Oil Filter Magnet

maybe can try to stick it on bottom and side... hehehe...

for the effect, i think this'll make ur engine work longer and i dun think it'll give u any extra power...

just from my very own comment sense... the lubricant oil is keep cycling... when the lubricant oil got some metal, than it'll scratch ur cylinder (i think we call it at injap, hehe...)... day by day, year by year, the scratch will decome deeper and deeper, than ur car will hving some problems with give u full power... this's all my very comment sense... and i think i might be wrong... my car knowledge is really limited and i'm also not any technician for car... i'm in IT line... hehehe... correct me if i'm wrong...

and i think u can see the outcome after a long time, maybe 5 years?... or maybe 10?!... if really want to know the difference, buy 2 same cars, 1 put magnet and 1 without, used it for maybe 3 to 5 years, than make a research for it time by time... than give a report... hehehe... maybe some automobile students can take it as their project... hehehe...

will try to get those magnet as soon and try also for my Iswara... hehe...

ur project is big loo....have to buy 2 car in once....
"maybe can try to stick it on bottom and side..." yes, can try to....

i dont get it..in the 1st post, the diagram shows the magnet at the bottom. that`s what i did. then somebody said should be put at side..konpius laa

hurmmm... but by the logik it better to put at the bottom...
got some gravity effect somemore...theheheheh..
just my stupid opinion....

hurmmmm... izzit ehhh??? better to put one by the side and one at the bottom..
theheheh...

i came across a product on the net b4 even better lets u see the metal as well. its the bolt where u open to release oil. the one i saw is magnetised bolt :o

so is there some way to stick the magnet on the bolt?? if can then u might see difference at oil change without having to saw the oil filter

Originally posted by EvolutionV7@Dec 18 2004, 14:05
So....so many people put the magnet in the filter already.....

Got anyone have the result?
feel nothing after put 2 magnets at the bottom of my oil filter......currently put extra one magnet to my fuel filter.....the result, still feel nothing....:P

hey guys... what do you expect to feel? extra HP?
:P haha... by sticking a magnet to ur's car oil filter how to increase HP wo.....
i belive the magnet only will help to 'catch' or stick those metals from scratching metal parts.... just imagine if you pour some metal into the pistone what will happens? it will create more frictions and it will harms the engine blocks....

so we use magnet to catch those metal piece only....hhehe :P pls forgive me if i'm wrong....

of course not expect for extra HP laa.....by "taking out" the 'small metal' from engine block, performance more smooth, then fuel saving loo.....but cannot feel on fuel saving mah....:D

Originally posted by ksgoh@Dec 22 2004, 10:40
of course not expect for extra HP laa.....by "taking out" the 'small metal' from engine block, performance more smooth, then fuel saving loo.....but cannot feel on fuel saving mah....:D
i think your car is still new right... if you saw a lot of metal means ur car engine gonna gone liao.... or dont hv lubricant oil already.... the metal just slide through each other....hahaha :D

i just did an oil change. i had hdd magnets on the side and the bottom of the filter. here's the thing. i had the foreman saw it off with a cutting wheel. the cutting wheel is extremely fast, much better than handsaw. u will find lots of metal saw dust residue from hand sawing or band sawing but very very little from a very fast cutting wheel. in fact, when u use a cutting wheel, most of the saw dusts just burns off in sparks. my mistake was, we took off the magnets to put on the new filter before we saw the old filter. that way, whatever debris left in the filter may just float around in oil residue. anyway, it cut like an engine burning oil. white smoke all over as expected.

we in an upright manner, with the inlet and outlet holes pointing up. not sawing all the way down so we can have a sample of the oil inside. didn't saw right in the middle. upon sawing down to 3/4 way, we pry the filter apart. we compared the residue oil at the bottom filter and whatever came out from my oilsump. the filter's oil residue was much thicker (very viscous, almost sludgy) and darker in comparison to the oil from my oil sump (fully synthetic @ 7000km). then again, the oil from the oilsump was still very thin and fine. i just wanna change cos i've been travelling to kuantan and also left the car around for 3 weeks of not driving.

so. guess where are all the debris?

in the paper layer of the filter. that's where you'll see the chunky ones. not that they are huge. they're grainy and trapped in the paper. i WOULD LIKE TO THINK that the thicker oil was so because the finer grains of debris from engine wear did not get filtered in the paper but still got trapped because of the magnets. which also makes sense because if the filter alone doesn't trap most of the debris in the paper layer, what's the point of even having it?

the magnet helped to trap the finer debris that the paper layer couldn't catch. so if we were to think we can see huge chuck of metals inside the filter walls after using the magnets, that's hallucination. i feel that it's wishful thinking. heck, i'm still using the darn magnets =)

hope the finding helps. sorry i didn't bring my camera. it was too early in the morning to realize i wanted to saw off the filter and see what's in it.

by the way, the filter was an original honda filter. engine oil was due in 10000km but i always change earlier.

if you can suggest a better way to dismantle the filter other than using a highspeed cutting wheel, tell me how. i'd do it again in my next oil change. and with my camera around.

good write up coldfish.. :lol: we do not expect to see metal debris as large as a 10sen coin lor.. anyhow.. i think it's just for collecting the micro sized metal particals. anyhow.. 'to prevent is better den cure' works fine for me. :)