My Drift RE Project

Ian,
Havent attached the bucket seat yet so still cant drive although the streering is in now. Last week when I checked on the body welding, half the car was already done! damn, this guy is fast and he said he took his own sweet time. LOL
This week the roll cage goes in and other relevant body stiffening bars.

this project is looking very good. have the coils been relocated? if yes where did you get the extra long spark plug cables?

phat7.
The coils are located at the side (beside the wheel fender) I guess it looks longer coz its now in a Corolla chasis that is actually shorter in chasis width. Or maybe it just is longer coz they are NGK plug wires, I dono the original length coz these came with the halfcut.
I once enquired with a FC owner (he had RE Amemiya cables) it costed him Rm 300used! ouch....

Wow looks like when i my money kicks in i gotta check out ur mechs....
I'm waiting for your baby...to hit the streets soon....
Will follow up on this thread.....

yours laki power ...i love Rotary .......i love it sooooo much..:) .... hope to see your monster in action soon .....can tembak api at tail pipe summore

Today went to check on the progress so far.
The roll cage is in! The holes have been drilled and now customising the under plate. Also the spot welding has been completed on the engine bay, fenders and cabin area. Will work on the rear section soon. However he is leaving out the rear cabin cross bar for the moment to ease the instalation of the R32 axle later. Next he will work on the chasis where the it has been cut to fit in the gearbox. Additional bars will be welded onto that area to prevent flex and increase strength.
Some pics taken today :

1. Absorber mounting point, all spot welded
8ee5d293.jpg

2. Driver side. Notice the additional bar painted in red next to the oil filter.
902e4a7c.jpg

3. Behind fender, right side. Painted red after spot welding
59285dfa.jpg

4. Another view from the front
a135a3b2.jpg

5. Door area
ec952950.jpg

6. Levin head. grille not fitted to ease removal/fiting of bumper
fbee2598.jpg

Grey: hats off to u and yer magnificant project... d final product must b astounding..

jes out of curiousity, how much did all these cost u?

klg: d rear is with a set of MA70 lights... don think it'll look very 'levin' but still, i think it'll be quite a piece of work :)

klg, yeah those lights are from the GA70 Supra actually.
I've seen a TE with Trueno lights. Didnt look too appealing though

BLaCkHoWLiNG said:
Grey: hats off to u and yer magnificant project... d final product must b astounding..

jes out of curiousity, how much did all these cost u?

Cost? haih....ALOT of patience, time and money. Over a period of 1.5 years now. But so far its been about 10K+ already, not including accesories like seats, meters etc.

yesterday a ke70 won 1st place at A-Famosa drift event , someone told me he using rotary engine , but i'm not sure ture or not lar , but the engine sound not like 4ag or sr20/ca18,

this ke damn fast lar ......

wei .....can't wait to see your car in action ......:)

The only KE70 RE powered that I know of is currently not in action. The engine has been removed and the owner is strengthening the chasis of the car. But he will put it back and he will be back !
Damn, then it will be twin RE powered KE70's

That KE70 could be using the 2T/3TG engine also..Toyota has many engines to choose from.