Need help regarding carcare for an Evo 7

correct me if i'm wrong, the vii/viii uses D2S HID bulbs. The original HID bulbs on this car are 4300K (to meet certain light colour restriction rules in various countries), which is slightly more on the whitish yellow side instead of those Taiwan aftermarket HID, which ranges from 6000-12000K that shines out the colour of whitish blue, bluish purple etc. These are against the regulations in certain countries, eg. Singapore, USA etc. The brightest of the bulbs would be in the region of 4000-5800k, anything above it is purely for nice colour purposes and does not emit the brightness of the bulb like those original equipped HIDs. Notice the difference on JDM spec cars with HIDs and those aftermarket HIDs?

The colour of the MR's HIDs are different (though it is the same type of bulb as of vii/viii), nevertheless, they've opted to use colour lense (as of the new Mers E-class) to shine out a bluish greenish white colour).

Originally posted by B18C-R@Jan 24 2005, 20:59

Fyi..Evo uses H4 HID. Nothing as bolt on lar..all HID is also add on mah. There's no such HID for evo only. Correct me if I'm wrong but I remembered except for RS version, all GSR e7 comes with HID.

Xenon is just the brand anyway.
HIDs on VIIs are an optional item in Japan (and maybe, elsewhere). Nevertheless, majority of the GSRs would come with HIDs and you can opt for it if you were to buy an RS too.

Originally posted by NoTiGuY@Jan 25 2005, 15:37
correct me if i'm wrong, the vii/viii uses D2S HID bulbs. The original HID bulbs on this car are 4300K (to meet certain light colour restriction rules in various countries), which is slightly more on the whitish yellow side instead of those Taiwan aftermarket HID, which ranges from 6000-12000K that shines out the colour of whitish blue, bluish purple etc. These are against the regulations in certain countries, eg. Singapore, USA etc. The brightest of the bulbs would be in the region of 4000-5800k, anything above it is purely for nice colour purposes and does not emit the brightness of the bulb like those original equipped HIDs. Notice the difference on JDM spec cars with HIDs and those aftermarket HIDs?

The colour of the MR's HIDs are different (though it is the same type of bulb as of vii/viii), nevertheless, they've opted to use colour lense (as of the new Mers E-class) to shine out a bluish greenish white colour).
that means... just change the bulb and problem solved? :unsure:

I think what hes trying to say is, by changing just the bulb you will get the same effect as those nice bluish white light that you normally get from HID lighting. Thats from what I understand.

Another thing to ask - whenever I do cornering at low speed, I hear this squawking sound coming from rear left side - where the AYC reservoir is located. I assumed its the AYC functioning or could it be something problematic? :( Anybody with similar experience?

errr... ok.... if ur car is equipped with HIDs and if you want the bluish white effect, then you can just opt by changing the D2S HID bulbs only (6000k n above)

if ur car does not come with HIDs, then you'll have to buy the whole HID set (ballast, ignitor and bulb). Nevertheless, I am not a fan of Taiwan made HIDs.... no offence though.

Originally posted by seventh_son@Jan 28 2005, 16:21
Another thing to ask - whenever I do cornering at low speed, I hear this squawking sound coming from rear left side - where the AYC reservoir is located. I assumed its the AYC functioning or could it be something problematic? :( Anybody with similar experience?
gosh... i just heard mine while i was on my way home too!..... oin....oin.... oin..... while i was slowing down.... but when i was cruising, no sound at all... sigh... hope it aint something major... did you do any oil change to your tranny, axle, ayc? i just had them all done when i had my clutch changed and now its sounding...sigh.... ;)

Originally posted by seventh_son@Jan 28 2005, 16:21
i've asked my friend who drives the same make, he had the same sound as i did and had informed me that his was because of some air inside the ayc system/oil. So he went to bleed it and taaa dah~!!! no more sound.... hopefully thats the cause...

Thanks Noti - I think your friend is right. Manage to get this info from the manual.
Will get the AYC service soon.

"Caution
If the system is not completely bled of air, the hydraulic
unit could generate noise, degrading pump durability."

guys.

anyone of u have any idea where i can find a recond unreg unit of Red Evo 7 in PJ or KL..seems like white is THE colour at the moment..though i think white is quite nice.. just saw another today in centrepoint bandar utama..white..just brought in..2001..but quite high mileage..like 60,000 km..

dun go for the korean bulbs - too purplish, try the philips 6K, done that to my MR

notiguy...mine E7 also got...another one the sound ghhrrrrr when i push a break... like 2 metal scrap touch each other... first i thought it was a break/ rotor.. then i change but still got the sound.. its normal is't?

moruh,

if the sound is "oik....oik....oik...", especially when you brake or take corners, then its the AYC. shortage of oil, or insufficient bleeding of AYC could cause the sound. Mine still makes noises... sigh.....

notiguy if still got sound
change 2 S-AYC la :P :lol: :D

what oil do u use? for the AYC, just use the ATF used by Proton EON now - blue in colour that is higher grade then what Mitsu has to offer...bleed it properly.

Originally posted by B18C-R@Jan 24 2005, 20:59
VooDoo,
My fren is a salesman with 'Jeff'. Same showroom. I was asking him last week as another fren of mine wanted to buy E7 also. He mentioned some potential buyer is in the process of loan approval and considered sold lor..lucky u bought it first. hehe..didn't expect it to be our ZTH forummer here.

Fyi..Evo uses H4 HID. Nothing as bolt on lar..all HID is also add on mah. There's no such HID for evo only. Correct me if I'm wrong but I remembered except for RS version, all GSR e7 comes with HID.

Xenon is just the brand anyway.
[snapback]692523[/snapback]​

I am confused here. I thought HID is a smaller bulb compared to Xenon? and higher Ks as well 4k and above?

which brand would you recommend for good HID?

NoTiGuY said:
moruh,

if the sound is "oik....oik....oik...", especially when you brake or take corners, then its the AYC. shortage of oil, or insufficient bleeding of AYC could cause the sound. Mine still makes noises... sigh.....

Yeah..mine e7 stock same sound comind from the rear near the AYC reservoir...got sound since bought the car...mileage already 75000km...i'll try to bleed the ayc oil....how much would it cost???