OVERDRIVE

shark

got confused about OVERDRIVE for auto transmission...

what is the real function of overdrive? some say that it can be used to drop gear and overtake cars infront. got more power to overtake...will it damage my gearbox?

and some say when u in highspeed and gonna take emergency brake to avoid from crushing the cars in front then used it (drop gear and then brake).

any advise?...
:unsure:

this is wat i know :

Lets say a perdana car has 4 gears. If u turn on the overdrive, the car will change it to 3 gears. (not from fourth down to third gear) .

So the function of overdrive is to make the car quicker.

When in third gear, (with overdrive on) , the car wont go into 4th gear. So the rpm will climb until the redline or cutoff where it is supposed to. Thus consuming more petrol. For highway driving, the overdrive should be turned off for better fuel consumption. Usually ppl use overdrive when climbing a slope/hill or to overtake car infront.

HOpe i explained everything.

Correct me if im wrong guys. Thanx :)

overdrive- overdrive has a faster output speed than input speed, pendek cerita..
a car with overdrive engaged allows it to cruise at a lower engine speed, lower fuel consumption too, less noise, more relaxing and comfortable too.

leaving it switched on will not bring any harm to the tranny, just less responsive because of the lower ratio.

hi all, i'm not new..but alwiz a reader onli, never respon before.

ok shark, earlier explanations are all correct, no doubt. but if u still blur, this is the easiest way to understand.

whenever u r driving an auto car with OD, imagine u r driving a car with 4 speed manual gearbox. when u switch off the overdrive in ur auto car, its the same as u r driving in 3rd gear (manual). better acceleration but higher fuel consumption, not to mention NVH.

consumers used to complaint when ever they are in OD mode, car has poor acceleration. thus, manufacturer came up with 'power' switch. the secret is to hold any ratios (depending on speed) at a longer interval dan higher rpm. modern cars nowadays has transmission ECU which adapts to whether the driver prefers sports/hold mode or normal.

overdrive means the ratio is lower than 1. pls refer to any car magazine test drive spec or ur car owner's manual and u can see that normally for 5 speed manual, the 5th gear is an overdrive. for 6 speed manual gearbox, usually, 5th and 6th gear are both overdrive. unless, the engine has low power output like UK spec corolla EE111 (shape like corolla hatchback WRC 1999 but only 1.3 with 6 speed), if i'm not mistaken only the 6th gear is overdrive where the first 5 are closed ratios for acceleration.

fyi, CF1 waja and CM1 gen.2 has no OD switch but the 4th gear is actually an overdrive. same goes to most honda cars with auto trany. on the other hand, CF2 waja has OD switch at the lever just like E55/E54 perdana and C98/99 wira. why must use button instead if its all same u may ask? i believe its juz a perspective of design where to switch off OD is faster and easier compare to shifting the lever itself.

poor saga, iswara and wira 1.5 auto had to make do with 3 speed auto transmission. they make driving in city painless nevertheless but has really poor fuel economy. this is a complete opposite with lancer 1.5 with 4G91 where it utilised modern 4 speed gearbox.

p/s sori membebel, cant help it. overdrive is just a ratio.

very well explained i must say... :)

simply said...

overdrive on = 4 gears/more economic/less power

overdrive off = 3 gears/less economic/more power

but feels like using a nos laa with OD..since it requires a push of a button..then suddenly got power surge...hehe nice nice :P but i prefer MANUAL...auto tranny is my choice when sudah tua nanti ler..

thanks guys for the info... really aprreciate it... :D

lozo
yup...its very comfortable. i'm using stock satria 1.6...very relaxing even in a heavy traffic or on the highway. much safer fuel (KL to Penang rm30- the tolls are much more expensive than fuel hehehe, KL to Kuantan using LPT rm18-20).

zan
thanks for the explanation. tq! now i really understand the real function of overdrive...hehehe. but its true. with the OD mode, my car is in very poor acceleration. bored u know not like normal manual transmission. but when i pushed the OD button, the power was kaw kaw ler. can achieve from 100km/h to 150km/h just in a sudden. not bad for a N/A. hehehe i love my car....

thanks again my friends!!!

wow shark... your 1.6 auto can go 100km/h to 150km/h just in a sudden?! damn... how come my 1.6 auto cannot geh?! my fastest recorded speed in my car is 160km/h when i'm on my way to PD... took me some time to reach that speed then seems like the engine not willing to go liao... sigh :(

I used overdrive to potong kereta :lol:....or go Genting time

last saturday, drove my mum's hyundai accent automatic up genting.. with 3 passengers.. wah liao.. 2nd gear oso no power
heaven and earth compared to my 1.6L sohc vtec :rolleyes:

Originally posted by Jackie Leong@Feb 24 2005, 01:07
last saturday, drove my mum's hyundai accent automatic up genting.. with 3 passengers.. wah liao.. 2nd gear oso no power
heaven and earth compared to my 1.6L sohc vtec :rolleyes:
Vtec mana ada mari...if compare :lol:

Originally posted by antaras@Feb 23 2005, 21:51
wow shark... your 1.6 auto can go 100km/h to 150km/h just in a sudden?! damn... how come my 1.6 auto cannot geh?! my fastest recorded speed in my car is 160km/h when i'm on my way to PD... took me some time to reach that speed then seems like the engine not willing to go liao... sigh :(
yup can reach from 100km/h to 150km/h takes 2-3 seconds (when i push the overdrive button, not in the sudden la hehehe...)...but takut lor...the enjin mengaum!!! but the worst part when starting from traffic light. damn slow man!!! if long distance can la... :)

shark, to avoid being frustration during acceleration, juz hold ur gears until u reach the speed u want.

but fuel economy hurts a bit. but its nice to play with gears without clutch. but first make sure gear oil change on regular basis.

its like this..before light turns green, shift lever to from D (or D4 in honda) to 2. u can oso switch off OD, depends on wat u like.

as u start moving, the gear will change automatically from 1st to 2nd but u hold it until u get good speed then only shift into D (or D3 in honda). u can do oso this before allowing 3rd gear change to 4th.

remember, u control the car not the other way round.

Originally posted by zan@Feb 24 2005, 12:02
remember, u control the car not the other way round.
like that aaa...? ok got to try tonite :lol:

On a Mitsubishi Galant E33A with 4G63 NA DOHC and auto tranny...

OD Off - up to 3rd gear only - high RPM (up to 5-6k @ 180kph) / high FC / suitable for overtaking
OD On - up to 4th gear - low RPM (below 3k @ 120kph) / good for crusing

Originally posted by theCypher@Feb 23 2005, 07:17
but feels like using a nos laa with OD..since it requires a push of a button..then suddenly got power surge...hehe nice nice :P but i prefer MANUAL...auto tranny is my choice when sudah tua nanti ler..
To tell the truth i used to bluff gals b4 wif the OD button saying it's NOS like the 2F2F movie they watch....

coz when u press alr the rpm will go up + engine bcomes louder ma due to downshifting n engine rev higher... so they will believe lor... :D :D :D

anyway.... i tell them the truth after finish bluffing them..hehe.... :D

If u press the OD button, OD Off will blank out and allow you to shift to 4th gear - RPM drops.

What I normally do is to keep OD On and drive around. Only when I need to overtake or go up a slope, will keep OD Off. That way, you don't stress the 4th gear too much.

Another issue with old auto tranny is gear hunting... where is shifts from 3 to 4 or 4 to 3 very frequent. Iritating but then again, there are aftermarket computer boxes to solve it. Expensive though... :(

Listen!!!! the basic is this. Any gear which has a ratio of less than 1:1 is considered 'Overdrive' Such as 0.95:1 ratio, etc.etc.

On my kancil 5 speed manual, my 5th gear is overdrive. On other manual cars, the 4th and 5th gear might be overdrive gears.

On your auto tranny, turning OD off is like shifting from 5th gear to 4th gear on a manual car so of coz it's more powerful la.

Simple as that.