New Engine for AE111

tHrottle power

Dear All toyotarians,

after 5 years of driving my JDM AE111 with 4AGE 20v, i've started to wonder and tempted to experiment with other engine swap for my AE111. At the moment my mind is wondering what are the other choices of toyota engine that is available???

so far i ve enlisted 2 as option
1. 3S-GE Beams (NA)
I ve heard the engine it is quite heavy n campared with 4AGE and 2.0cc maybe abit high on fuel consumption. Plus, to fit in in u need to do alot modification on the mounting...any comments??

2. 4E-FTE (turbo)
since it is 4 series, it shud be quite easy to fit(do correct me if i m wrong). I ve only worried if it is underpowered for AE111, thou with 1.3cc with turbo. any comments.

please do gif me some pointers

going the 4EFTE route would be considered a downgrade if you ask me. and also i won't be a plug and play affair. if you wanna go the force induction route i would suggest either going with a turbo-ed 20v or plonking in a 4AGZE converted to a turbo setup. or if the handling and balance of the car is not a priority then go with the 3S.

personally i would stick to the 20v as i've seen what its capable of. and if i wanted any more power i would rather just turbo the 20v than stuff in a different engine.

it would be sad to see an already rare 2 door AE111 be overtly butchered in the name of experimentation.

dear cataphrax,

thanks for the reply, i m afraid i ve miss out some info. mine is a JDM AE111 GT is a corolla 4drs with 4AGE as standard...but i ve change it from AT to MT c56 gearbox(budget constrait-cant afford A C160).

From ur reply, guess is still better to check the 4AGE 20v n do general rebuild as the engine as clock up to 200,000km oredi.

BTW, wat r u driving??/

thannks

he is driving starlet with 4E turbo..

depends on what u want, if u want hard core, go for 3SGTE, for normal comfort cruising with abit sport better maintain ur blacktop, change to C160 and lighten flywheel, u can deserve a little bit fun with it..

Bro! How about 2ZZ-GE...
i want to ask all sifu here... can 2ZZGE swap to AE101.. how much cost to spend

Bro! How about 2ZZ-GE...
i want to ask all sifu here... can 2ZZGE swap to AE101.. how much cost to spend

my ipoh foreman now doing this transplant...
2ZZGE on AE111...all the mounting bracket have to redo..
it's alot of job have to be done..
costing for installing now reaching 3k plus..but still haven gao dim...haha!

my ipoh foreman now doing this transplant...
2ZZGE on AE111...all the mounting bracket have to redo..
it's alot of job have to be done..
costing for installing now reaching 3k plus..but still haven gao dim...haha!

iva, this one u really must snap pic for me that stay in forest to see lor..
all mounting hv to redo...kakaka.. jialat.

iva, this one u really must snap pic for me that stay in forest to see lor..
all mounting hv to redo...kakaka.. jialat.

share some spy shot...haha!!

• Resize of Photo246.jpg
    Resize of Photo246.jpg
    115.8 KB · Views: 4,728
  • Resize of Photo247.jpg
    Resize of Photo247.jpg
    112.3 KB · Views: 2,083
  • Resize of Photo248.jpg
    Resize of Photo248.jpg
    113.6 KB · Views: 2,077
dear cataphrax,

thanks for the reply, i m afraid i ve miss out some info. mine is a JDM AE111 GT is a corolla 4drs with 4AGE as standard...but i ve change it from AT to MT c56 gearbox(budget constrait-cant afford A C160).

From ur reply, guess is still better to check the 4AGE 20v n do general rebuild as the engine as clock up to 200,000km oredi.

BTW, wat r u driving??/

thannks

as ivan posted, yes i'm driving a starlet with a 4EFTE, which is why i advised against the 2nd option. the 4EFTE only works well on a light chassis. you feel the power in a small body like the starlet because of the power to weight ratio. but once put into a heavier chassis, you feel less of a pull. for example with my car, you can feel the difference in power whilst driving alone, with 1 passenger, 2 passengers and a full car. very obvious difference in power. so imagine if thats the case in a starlet how it would be in your chassis.

i think you need to just meet up with other fellow 20V owners and see the different setups and feel the potential of a tuned 20V before you make your decision.

waaaaa... JDM also want to break the JDM'ness ka? banyak rugi laaaaa.....
ask sifoo banzai to tag along in his street car or even his track car, then u can think of many possibilities with the 20v that you have. please treasure ur 20v and your JDM, i beg you.

wah..sifu n0th1n, dun pull my leg lar, though i agree with you.
with 20v alone, there is a lot of potential to upgrade the hp and torque.
since ur engine have reached 200K, and u are opening it, then ur options are aplenty depending on ur budget. if u lazy to register new engine, then maintain the block and meddle the rest lar.

again, budget determines everything. u can have high cams, management, bigger pistons, flywheel, different conrods, this itself will make one helluva different to ur ride

the VVTL-i on AE111 completed..
test started with no problem..
here are the complete photo for sharing

• 23824_1403805259522_1364091529_1108367_6204027_n.jpg
    23824_1403805259522_1364091529_1108367_6204027_n.jpg
    102.6 KB · Views: 603
  • 23824_1403805859537_1364091529_1108382_455310_n.jpg
    23824_1403805859537_1364091529_1108382_455310_n.jpg
    74.6 KB · Views: 562
  • 23824_1403806059542_1364091529_1108387_2025557_n.jpg
    23824_1403806059542_1364091529_1108387_2025557_n.jpg