my gze giving probs... need help..

scoupe

today when i started my car... it started ok.. then i start to hear 'pop' sounds from the exhaust...then i rev the engine.. it hesitated to rev till bout 3k rpm then it rev better but still not normal... and when rev my car sound like impreza.. i dont think its miss firing.. so decided to drive to workshop.. it kept jerking so i decided to boost.. then it felt better but still not normal... then suddenly after driving for awhile it came back to normal.. soby the time i got to my workshop it was normal.. my mechanic check all the hoses he said ok.. anyone experience this before? pls advise..

check engine came out or not? i experienced it and found it was a bad plug..i duno..mebbe u can try pinjam from a fren to test your plugs

hehehehe. meaning your car is running only 3 cyclinder...

when you were driving to the workshop, you did rev quite high right, so the carbon on the spark plug was burn out and so the dirty plug is clean.
Try take out your spark plug and you will see your plug is dirty. If not, change to a new spark plug, maybe yours already worn out and time to change new ones...

wet plug...
clog plug...
loosen cable plug...

maybe...
time to pamper the car...check everything...clean the things that you know...

it's just giving the engine a massage.. heeeee

just wondering how often do we change plugs? its been about a year and 7 months... i dont really drive the car that far.. so the mileage is not that much..

i also dunno exactly when to change the plug..i drive this car only once a week..and on some occasion..mebbe u can refer any related manuals..:)

sometimes it looks perfect physically (plug n plug cable). But something is not right inside there. Just spend few hundred bucks n change it to a new one. NGK Power cable or some other good plug cables and a set of new branded (not hks) spark plugs can be considered as a good investment.
i feel it's 90% firing problem (plug n plug cable)... looks like not only me who felt the same too.
just my 2 cents... happy troubleshooting!

Iridium last i used says 100 000km..but not sure how long can use...my advise for gze user..buy plug cable and double coil for spare as its hard to find nowadays...the current oso more powerful than standard car like 4age 20 or 16v..correct me if wrong

hmm... seems everyone think its plugs problem... just wondering bout carbon build up.. does it buil up when i dont use the car, or when i use it..? hmmm what plugs are suitable for a stock gze and how much...? another thing i was wondering is when i first took my car after transplant it would easily rev till bout 6krpm and still make power.. nowdays it will go to 5k before can feel a reall power cut.. sometimes it will keep goin pass 6k like before... could this be due to plugs too..?

hmm izzit now the problems settle ??? i kena one time and it is the injector dirty liao....took it out and wash it....fix it ...hoho...no problems liao...
one of the injector can't really spray so ur engine sound like those carburettor america muscle...hoho dam syok the sound but no power...haha

havent settle... cause now ok by it self..im afraid the prob will suddenly come again..

yesterday.. my car jerked a few times before becoming normal again.. anyone else out there who has a solution..? since transplant its only been bout 1 year 8 months.. so plugs, belts all been change during the transplant..

usually this kinda problems either stems from fuelling or ignition system. as some have mentioned it could be the plugs or leads. but another quite common culprit is the distributor rotor. i'm not sure about the gze, but the 20vs and 4eftes, which share the same rotor model, are prone to cracking near the contact point. usually will crack into a V shape. doesn't matter if you get original denso or china taiwan whatever, same thing. always crack at that point. another thing might be the contact point at the distributor cover. sometimes crap gets built up at that area, but nothing a little sanding down with sand paper cannot fix.

as for fuelling as some have mentioned as well, the most common problem is with the injectors. they've either clogged up or have gone past thier lifespan. fuel pump also could be the problem. either the wiring to the pump have started to rot or the wiring is just plain faulty. or the pump itself could be dead. the easy way do determine this to just place your hand over the cover of the fueltank cover under the rear seat and see if got any whirring sound or vibration, if got means fuel pump ok. another one is something alot of ppl overlook but can be the problem: fuel filter. this is something ppl kinda forget about. over time all the rubbish from the fuel and in the lower half of the fuel tank will start getting pumped into the engine. the crap will clog the fuel filter and eventually when the fuel filter also filled with crap, all the crap will get to the injectors.

thats all i can offer based on my newbie experience.

cant be the fuel pump cause bout 2 years got a brand new ori fuel pump... hmmm.. gze uses the direcfiring system... recently changed that round thing that is connected to the coil packs... how to check if the injector is faulty? what bout ecu? there is no check light but could there be a prob with the ecu..?

if injectors are faulty you'll have misfiring as there either is too little fuel to be ignited by the spark plug. if you have a spare set, try swapping them out or you can either run with the injector cleaner treatment or if got a little more cash, send them for cleaning. most of the time they injectors are just clogged as opposed to totally dead.

engine check light won't always come out of every single problem. try cucuking the wire at the diagnostic port and see if any fault codes come out from the dashboard. write the fault code down and refer to the standard toyota fault code chart. that should atleast point you to the general direction of what is going wrong. hope this helps.

hmmm... roughly how much would they charge for the injector cleaning..? i dunno if cucuking the diagnostic code will work with my car, cause im using my ori hyundai dashboard.. so dunno if the light would blink..

errr...

try also check all the hoses...cos SC got lots of hoses.. if one is leak.. or disable.. your car will jerk oso.. especially on high refvs...

cheers...