Mugen rims VS Rays Engs rims...

Civic-R

Just wanted to check which 1 is better in terms of durability,quality & lightweight for Honda.Any hondarians want to share their experienced bout these 2 brands of rims?Thanks.

prefer rays engineering ------>> TE 37 or CE28 (lightweight) rather than mugen RIM

currently using 16' TE37 on my ride

They're just wheels!... only the design and weight is different...

If you want durability, quality and lightweight, can't go wrong with either brand.
As for being better... depend on each model.

some rays weighs more than mugen rims depending on design, and some mugen rims are lighter than rays.

I think for 15", TE37 has the best weight, while for 16" MF-10 has the best weight..

I could be wrong though.. never bothered to check with scales.

Are there original Mugen rims at the our market?
I think Mugen is better... coz it's a Honda tuner

Currently i'm using 17' Rays Eng 57F.I can say is good.Just wanted to change to Mugen rims.

mugen vs rays... don't have a chance yet to sample these fine specimens so can only listen to your discussions le. any lobang for affordable rays or mugen ka?

can only afford ASAHI for the time being... heavy le these ASAHI rims of mine

personal opinion lah....go for rays....they consider specialist on wheels...material of the rim and way of making it is important...forge or cast..?
mugen also can ler...they know what's the best for honda....

Opt-ion said:
Are there original Mugen rims at the our market?
I think Mugen is better... coz it's a Honda tuner

It's available..

About 11-13K for new.

about 5.5K used... I think.

for MF-8 last time SS was selling around 3.5K...2nd...

honda owners shouldnt face any probs with Mugen rims but if ya planning to get rays...make sure u get the correct offsets!

a set as in all four.. not a pair.. I always count that way since we don't buy rims in pairs. ROFL!

Rays of course...

or...

Advan RG...

or...

Desmond EvoRegamaster...

p/s: the design n weight that matters... if the rims is very very very lightweight but looks like shit... waste money buying la...

OMG... I better diverse it at the engine bay!@#

and get RAYs eng better...

more important is the process used to make the rims....
forged or casted?

n it depends on which model of which brand tat u wanna compare....

cannot just compare generally....

looks like volks is mostly forged...very good....
weights r in pounds.....go calculate urself la....

Volk CE28N Forged 14x5.5 6.5
Volk CE28N Forged 15x7 9.1
Volk CE28N Forged 17x7.5 13.8
Volk CE28N Forged 17x9 14.8
Volk Daytona Speed Cast 17x8 24.0
Volk Gram Lights Cast 17x7.5 17.0
Volk GTA Forged/Spun 17x9 21.0
Volk GTN Forged/Spun 18x7.5 18.5
Volk GTN Forged/Spun 18x8.5 19.0
Volk GTP Forged/Spun 17x9 19.5
Volk SE37K Forged 17x7.5 14.3
Volk SE37K Forged 18x9.5 16.8
Volk Sebring ITC Cast 18x7.5 21.5
Volk SS Cast 18x7.5 25.0
Volk TE37 Forged 13x8 8.3
Volk TE37 Forged 14x5.5 8.5
Volk TE37 Forged 15x6 8.2
Volk TE37 Forged 15x6.5 8.8
Volk TE37 Forged 15x7 9.2
Volk TE37 Forged 16x7 11.2
Volk TE37 Forged 16x7.5 11.3
Volk TE37 Forged 16x8 13.3
Volk TE37 Forged 17x7.5 15.0
Volk TE37 Forged 18x7.5 17.0
Volk TE37 Mag Forged Mg 18x8.5 12.9

In case you don't know what forged and casted are.

Forged.. they take a lump of alloy and whack it to the shape they want (usually by a huge press).. there's two types of forging, cold forging (they just take material and press it into shape with a hammer/cast without heating) or hot forging, where they heat up (but not the point of turning into a liquid) the material before press in the cast.

Casting.. they melt the metal, then pour it in a cast.. when the thing hardens, it's ready.

When u know the technology and weight btw Ray's and Mugen u will not like Mugen rim anymore. But still it depends on what u like lah.

Thanks alot for lightening up this topic.
Then wat are the process of taiwan rims made?

the process shud the same except the quality of the material n the finishing less than the original one.