go for a top overhaul & change the engine head & it will cost me RM3k (not including piston, crank shaft etc...etc...etc....). the way they said it like my car is already in a critical condition,

really need an advise :(,

they haven't opened up the head and said need to change already?

maybe you should find another shop...

how long were you driving in that condition?

i guess they already open the top head. i leave my car in the workshop as they said need to check, later on rceived call frm them & the story begins.....

its been abt a month ive been topping up water, since the temp is raising & the water seems running low every time (mayb theres a leak somewhere)

yeah most probably blown head gasket... in most cases u dont need to change ur cylinder head... jz get it skimmed if it is warped... but if it has been skimmed numerous times or cracked (in extreme cases), yes u need to change new cylinder head....

check ur valve seal as well if they've been affected by the overheating issue... hence, a top overhaul job is recommended...

Thanks for the reply, mind to let me know how to check valve seal & how to know if its affected??
thanks...

the same problem just like me...there's a mud brownish color in the radiator rite? mine is quite visible at the radiator cap..my mech said the the casket...but my water level just effect a bit...i'm gonna change gasket this week...also i'm gonna replace the valve seal...

Hi Guy
I also drove a matrix 1.8, almost having same issue, lucky discover early change whole radiator system and water pump (original cost 1.4K)
My advice--- Dun change those part if the cost more then 3-4K- Get a halfcut from sungai chua--

Hyundai Matrix 1.8 using beta engine same as Elantra batch 2002 onwards ( much more cheaper) or plonk in Mitsui GSR 1.8 (with turbo or not turbo) engine , same engine mounting if i not wrong . You will get more bang for ur buck , more power n less thirsty also..

The only problem is getting good mechanic to do it.

Happy driving

any update?? does change the casket & vavle seal manage too overcome this problem?? or change the cooling system fix it?

i've just done my top overhaul...change the gasket and valve seal...the gasket was badly worn...after that i've test my car all the way from jb to mersing...revving all the way...then i check back the radiator if there's any oil sludge...the oil sludge still there but not very visible...it was the oil that left in the radiator before changing the gasket...so...changing the gasket and oil seal can overcome the problem if your casket already worn out..

bout the engine oil decrease...my engine oil just decrease a bit...it's because of the high revving during my trip to mersing...testing with my new vtec camshaft...

my advice : change the gasket and seal la bro..not only it will solve your problem..but you also can get better fuel consumption after overhaul your head...

your engines oil gone ? I'm assuming that you have been driving for a period of time before you know it. How did your foreman know that your internal(crank, conrod, bearing, piston ring etc) are still in good condition after oil starvation ?
my advice is like basis, for 3k+++....get another engines & find another shop(wtf do they need to change cylinder head for, did they really test for hairline cracks ???LOL)

no need to change head...i've done my rebuild for only 1.1k = metal gasket + valve seal + port n polish....
3k is too much for only overhaul...can buy a set of engine already...

Thanks for the reply, mind to let me know how to check valve seal & how to know if its affected??
thanks...

When the valve seals are not in good condition. First ting that will appear is white smoke from ur exhaust.

Hi Guy
I also drove a matrix 1.8, almost having same issue, lucky discover early change whole radiator system and water pump (original cost 1.4K)
My advice--- Dun change those part if the cost more then 3-4K- Get a halfcut from sungai chua--

Hyundai Matrix 1.8 using beta engine same as Elantra batch 2002 onwards ( much more cheaper) or plonk in Mitsui GSR 1.8 (with turbo or not turbo) engine , same engine mounting if i not wrong . You will get more bang for ur buck , more power n less thirsty also..

The only problem is getting good mechanic to do it.

Happy driving

4G93/4G63/4G67/4G94 can be same mounting. The older version of 4G63 and the latest version of 4G9X/6X different oreintation. Share ur engine picture to determine.

any update?? does change the casket & vavle seal manage too overcome this problem?? or change the cooling system fix it?

Not sure of the problem how to justify..

i've just done my top overhaul...change the gasket and valve seal...the gasket was badly worn...after that i've test my car all the way from jb to mersing...revving all the way...then i check back the radiator if there's any oil sludge...the oil sludge still there but not very visible...it was the oil that left in the radiator before changing the gasket...so...changing the gasket and oil seal can overcome the problem if your casket already worn out..

bout the engine oil decrease...my engine oil just decrease a bit...it's because of the high revving during my trip to mersing...testing with my new vtec camshaft...

my advice : change the gasket and seal la bro..not only it will solve your problem..but you also can get better fuel consumption after overhaul your head...

Rinse it with petrol/alcohol

your engines oil gone ? I'm assuming that you have been driving for a period of time before you know it. How did your foreman know that your internal(crank, conrod, bearing, piston ring etc) are still in good condition after oil starvation ?
my advice is like basis, for 3k+++....get another engines & find another shop(wtf do they need to change cylinder head for, did they really test for hairline cracks ???LOL)

Right. But if skimming does not solve the problem over heating problem, then changing the cylinder head/engine would be the option.

Some engines' head cannot be skimmed. Example CAMPRO... U skimmed also will still overheat. Change the head, solved the bloody problem...

no need to change head...i've done my rebuild for only 1.1k = metal gasket + valve seal + port n polish....
3k is too much for only overhaul...can buy a set of engine already...

Yes... 3K is very expensive. Can buy the whole engine.

so if campro you cant skim the cyl. head eh..damn...mind explain why ?
where are the campro head weak point ?
wondering how much the cost for the campro head

skimming the cylinder head can increased compression...
hmm..mybe campro head cannot withstand higher compression then stock?

so if campro you cant skim the cyl. head eh..damn...mind explain why ?
where are the campro head weak point ?
wondering how much the cost for the campro head

Well, when u have overheating problem, foreman will check for leakage on radiator, hoses, and water pump. If no identified leakage, foreman would recommend to skim head and top overhaul.

However, when u have overheating problem with campro engine, and no leakage detected. The foreman/technician at proton would recommend a cylinder head change without even recommending skimming.

My experience was, there was a customer's car at my foreman's shop with overheating campro. Tried skimming and problem not solved. When change the head, problem solved.

The cost at spare parts shop would be around RM2K+.

skimming the cylinder head can increased compression...
hmm..mybe campro head cannot withstand higher compression then stock?

Well, skimming cylinder head is only matters of 0.2mm. Causing the compression ratio to increase by 0.1 maybe making a campro engine to be 10.1

I think the major problem is to do with the design.