No point of having traffic light timers

Slipknot Fanatic

A lot of people still take their sweet time at traffic even though the traffic light timers is there for the to get ready to accelerate from a standstill. Some people take their time to read the newspapers or fiddle around with some electronic device. There those which look high on drugs or high on alcohol.

There is one particular location that needs a traffic light timer, the traffic light near Eastin Hotel. Heard the traffic light there is controlled by SPRINT. These SPRINT assholes simply made the traffic light timing to change from green to red in less than 10sec just to make people use their highway. God damn bureaucrats just want to make money for themselves and more $$$ for Uncle Sammy.

sometime they long the timing traffic light at laluan highway for elakkan highway become jam

haha... human attitude. whatever u put oso it will be no use if the ppl dowan to learn how to use it properly.

i tot u were gonna protest those timers. i on the other hand was gonna complain that the timers encourage more dragraces. hahaha see the timer oledy get high and prepare for a sprint test. :lol: jk

ahahhahahah terasa siot

AE80TypeD said:
haha... human attitude. whatever u put oso it will be no use if the ppl dowan to learn how to use it properly.

i tot u were gonna protest those timers. i on the other hand was gonna complain that the timers encourage more dragraces. hahaha see the timer oledy get high and prepare for a sprint test. :lol: jk

I think the timer is for you to judge when to stop. Like when you are speeding and you see the traffic light is green from afar. The timer help whether to continue accelerating or start braking. :))

facelift said:
I think the timer is for you to judge when to stop. Like when you are speeding and you see the traffic light is green from afar. The timer help whether to continue accelerating or start braking. :))
I agree. As long as it helps reduce accidents, then should we all be happy? Everything done has a pro a con, Overall is it better?

Side note against. Trafic cameras in cat eyes? Thought the pirpose of speed cams was to help reduce speed to have less accidents. If the camera is hidden, we'de justy probably blow by the thing at whatever speed we want and maybe find out IF WE GET HOME that we were speeding.

So does that help reduce accidents?

Someone please talk some sense into that man in the papers with this idea.... PLEASE..??

in malaysia, speed cams are hidden to take picture of u speeding and then force u to pay money... in other country, they tell u where are the speed cams so that u will slow down for the part of the road...
see the difference... thats why there are still so many people speeding around... this is because we dont know where are the speed cams..

back to topic... timers, as far as i notice, the first state to have them is malacca... i find it rather useful, especially when u are speeding from far... u able to tell whether u should go for it or slow down... but some buggers jz didnt make use of it and take their own sweet time in the traffic lights...
talking about those controlled timers... i thought they have sensors below the ground to determine the length??...

SkYwAlKeR said:
in malaysia, speed cams are hidden to take picture of u speeding and then force u to pay money... in other country, they tell u where are the speed cams so that u will slow down for the part of the road...
see the difference... thats why there are still so many people speeding around... this is because we dont know where are the speed cams..

back to topic... timers, as far as i notice, the first state to have them is malacca... i find it rather useful, especially when u are speeding from far... u able to tell whether u should go for it or slow down... but some buggers jz didnt make use of it and take their own sweet time in the traffic lights...
talking about those controlled timers... i thought they have sensors below the ground to determine the length??...

There are more pros than cons of having timers but people here sometimes are just inconsiderate. They know there is a timer but still they never pay attention to the timer. Skywalker one day you should take the toll free road before Eastin hotel there and try to time the traffic lights. There was once I read in the Star newspaper that someone timed the lights. The light changes from green to red in less than 15sec.

Slipknot Fanatic said:
There are more pros than cons of having timers but people here sometimes are just inconsiderate. They know there is a timer but still they never pay attention to the timer. Skywalker one day you should take the toll free road before Eastin hotel there and try to time the traffic lights. There was once I read in the Star newspaper that someone timed the lights. The light changes from green to red in less than 15sec.
haha... u know what, there one traffic light here in malacca has the same case... it the big junction from tesco turning to melaka sentral... that stupid timer only clock about less than 10sec... but then, lucky no camera at that junction... so, people jz keep on crossing the road even its already red.... hahah....

Slipknot Fanatic, i'll still prefer to have the timer. At least it is useful for me. I know the time to release and handbrake and engage 1st gear. Don't abolish the system because 1% of the road user have those bad habit.

I were once saw a driver driving Volvo reading NST (the BIG one!) in the jam. Hire lah a driver if he really "need" to read the newspaper on the road. *&^%$^

There are 3 traffic light junctions are controlled by SPRINT,
1 before the Eastin hotel,
1 after the BP petrol station and
1 near by Shell petrol station.

The worst is the last traffic light near Shell petrol station, usually it only allow only 3 cars to pass by per turn. However, if you use the road during weekend, you will find that the timing for green light is longer.

perhaps they think during weekend, people would be rushing for time more than working days... crazy SPRINT...

i've stopped questioning the logic behind some of the decisions made by authorities a long time back. Stress sendiri only. Doc said i got high blood pressure liao...

SkYwAlKeR said:
haha... u know what, there one traffic light here in malacca has the same case... it the big junction from tesco turning to melaka sentral... that stupid timer only clock about less than 10sec... but then, lucky no camera at that junction... so, people jz keep on crossing the road even its already red.... hahah....

ha ha ha yeah terrible! but only initally. now it has about 30 seconds timing to let everybody pass before comes the next group of cars. whoever brought up the idea is brilliant!

cameras are expensive to maintain especially the film inside. for long time...though the camera flashes actually there are no film inside! i heard this from ex JKR ppl... ha ha ha..

timer is good to judge whether u should proceed when the green light blinks or slow down..

depend on how a person drive on the road la... traffic light timer not bad la.. quite good le...but it gets fricky when everytime u met red lights all nite long... haha...

Duke Red said:
i've stopped questioning the logic behind some of the decisions made by authorities a long time back. Stress sendiri only. Doc said i got high blood pressure liao...

semua salah samy.

AE80TypeD said:

same here as well..in USJ.. see the timer from 500m, "shit 10sec left" ..tekan all the way..

normally..can see the cars around me sprint when they see there is 10 sec left in the timer..

if from far i see 20sec left before green, i will let go my gas pedal and let the car roll... by the time my car reach the traffic lights, it would have changed green... so no need decelerate and accelerate so much... save petrol also... haha...
can even drag win other cars from the traffic lights... (thats da tactic i use when racing with friends in town)....