Need Advice

NiJ

how much does a FD3s 280 bhp costs these days.....
or iz it cheeper to just buy a shell and transplant in an a rebuilt engine....
thanks in advance.......

Originally posted by NiJ@Apr 13 2005, 17:44
thanks in advance.......
[snapback]893916[/snapback]​

hi Nij,

I would really think twice bout buying a shell as you never know whats happened to this car before. You can pick a shell up for bout 5-10k but that also depends on the condition. These shells are usually joined back in workshops and what not. If you have the resources (as some do) you can get a registration card.

There are only a couple of 280BHP originals running around. But the difference is so small (if you know how to tell ;) that is!!)

so what should i go far as i am a complete noob..... when it comes to RE`s

Just get a set of high cams when u get your RE and it'll be easy to achieve 280whp.

hey dude..if u think still not fast enuff...put a single turbo then...the price is about the same as wat u pay for a 280hb halfcut....the single turbo even much faster than 280hb engine originally~~!!!!

Originally posted by FD3S@Apr 13 2005, 18:59
hey dude..if u think still not fast enuff...put a single turbo then...the price is about the same as wat u pay for a 280hb halfcut....the single turbo even much faster than 280hb engine originally~~!!!!
[snapback]894162[/snapback]​

whats the difference internally betweeen the 220 and 280 ???
thinner apex seals? ...... i think i just made a fool outta mytself :)
please shoot me down and correct me, cuz i know im relly wrong.....

Originally posted by NiJ+Apr 13 2005, 19:08 -->
QUOTE(NiJ @ Apr 13 2005, 19:08 )
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif alt='smile.gif' />
please shoot me down and correct me, cuz i know im relly wrong.....
[snapback]894198[/snapback]​
[/b]

Noticable Difference:

1) ABS Unit
2) Vacuum Hoses (280 is simplified)
3) Turbo
4) Metal Y pipe
5) 16bit ECU

This is what comes to mind. Can pop my bonnet later and update ;)

Originally posted by Battousai@Apr 13 2005, 18:48
Just get a set of high cams when u get your RE and it'll be easy to achieve 280whp.
[snapback]894127[/snapback]​

What the hell are you talking about ? High cams ? i bet you want to change to titianium valve spring and oversized valves too huh ... sheesh ...

here is some information for you to read.

http://www.rotaryengineillustrated.com/

Originally posted by NiJ@Apr 13 2005, 17:44
thanks in advance.......
[snapback]893916[/snapback]​

I would think that for the cost . You would be better if you just up grade your current engine . The eariler FDs had a 265-255hp rating . With a few bolt-ons , you would find yourself in the 280hp bracket . I would recommend you start with the reliablity mods first . Full servicing , that would be all fluid change . Full checking of suspension mounts and bushings . Aftermarket - AST tank , Radiator . You can also get a better intercooler or you can go cheap :D and get some one to custom up better ducting to your stock intercooler .

whats the difference internally within the engine between the two.....
besides all the extras like ABS.....etc

Originally posted by SomeGuy_sg+Apr 14 2005, 13:06 -->
QUOTE(SomeGuy_sg @ Apr 14 2005, 13:06 )
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif alt='biggrin.gif' /> and get some one to custom up better ducting to your stock intercooler .
[snapback]896699[/snapback]​
[/b]

Originally posted by SomeGuy_sg+Apr 14 2005, 12:49 -->
QUOTE(SomeGuy_sg @ Apr 14 2005, 12:49 )
--QuoteBegin-Battousai
@Apr 13 2005, 18:48

What the hell are you talking about ? High cams ? i bet you want to change to titianium valve spring and oversized valves too huh ... sheesh ...

here is some information for you to read.

http://www.rotaryengineillustrated.com/
[snapback]896640[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

duhh .... titanium valve springs ,

Originally posted by Battousai@Apr 13 2005, 18:48

cuz of ur joke, now u kena ketuk kau kau...... :lol:

cos maybe sometimes ppl dont know how to differentiate mer...

how come no HI CAM for fd/fc engine?
if got the power should be kau kau 292