NGV Converted Cars Community

how do you address "nose-up"? put in stiffer springs and/or abs? what's the rates then?

some people would change the front springs to lower it but that would lower the overall car, then you'll hear that common sound when going over road humps and see some of them driving sideways across the humps.

As for me, I've just changed my rear absorber couple of months before NGV conversion. So was looking for just the rear springs. Found it hard to get "heavy duty" ones. Most of them are the "sports" type which lowers the height, unless u get the adjustable spring/absorber set.

Also since my original springs are in good condition and only less than 3 years old, my mechanic advised to install a thicker rubber bush for the springs. Got the 3" bush (rm8 each at spare parts shop). The original rubber bush is 1".

I find this is just right and my rear tyre clearance is back to original.... used the layman testing of how many fingers clearance above the tyre :biggrin::biggrin: .... came back to ori of 3 fingers compared to 1 finger when install the CNG tank.

i noticed the weight difference between a steel and semi fibre tank is NOT at all significant - 65 vs 73 kgs based on what was posted here earlier.

with a lifespan difference of 10 years but weight difference of only 8 kg, i would rather go for safety instead of weight saving in this case. how much fuel consumption will you save with carrying 8kg lesser on board??

also, if any of you have seen the technical drawing of a semi fibre tank (shaving the thickness of the cylinder wall and wrap with fibre instead), i'm sure you won't be too convinced with the safety under the 200 bar pressure.

i have nothing againest semi fibre tanks but based on facts and safety reasons, i would still choose type 1..... just my worthless 2 cents...

i noticed the weight difference between a steel and semi fibre tank is NOT at all significant - 65 vs 73 kgs based on what was posted here earlier.

with a lifespan difference of 10 years but weight difference of only 8 kg, i would rather go for safety instead of weight saving in this case. how much fuel consumption will you save with carrying 8kg lesser on board??

also, if any of you have seen the technical drawing of a semi fibre tank (shaving the thickness of the cylinder wall and wrap with fibre instead), i'm sure you won't be too convinced with the safety under the 200 bar pressure.

i have nothing againest semi fibre tanks but based on facts and safety reasons, i would still choose type 1..... just my worthless 2 cents...

yea bro......tat y most of the famous ngv shops never carry fibre tank due to the safety issues.....

1st = lifespan shorter
2nd = cant withstand higher pressure

Is there anyone here who own or know anyone with mitsubishi airtrex turbo that had been installed with NGV kit? May I know any problem arised & how much saving that can you get in term of running cost at RM per km.

Guys, I just transfer my NGV kit from Kenari to my newly bought 2nd hand Proton Wira 1.6(A).

But I notice the "Check Engine" indication remain on when I'm travelling with gas and when I'm on petrol, the indication will be off. According to my installer, he said this is normal for Wira 1.6 injection engine and he assure me it is harmless to my ride.

Well, as a car owner, how could I not worry about it. Thats why I need to seek some expert opinion from here.

Is my installer telling me the truth or he is hiding something from me?

Appreciate if someone can help me to solve this issue.

Thank you very much~

Engine Check light manes a lot of things leh.... mostly is knocking..... nvm la, just change the engine after blow... & sue the installer la...

Is there anyone here who own or know anyone with mitsubishi airtrex turbo that had been installed with NGV kit? May I know any problem arised & how much saving that can you get in term of running cost at RM per km.

install methanol/water injection kit lo..FC saves abit, Power up abit...rm2xxx

airtrek is turbocharged, the sequential kit is bout rm7000++, full throttle tat time will auto switch bc to petrol as its fully auto

Guys, I just transfer my NGV kit from Kenari to my newly bought 2nd hand Proton Wira 1.6(A).

But I notice the "Check Engine" indication remain on when I'm travelling with gas and when I'm on petrol, the indication will be off. According to my installer, he said this is normal for Wira 1.6 injection engine and he assure me it is harmless to my ride.

Well, as a car owner, how could I not worry about it. Thats why I need to seek some expert opinion from here.

Thank you very much~

Get ur installer to go thru the system again..... engine check light on is a sign that of things not done right.
Of course, I assume before the NGV conversion, this light is ok.
There are cases of engine light on for Naza Ria, Nissan Serena and some european cars... this is mainly due to incompatible NGV Emulator. This device over-rides the car's ECU.

My Wira already 3 months on NGV, hv travelled 7,000km and no problem. Using mixer system with Emulator, Oxy Sensor, just normal Power Screw & 70L semi-fibre tank.

fishbonesxxx, for comparison, my Wira when on petrol for mix city & h'way (70%-30%) is abt 24 sen/km (based on old price of RM2.70/L). On gas I get abt 5.5 sen/km.

Thank you very much~

CEL must not be ON bro......diagnose n see which part is went wrong....normally is intake manifold areas those sensors....

guys,
i just installed ngv kit about 1 month..
since then, my car will be rich mixture when im using petrol.
but there's no prob when using gas..
now, i've been tuning my carb about 4 times..
yet still my car tuning 4 petrol 'lari'
any opinion??

huakenny, ur right..... maybe my posting not that clear. If engine is running normal the light must be OFF.
So if the light is ON, then something is not right.

sharpshooter, I take it that ur car is a carburetor, not injection (EFI) right?

For carbs, most installers when they do tuning, they take the easy way out. They just limit the amount of air going into the carb so when on gas its ok, but when on petrol, there is less air compared to the fuel (petrol in this case).
They do this by installing a chocker at the air inlet to the air filter. This can be a small piece of plastic with small hole or some even use a cut out mineral water bottle.

Suggest u go back to ur installer and get him to tuning so that both gas & petrol modes are running smooth.

For carbs, most installers when they do tuning, they take the easy way out. They just limit the amount of air going into the carb so when on gas its ok, but when on petrol, there is less air compared to the fuel (petrol in this case).
They do this by installing a chocker at the air inlet to the air filter. This can be a small piece of plastic with small hole or some even use a cut out mineral water bottle.

ya..all shops doing this, coz too much air go in, sure got problem one....so hv to limit the air go inside....

Suggest u go back to ur installer and get him to tuning so that both gas & petrol modes are running smooth.

thnks 4 da info..
but i think there no plastic "thing' in my carb..
cos i've been doing tuning myself..
n the car is ok on fuel for certain time only..
after using gas for, let say 2 hours, then i change to fuel, suddenly my fuel mixture terabor..
my fren said that my carb skru 'dah haus'..
wat u thinks??:rolleyes:

the "plastic disc" is not in the carb but in the air inlet tube into the air filter. The disc and some use cut up small size mineral water bottle, the idea is to limit the amount of air going into the air filter, hence less air-fuel ratio.

This reduced air amount is ok for gas mode but bad setting for petrol mode.

Go back to ur installer and insist that he retuning so both gas and petrol modes are ok.