Perdana V6 Community Forum *

Danz : It's RM680 Every Month, but then I don't want to spend too much on a transportation tool. Either get a good one.... or a lousy one which just ngam ngam fulfill companies requirement which i will drive with a long face all day long.

I did check out the new 2010 Toyota Mark X.... Fell in love with the car... But bulan bulan RM1600, too expensive lah bro. and he offered 16k For my perdana....OMG... that made me saaaaaaaaaaaad.

Neuro : I know you were kidding la bro no worries :)

Probably get a Myvi 1.5 lah... ()*&#%^$&*, Have to start bulan bulan bayar keta life again.

the "9 years old car" rule should have a clause la.
if the car is deemed road-worthy by Puspakom and JPJ, why cant anyone use it.
hmm..

Neuro : the " 2 air bags" rule will get me then :( sigh.... i wanted to argue " ok i'll get a big boobed GF and I'll have 2 air bags" but i don't think they will accept... haha

Hello All sifu!A new member here.A proud owner of perdana v6.Hehe :B. I need to ask something.First of all my car specification

Model:Proton perdana v6 year 2000 AUTO
Engine:Stock,everything is stock with regular service every 5000 km
Mileage:204426 KM
Engine oil:BP 3000 semi.

This perdana never go for overhaul or anything just regular services since year 2000.My question is,is it time for this engine to get overhaul.Or just pour some carbon cleaner in it,do top overhaul and pour in good engine oil like motul semi?For now,my mechanic told me there's some leaking he quote something about gasket leak.But no sign of minyak hitam kurang or white smoke and others.Just some odd smell coming out from the exhaust and sometimes patrol smell.Fuel consumption is good just the performance i find it quite sluggish.So to all sufi,please mind to state your opinion.Thank you!

Hello All sifu!A new member here.A proud owner of perdana v6.Hehe :B. I need to ask something.First of all my car specification

Model:Proton perdana v6 year 2000 AUTO
Engine:Stock,everything is stock with regular service every 5000 km
Mileage:204426 KM
Engine oil:BP 3000 semi.

This perdana never go for overhaul or anything just regular services since year 2000.My question is,is it time for this engine to get overhaul.Or just pour some carbon cleaner in it,do top overhaul and pour in good engine oil like motul semi?For now,my mechanic told me there's some leaking he quote something about gasket leak.But no sign of minyak hitam kurang or white smoke and others.Just some odd smell coming out from the exhaust and sometimes patrol smell.Fuel consumption is good just the performance i find it quite sluggish.So to all sufi,please mind to state your opinion.Thank you!
firstly, congrats on a getting a good car.:driver:

the car has gone on 200K kms without any problem is a good sign.
i guess just for for normal service only since there are no sign of kurang minyak hitam or asap putih.

odd smell? can u describe it?
petrol smell i guess is normal if u only smell it sometimes.
check the fuel lines if u are worried.

how sluggish is the car?
slow in acceleration or low top speed or something else?

Thanks,it smell something like raw fish.Unpleasant smell and i'm pretty sure its cming out from the exhaust and sometimes i can smell it inside of the car while on idle in traffic. Sometimes it do emit white smoke at nightime while the car is on idle in traffic,daylight no smoke just the smell.

Sluggish as in when i was in high speed and want to potong that's when i feel the car is damn sluggish.Is it because of the carbon buildup inside the engine?previously lagi teruk in terms of fc and performance.But after cleaning the MAF and Throttle everything went quite well except for the unpleasant smell :(.If minyak hitam kurang in the future,i should go for top overhaul?

Thanks,it smell something like raw fish.Unpleasant smell and i'm pretty sure its cming out from the exhaust and sometimes i can smell it inside of the car while on idle in traffic. Sometimes it do emit white smoke at nightime while the car is on idle in traffic,daylight no smoke just the smell.

Sluggish as in when i was in high speed and want to potong that's when i feel the car is damn sluggish.Is it because of the carbon buildup inside the engine?previously lagi teruk in terms of fc and performance.But after cleaning the MAF and Throttle everything went quite well except for the unpleasant smell :(.If minyak hitam kurang in the future,i should go for top overhaul?
haha. bau ape tu..
i also dono how to guess.

anyway, u can go for ECU tune up (at any Proton service centre) to get the optimum AF ratio (air fuel ratio).

for the white smoke, u should determine whether its water vapour or white smoke.

if minyak hitam kurang banyak, as in 1 minggu top up 1 liter. then its a problem.
like mine, minyak hitam only kurang about 0.5 litres in 3 months.

Carbon smell i supposed.My mechanic also told me that my car seems to be quite heavy comparing to other perdana in stop and go and he did say something bout carbon in the engine.Is it because of the carbon buildup?And if yes,what is the best way to decarbonize?

Alright,will keep update of my car minyak hitam first.hehe

Thanks sifu!:)

yep, maybe carbon build up.
the best way is to do a top overhaul, cuci all the parts in the engine head.
not those decarbonizer products..

Real cuci n change parts job aalways waaay better than any product that claimed so. Ur model dont have gearrbox cooler so i think its wise to get one.alot km already.gb change good oil n filter.the cat con might not b in optimum condition.just throw away. Fuel or petrol filter.not many ppl changed that.plugs n throw in higher flow drop in filter. If after overhaul u still got money left,might go for piggyback.dont xpect 10 hp xtra but to keep d fuel management in optimum.

BRo neuro u sure all proton SC can tune air fuel? Long time ago i went with my wira.i thought it might b cheaper to get them tune as i heard rm60 like that kawtim. But they damn clueless.instead they do drip n clean d throttle n stuff then play with d TPS sensor.

Real cuci n change parts job aalways waaay better than any product that claimed so. Ur model dont have gearrbox cooler so i think its wise to get one.alot km already.gb change good oil n filter.the cat con might not b in optimum condition.just throw away. Fuel or petrol filter.not many ppl changed that.plugs n throw in higher flow drop in filter. If after overhaul u still got money left,might go for piggyback.dont xpect 10 hp xtra but to keep d fuel management in optimum.

BRo neuro u sure all proton SC can tune air fuel? Long time ago i went with my wira.i thought it might b cheaper to get them tune as i heard rm60 like that kawtim. But they damn clueless.instead they do drip n clean d throttle n stuff then play with d TPS sensor.
i dont think all SC has the equipment. and i dont know how they tune ur Wira.
but the Proton SC in puchong that i went before this (with my V6 engine), they have the MUT diagnostic tool that enables them to check engine health/faults and tune back the engine.

and u are rite, replace fuel filter, remove catalytic converter, use better drop-in air filter and change plugs. also clean the throttle body..

last time when i take a peek on MUT device, its like reader only and erase error code, perform certain checking and engine parameters display. but tuning on ecu codes and value, im not sure. heard this kind of tuning alot but mostly is to take advantage of the ecu to display error code so they know what to fix.

by the way, any idea if i can get them to check on 6a12tt ecu and do some setting? hehehe.

Plan to install emanage soon by the way. also i saw someone selling evo and supra used cat con. think of installing it to lower down the muffler noise.

and even i drove quite gentlemanly, when i pop the hood its still a little hot for my liking. any suggestion on how to lower the under bonnet temp, safely and efficiently?

also any kaki got lubang for boron nitriade ? those cooling spray sell by after 12 and tsd boron by automotive synergy.

so far they require user to go their garage, but quite troublesome for ulu ppl like me hehe

i usually see MUT 2 diagnostic tool which can perform diagnostic on Mitsubishi also. (but not those new Mitsus la..)
yes the MUT performs checking/diagnostics(to see whats wrong) and erases codes.
it also can tune the engine for optimum air-fuel-ratio.

u dont need to install catcon (which will restrict exhaust flow), just put those big centre bullet (tabung tengah).

to lower the engine hood temp, install la EVo style vent. hehe

contemplating on cutting the bonnet, as currently have those anti heat stuff sticked on it.hehe. But i think i will start with jacking up the bonnet first. TSD boron spray going at RM700 at the moment. Very tempting

will check with those SC or those with handheld device if can preset our preferred A/F value.

Also mine is on adjustable. but i wanna revert back to using OEM / non adjustable stuff. So what items i need to procure and estimated cost for conversion? RGT brand absorber like good. or any brand you can recommend?

Wow,that was a lot of info.Got it.Thanks a lot.But as for the gbox cooler what brand should i go for and as for the CAT what should i replace it with?

contemplating on cutting the bonnet, as currently have those anti heat stuff sticked on it.hehe. But i think i will start with jacking up the bonnet first. TSD boron spray going at RM700 at the moment. Very tempting

will check with those SC or those with handheld device if can preset our preferred A/F value.

Also mine is on adjustable. but i wanna revert back to using OEM / non adjustable stuff. So what items i need to procure and estimated cost for conversion? RGT brand absorber like good. or any brand you can recommend?

the boron spray for rm700 is for which part of the engine?

for non-adjustable suspension, u need top mount (maybe can use yours back if u still use the ori top mount), springs and absorbers.

Wow,that was a lot of info.Got it.Thanks a lot.But as for the gbox cooler what brand should i go for and as for the CAT what should i replace it with?
gbox cooler get Hayden model 677 (like this http://www.mudah.my/Hayden+automatic+gearbox+oil+cooler-22084231.htm)

replace catcon with big size centre bullet.

Neuro,its in 500ml aerosol spray can. Said its with improved formula.

thinking to use it on cooler parts, intake manifold and turbo intake side, and engine block.

bugger that foreman told me its Xpensive and troublesome to convert back to OEM setup, make me die die no choice to go cikai adjustable.

Currency Wars, for little more performance and if you have extra money, may look into extractor. Top it with port and polish for engine head.

Done correctly, you will have a reliable, optimized and slightly powerful car. even before i switch to V6, i usually service alot parts in a go. save on time and labour charge.

Danzzz, need advise on driveshaft. start to feel more klicking noise....:bawling: