NGK iridiums

jacko,

the plugs are RM220 per box of 4! Ouch! But screw it i think i'd rather use them instead of the HKS ones... the HKS ones in our Silvia really cannot last... the ground electrode burns off... Crap plugs man! NGK is anytime better! I am a believer! haha!

Thanks sunnyboy.

Zephyros,I feel your anguish. I am using the HKS plugs as weights for fishing in hope of getting a high powered fish!!!

I am going Denso

Originally posted by zephuros@Aug 10 2004, 11:57 AM
jacko,

the plugs are RM220 per box of 4! Ouch! But screw it i think i'd rather use them instead of the HKS ones... the HKS ones in our Silvia really cannot last... the ground electrode burns off... Crap plugs man! NGK is anytime better! I am a believer! haha!
Electrode burns off? :ph34r:

Engine problem kah? Knocking maybe?

mr nismo,
right you are - when knocking appears, the hks plugs disintegrate since the ground electrodes are puny and are not attached very well. I've seen it more than once! As far as the NGKs are concerned, the electrodes look pretty solid and despite knocking and my conrod bearings literally killing themselves, nothing much happened to the plugs! Good no?

No good, I think it serves it's purposes right, as a warning for engine knocking. Imagine if the knocking destroy the plugs, won't it give you a reminder for countermeasures before it kills your conrod bearings or make a hole in the pistons? lol... I'm just talking crap...

Nevertheless, haven't had problems with HKS plugs

:lol: :lol: So HKS has got an inbuilt knock prevention technology incorperated into their plugs! No fucking wonder it's so damn kau expensive! :lol: :lol:

......but I am still going denso's RB20 engine easy/cheap to replace :lol: :P

hahahahahhaa....even the cat trying to cross the road will have to think twice looking at my car coming.......definately cannot make it to the other side!!

MrNismo,

gotta defend my NGKs now since I got them already! Hahah! Speaking of knocking, i'm still getting it... dunno why. Fuel pressure is 36psi-47psi, using GT-R pump and FSE to regulate, got S-AFC II for correction some more, and i still get knocking... my A/F goes down to 12!!! Still knock! Can't figure it out man. Gotta be careful - don't wanna toast another engine. And the thing starts knocking from around 5500 rpm...

Any clues?

devious, HKS and Denso same ler....

I know but I have not heard of Denso kicking the bucket yet.

I got knocking symptoms too at about 7k rpm AF showing 13 at 1.0 bar on 4th .When I connected an amp to the knock sensor it wasn't knocking and later found out it was my oil press braided line vibrating on the power steering line ........... my point is make sure it's a knock and work from there.

Originally posted by devious17@Aug 10 2004, 04:10 PM
hahahahahhaa....even the cat trying to cross the road will have to think twice looking at my car coming.......definately cannot make it to the other side!!
:o u got ur rims edi? i still prefer the chunted rims u had on ur car the first time i met u, remember? those RM3k rims..*saliva drooling* :lol:

Regards;

Originally posted by zephuros@Aug 10 2004, 04:42 PM
MrNismo,

gotta defend my NGKs now since I got them already! Hahah! Speaking of knocking, i'm still getting it... dunno why. Fuel pressure is 36psi-47psi, using GT-R pump and FSE to regulate, got S-AFC II for correction some more, and i still get knocking... my A/F goes down to 12!!! Still knock! Can't figure it out man. Gotta be careful - don't wanna toast another engine. And the thing starts knocking from around 5500 rpm...

Any clues?

devious, HKS and Denso same ler....
Zephuros, on which engine you're talking about the knock? The SR or the RB?

What do you mean by 36psi-47psi of fuel pressure? During idle or full boost? 47psi is equivalent to 3.2bar, if that is the fuel pressure at 1.0bar of boost, it's NOT good. Also, at what boost you're running? Depending on the ignition timing & boost pressure you're running, you might want a A/F of lower than 12.

Devious, A/F of 13 with 1.0bar of boost? Sounds like the main dish for engine knocking. Wide band or narrow band lambda?

Originally posted by MrNismo@Aug 10 2004, 05:17 PM
Devious, A/F of 13 with 1.0bar of boost? Sounds like the main dish for engine knocking. Wide band or narrow band lambda?
:P motec wide band ...er? main dish? wassat? :huh:

Originally posted by JUN+Aug 10 2004, 05:11 PM-->
QUOTE (JUN @ Aug 10 2004, 05:11 PM)
--QuoteBegin-devious17
@Aug 10 2004, 04:10 PM

:o u got ur rims edi? i still prefer the chunted rims u had on ur car the first time i met u, remember? those RM3k rims..*saliva drooling* :lol:

Regards; [/b][/quote]
:lol: Jun ,those rims give me bad finger nails after washing it. Becoming like Micheal jackson with his plastered fingers liao :lol: moreover they are heavy :P

Mr Nismo,

The fuel pressure is 36psi at idle and 47psi with the vacuum removed. Quite high already mar. Aned besides i'm running 0.7 bar with my engine. It's a RB20DET with everything standard really... Timing is checked very regularly ( timing lights are good to have stashed away in your store room :)) and i am maintaining it a 15 degrees. Why did you say that 47 psi is bad?

Oh and the other funny thing is that the A/F can drop as low as 10.8.... this i have seen with my own eyes! haha! Still knocking! Arrrrrrgh!!!

Zephuros, have you tried to raise the fuel pressure? Is the meter a in dash type or mounted on the regulator? Did you monitor the fuel pressure during full boost? When you checked the timing with the timing gun, did you make sure the direction of the timing wire that pass through the clip is correct? I've heard that different direction give different results.

47psi of fuel pressure during full boost is bad. Rising rate fuel pressure regulator regulates fuel pressure according to boost. So if you're boosting 0.7bar, and your fuel pressure with vacuum unplugged is 3.2bar, fuel pressure during 0.7bar of boost should be around 4.0bar. If it drops back, it could mean that the fuel pump is not pumping enough volume of fuel, or the regulator is weak.

Btw, depending on the A/F monitoring device you're using, it might not give you accurate result. Have you try to plug in a wideband lambda sensor? What ECU you're using btw?