Opinion: Looking for 100k car

zan said:
here we are..with a list made by silverfish. u own a showroom is it? he he
Mahai...if that is true I won't be driving Kelisa already lar. :rolleyes:

zero4, eh...don't poison his mind lar. Nanti dia overbudget susah tau.

wannabe, ask your friend to go for the Lynx RS. If you say he could stretch to RM110k, then can stretch RM4k somemore mah :D. Comes recommended by me and Zan.

1 more thing , i realised that ford malaysia doesnt sell much sedans rite ?? then the lnx 2.0 rs parts n maintenance will be a bit high ??

Which is why they are bringing in the Focus to change things around.

Not sure about the parts and maintenance though. Zan might know about this better. But I think it would be comparable to Honda and Toyota.

oic , how abt the power of the car at 0.3 boost ?? lokking at around 150 hp ?

haha...now want to strech the budget...well then..dont forget the FOrd Focus...and maybe the
Subaru Impreza 1.6 TS Sports Wagon AWD 2002 Stationwagon 1597cc Automatic RM128,000

u cant forget this as well
Honda Civic 2.0 i-VTEC 2004 Sedan 1998cc Automatic RM121,500
or this
Ford Lynx 2.0 RS 2004 Sedan 1991cc Automatic RM114,000

..if increase by 50% the budget..then maybe go to around 150k>>>which will include this car...Subaru Forester 2.0 XT 2003 SUV 1994cc Automatic RM155,700
and Mazda6 2004 Sedan 2261cc Automatic RM159,000

zan said:
Toyota Vios 1.5G 2003 Sedan 1496cc Automatic RM88,000
never go for E spec. G spec the one to have. worth buying if single. and saves Rm12,000.

by the way, if lancer 2.0 has only 120bhp, must be the SOH engine, not DOHC. new lancer has no mivec. only colt has mivec.[/QUOTE].

why never go for E n wat do u mean by save rm12k?

invisibleghost said:
never go for E spec. G spec the one to have. worth buying if single. and saves Rm12,000.

by the way, if lancer 2.0 has only 120bhp, must be the SOH engine, not DOHC. new lancer has no mivec. only colt has mivec

why never go for E n wat do u mean by save rm12k?.

in my knowledge, E spec use drum brakes rear. G spec has all disc setups. plus other niceties like VSC, ABS, EBD.

cost of vios G bout 88K. actual budget 100K. he saves 12K.

spec to spec, other than perdana V6 i must recommend the laser lynx RS. its value for money. there are not many around, so the car would stand out at office car park. he he..
personal opinion. the standard 2.0 DOHC produce circa 140bhp (average for jap 2.0 DOHC 16V). with 0.3 boost its possible to get 160, maybe slightly more. my reference magazine is at home laa.. now at cc.
reliability shud not be a problem for a japanese model like the laser. parts shud not be a problem also as the car is brought in officially by ford malaysia. but i think...used car value is not so good, being a ford car. ford does not hold good reputation nowadys except for the ranger series.

which explains why they come up with new focus sedan. juz ask ourselves...why must sell 2 2.0 models in similar categories. overlapping is not necessary isnt it?
its becoz focus is that good and new one better than the old focus. i personaly like the hatchback better in terms of looks, but ford malaysia shud have done their homework.

u cant sell a 100K hatch in malaysia. it wont work.

I think Ford know that. That's why they brought in the 1.8 Focus Ghia sedan that caters to local tastes. This is what they are counting on. The 2.0 hatchback, I think, is brought in for the Focus afficionados and those who want a sportier ride. Anyway, the hatchback Focus has just as much space as the sedan version, so if the buyers aren't clueless, they'd know it is worth the money.

I mean, they are happily spending 100k for a supermini like the Jazz, anyway.

si|verfish said:
I think Ford know that. That's why they brought in the 1.8 Focus Ghia sedan that caters to local tastes. This is what they are counting on. The 2.0 hatchback, I think, is brought in for the Focus afficionados and those who want a sportier ride. Anyway, the hatchback Focus has just as much space as the sedan version, so if the buyers aren't clueless, they'd know it is worth the money.

I mean, they are happily spending 100k for a supermini like the Jazz, anyway.

u have the points correct my fren... sigh, times changed..

p/s i am getting old...

Actually, I find your posts rather informative and helpful. Better than a lot of posters around who post useless crap most times.

si|verfish said:
Actually, I find your posts rather informative and helpful. Better than a lot of posters around who post useless crap most times.

this place is helpful and useful to me too. i am juz giving back what i got before. :D

p/s am i getting sentimental?

zan said:
this place is helpful and useful to me too. i am juz giving back what i got before. :D

p/s am i getting sentimental?

best to get sentimental than senile..... :D

Hey all, yeah i understand he is looking for a new car and i have something to share. In our country the vehicle tax rate is sky high, given the amount of money one pays for any model (new), it is just a painful way to spend hard-earned cash. If one has hard cold cash during purchase that's now so bad, but if one signs on a car loan on the bank one would still be pinched at 3% interest on top of the car price! I look at 2nd hand cars most of the time as not all 2nd hand cars are crap that's waiting to be junked. Most 2nd hand cars that are owned by families or "aunties" that have regularly serviced them still run well, and being a tuner i'd say once you get your hands on a decent engine you can turn stock performance into street performance with money that won't even hit the price of a new car. Spending on a new car will only give one stock performance. Getting a second hand car will save you paying cash to the government indirectly (service tax and sales tax), if you've seen the car price breakdown list you'd know it makes a difference. e.g. perdana cost price is RM75k, but taking into consideration all taxes and insurance, you're looking at RM110k! I hope this helps!

There are pros and cons of buying a new car versus a 2nd hand one. I'm sure everyone is aware of this. And the modifying and engine transplants and stuff might not be everyone's cup of tea. Some people just want hassle free motoring with sufficient performance for daily commuting and the occasional spirited drive.

Thanks for your opinion on this matter suprafire. The problem wif 2nd car in his experience is tat it is like a gamble , sumting like roussian roulette , or like wat Forest Gum said , " You will never know what you gonna get " .
Not every one are as good as you when they look at 2nd hand car. Even if bring to mechanics oso they cant tell that the blocks not cracked or wat so. On it being aunties car , sumtimes i find it even more disturbing as i know a number of aunties/gals who never check battery water, radiator level , this n tat , the things that we guys normally will take one whole sunday to go thru just to be satisfied that the car is ok. They sumtimes even miss service date cos tot not really important comapred to malaysia mega sales :D...... anyway thanks for your point of view , hope u not offended by wat i written here.... :D

hey y'all, perspectives duly noted and appreciated. I refuse to take offense from anyone so don't worry, just post to your heart's content! zth.com rocks :biggrin: !

That's true. And judging by the way most aunties drive, the car would have been in a very close encounter with some other hard object.

Take my conversation with my sister for instance;
Me: When was the last time you serviced your car?
Sis: What service?
*me stoned*
Me: You know, regular service...change oil and everything. Every 5000kms.
Sis: Do I need to do that?
*speechless*

Think twice before buying a chick or auntie owned car.