My Drift RE Project

GSRTurbo said:
Ivan,

Sorry of topic a bit, since u said that u have tried both the ke/ae with 4age in drifting, would really like to know why issit that the ae has the upper hand while ke does not have, I mean both of these cars are actually very light and responsive, very balance chassis, etc.... How does it being different? As a matter of fact I think the ke70 is slightly lighter than the ae86 in std form. Or issit because the weight distribution of the ke70 is not that good compare to the ae86 (hatchback hood weights quite a bit). Just wondering? Have u tried the TE72/71 before, how does it fare with the ae/ke? Just wondering?:shades_smile:

Sideways,

Nice ride u got there sure gonna be a monster once its out from the wokshop...:regular_smile:

The different is chasis. 86 is much more stronger then KE. So the suspension works better, give you better handling and respond. Thats mean 86 can hold much more power engine then KE.
another is weight. 2 doors always better then 4 doors car. the momentum of 86 is more then KE. so during sideway, 86 is easy to control.
the rest like wight distribution, center gravity, wheel base, and others can be modify. so not a big problem.

Ivan,
Oh, Ok. Thanx, But can the ke70 chassis be spot welded and fitted with roll cage to increase the rigidity of the body shell, which will bring the strength of the body equivalent to ae86, which ae86 also known to have a soft chassis.

Sideways,

Maybe, planning to get one for daily and some power over..kekeke.. ..

I drove the car today for the first time!
It was marvelous. No wander you RE folks just love your machine.
It wasnt very smooth and seems the fuel delivery wasnt too good so I dare not excelerate either. It was damn loud and hot as well. Alot of the exhaust & turbine heat was coming in through the small holes and I could feel my feet get BBq'ed.
The left rim was still hitting the absorber, so got a spacer installed and it worked well.
The only dissapointment is the turning angle seems to be really small. After almost 7 months now the engine actually ran and I drove the car ard the industrial area for a good few round to run it in. There are still many things to be done to the car as I see it.
A very happy and satisfied day it has been. Though really tired as half day spent in workshop with mech, but it was all good

tripple plate clutch is a pain in the arse to play ard with! but when the turbine starts to spool and you can hear it screaming, OMG.... exhilirating

gratz!!
great to hear that its up and running
and try improve the cooling
radiator coolents
and also it has a hot start prob
so cooldown of the engine is very imp
good luck in the fine tuning

RE owners esp FC,
Do you experience the engine rev up and down like on high cam at any time? mine did for a while. it was going up and down alternating about 500rpm's between. Some say it sounded like High Cams. This was only for a while after a few rounds and sat idle before I took it out again and then it went back to normal.
The normal idle is at 1.5K rpm. Temperature was slightly below half of the dash temp meter. And the Oil Preasure needle was way off the max ie 8, I think. All this was observed after a good 5 mins warm up, some light driving with REV never excedding 4K RPM, stopped to fit the spacer and then drive again. The only time it went more was in idle and I was just playing with the throttle.

So, any thoughts?

I go some input from some frens last night over my RE Project.

1. Instead of using Arclic he suggested Carbonite as its much more durable and less likely to break/change colour under hot sun.

2. Based on that also I might consider putting back the glass at the rear boot instead of Carbonite as i risk breaking it. The glass is heavy but on the other hand, the engine is pwerful enough to compensate

3. On the other hand, the cost of a big piece to fit the back is rather high (about RM 400+) Will need to do more research on this to determine if its really feasible to have the rear glass replaced. The side ones are confirmed being replaced.

4. My friend can customise a fuel surge tank with materials of my choice. As he has a factory dealing with all sorts of metal materials and welding, he asked me to get the measurements and drawings if possible so he make one and more if needed. Im getting mine done with a internal fuel pump, so its very customised.
I know most in the market is used with an external pump.

5. Was strongly encouraged to use Samco hoses for all my hosing needs. Was enquiring on the neumatics hoses but was told its very small and not suitable for IC.

6. Was also advised to use a bigger Japan made mufler to lower the noise from the exhaust

I had some difficulty starting the engine yesterday. Mech said the fuel tank had too much air in it, so he loosen the fuel pipe and let the preasure release slowly and then it worked! I sure have many things to learn about some simple troubleshooting and remedy

SWG,

ur car in seremban? maybe if i balik kampung, can see ur car. i like RE but knows nothing about it.

sky7,
yes, the car is in Seremban. Jemput jemput la...give me a call when ure there.
012-6904219
Now there is another FC owner also in Seremban. Maybe we can meet up for TT trow nite

seremban... go up KL for TT la.. :) just 1 hour plus drive only mar..... FC full boost.... 1 hour sure sampai...

Alchemis,
I balik 'kampung' ie my house over the weekends la. Only then can see my baby and update you people about it right?
Trow wana go see the fuel surge tank if its completed and installed already

SWG,

maybe on merdeka or after that i will balik kampung. see u then.

There is so much to be done. Lotsa DIY cleaning. Removed all hoses, clips and connectors. Now degreasing and removing all dirt from whereever I cna get my hands on. Looks like this is going to take a few weekends to complete