dear all zth sifu and seniors

as i am a newbie and now hunting for my first car
i'm looking at a budget of 50-60
something that can play a bit of mod. and comfy

nothing too old but still 'in'
my personal opinion is a second hand v6 or civic 'tai ngan chai'

if anyone got any other opinion or critism bout v6 or civic
please do....i dont wan to get a wrong car as my first

get an EK9, but maybe outta your budget though... Or get a normal EK 4 doors....honda is still better than proton

yea true ek9 too much for me to handle
besides tai ngan what else u reckon?

i'm also targeting on something like b16a
definately no city or vios
too family...cannot play too much
if not waste

Buy a 2000 Putra for RM4+k. With the extra cash, modify the car to your heart's content. It's good to have a local car as your first car, as parts come cheaper and problems can be easily solved without too many hassles. Cheers...

i dunno whats AE101 all i know bout SEG is that
theres the 'big ass' and 'small ass' which 1 is it?
but what kinda mod can be done on those SEG?
easy to play around with?

proton by far i find easiest to mod and cheapest
but anyhow....no offence its proton
putra 2000 ? i heard got some problem with that batch
true?
i'm definately up for doing some mod. performance wise

Originally posted by branc12@Jan 31 2005, 13:46

true?
Toyota cars is cheapest to mod as parts are flooding from japan but demand are small..
Try compare parts at chop shop.. u will find parts for toyota at 1/2 pricr than parts for Wiras equivalent

Corolla!!!!!!!!!!! ;)

Quite a bit of mods available, not too pricey and not too old.....

In terms of mods, are you going with NA or Forced Induction?

:)

Originally posted by tajulsans+Jan 31 2005, 13:56 -->
QUOTE (tajulsans @ Jan 31 2005, 13:56 )
--QuoteBegin-branc12
@Jan 31 2005, 13:46

true?

Toyota cars is cheapest to mod as parts are flooding from japan but demand are small..
Try compare parts at chop shop.. u will find parts for toyota at 1/2 pricr than parts for Wiras equivalent [/b][/quote]
proton cars r modded by using mitsu parts basically...

although the SEG is older than the putra or watevr new proton but in terms of quality n reliability i tink the SEG is stil better...

u try to drive that 2 cars for a week u will know la... :D

proton cars either new or old also very fast u can get squeaking sounds.
but i dun tink tat will happen to the SEG wic is older than 2000 putra... ;)

n toyota is easy to mod also la...parts r not that rare n expensive compared to mitsu parts. u can go NA, supercharged or turbocharged wif toyota... :rolleyes:

i stil c TRD n TOM's producing parts or SEG sometimes. :rolleyes:

most important is toyota cars r less problematic than mitsu cars a lot n i tink tat applys to proton as well bcoz they're mitsu based cars. ;)
wif this u can save a lot for the maintenance part.

fiat coupe!! yeayea...
But pls change the colour if it's yellow

yea i do agree when it comes to reliability any car but proton

master D....i plan to keep it low profile and n/a
i plan to do it up slowly and try to learn my car
what i wan in a car is..
when i'm in the mood then 'carp' a few corners
have a lil feel of good power and play around

somethin not too old...afterwards my parents go like
wtf....spend 40+ 50+ buy one 8-10 year old junk
might as well u go and buy a wira

u know how parents are...
so i guess its gonna be close
honda vs. toyota

fiat coupe?
i like...but then not practical leh
maintenance gonna cost a lot i assume
and then a bit out of budget rite?

Thanks to all the replies!

Go gEt uRself a '97 civic 1.6 Vtec 4 door modeL....aka "BiG Eye"
it's worth and maybe suits uR budGet as well..hehe

If U R loOking for a 2 doOr model,maybe a Putra will do.
It's noT more than 40k whaT!...loTs of mod can be done...

JusT a suggestions as U requested..noThing much...cheeRs
;)

nissan cefiro a31 aka apollo is your best choice

cheap around like under 35k with 60 k budget you can mod it alot
can out-run most car on the road already by then

with that money i'd go buy a silvia if i wanted maximum style with some power... i think it's a real damn cun car yo! some more it's running on the SR20, plenty of power in there man, engine fuckin pulls like a mad dog man. handling is superb, i've tested and driven many times, handling of the nissan silvia is top-class. OR if ur all out for MAXIMUM POWER y don't u get a a31 cefiro with skyline engine inside?? if u get the RB26 ones i think can find for around RM37K? if ur lucky u may get the RB26 GTR V-SPEC versions... damn cun power. looks not so nice la hehe and the cefiro is a mile long and rather old (mostly year 89-93) but handling is bloody good too! damn, just imagine, ur driving a F.CKING SKYLINE R-34 ENGINE only it's in a different body, not so satisfying i know but at least the power's there! and it'll save u RM200K in terms of buying the REAL skyline hehe!

i think the EK9 is nice too but ya i think it's pretty expensiv la... cheapest modded one i've seen wit type-r engine and bodykit's around RM60K?? but still, very very sporty too!

take a peek on r3..looks very 'promising' :lol:

i suggest your baby would be an EK4/9, A31, 146 ti, or an evo3

just sharing what i have in mind.