Perdana V6 Community Forum *

Hmmm... your evo plant has issue at top end with the lightweight cp, I wonder how it would turn out in my stock v6, surely worse...
How to have the best of both worlds? Increase low end torque and at least keep the high end also...:confused:

but there is alot of difference in pick up......

advisable to get the ones with damper...but expensive rm600++.
jasma ones cannot use....summore noisy & will gelong(go out of shape) as mentioned by mines.

Got dampened LCP for 6A12 meh?
Mythelogy doesn't have it. Does Powerzone have or any other?

not sure bro, but try looking for this product
http://www.mudah.my/Fluidampr+Performance+Dampers+Crank+Pulley-8469599.htm

Wanna ask for some opinions from sifus here.. tried to find any related info before but failed..

What kind of muffler is better for V6 N/A with manual tranny?
Previously used FGK but the sound was so bassy esp during low rpm.. :banghead:
Any suggested brand that can produce nice V6 sound and no power loss?
Thinking of super dragger, or maybe apexi n1.. so any idea? TQ!

u want loud or soft kinda sound?
loud- 5zigen bordermax, super dragger, hiper dragger, blitz nur spec etc
soft - tanabe medallion, those s-flow type exhaust.....

Danz, i think just a nice one la.. should be not too loud and not too soft..
Used to hear the sound of super dragger on a v6 n/a, then straight away fall in love with.. hehe
Anyway, any effect of using the s-flow instead of straight flow one?

i'm too lazy to type so...
i quote form forumer Redd from Autoworld...

for NA exhaust tuning, a larger exhaust might "free up" some additional
power, but we're talking small amounts here. a VERY GOOD exhaust system
on a 200hp car might free up 15-20hp. im taking into consideration my
alfa here where the stock exhaust is already very well designed.

so dont expect power gains from exhaust tuning like u would get for a
turbo car.

what ur really doing in modding ur exhaust is "move" the power curve. a
more free-flowing exhaust will move the peak power further up the rpm
range. and vice versa for a more restrictive exhaust. so u tune ur car
for the rev range where u do most of ur driving. if ur a racer, low-end
torque below 3000rpm is useless to u. if all u do is day-to-day driving,
u have no use for power above 5000rpm. there are no free lunches.

there is also a range of exhaust diameters where the engine is effective.
too small and it will 'choke' the exhaust gas flow and the engine will
lose power. too large and you will lose so much back pressure you have
virtually no useful torque (essentially u have moved the power so far up
the rev range its useless to you).

all this talk about 4-2-1, s-flow, bullets are inconsequential. what u
gotta know is how large ur piping diameter is. a 2.5" s-flow muffler will
likely flow better than a 2.2" straight-flow muffler. a bullet is merely
a middle muffler. its a perforated pipe with an expansion chamber and
some insulation in it. the shape of the "bullet" isnt as important as the
piping size inside and the quality of the build.

a "larger/longer" muffler will always be quieter than a shorter/smaller
one.

all else being equal, a perforated pipe (like inside a muffler) will
generate slightly more back pressure (turbulent flow and all that) than a
smooth pipe.

all else being equal, a s-flow pipe will generate more back pressure than
a straight-flow pipe.

u can tune exhaust using any combination of the above. i can tune more
back pressure into a system using a simple smaller diameter straight-flow
pipe versus a more complex (and expensive) s-flow pipe.

the closer the changes are made to the engine, the more impact it will
have on back pressure. a free-flow cat (or a de-cat for that matter) will
have more impact on freeing up flow than a larger rear muffler which is
further downstream from the engine, all else being equal.

just because an "s-flow muffler" worked for one car doesnt mean it will
get the same results for ur car. exhaust tuning is highly engine
dependent. while the above "rules of thumb" apply in general, a lot of
experimentation is required.

and butt dynos dont cut it. u will always feel a gain cos u paid money
for it. if u really want to know what ur car is doing, put it on the dyno
before and after.

and this is speedchasr's quote

Sorry to butt-in on the thread, just feels like clearing up some
misconception here. NA cars utilize exhaust velocity (NOT backpressure) to
aid in scavenging of the cylinders during the exhaust cycle process. To get
the optimum velocity, you have to decrease the diameter of the the exhaust
which also induces backpressure. The backpressure is an unwanted
consequence of the desire exhaust velocity. You will lose velocity if you
go too big, and also the beneficial scavenging effect. Go too small and the
backpressure increases, and whatever scavenging benefit is negated. The art
is finding the balance.

Look at it this way, if you have tried a small PVC water pipe and suck it
through your fish tank, it will draw and flow the water on its own. That's
a simple illustration of scavenging. Go too big on it and it will not flow.

It's true that the diameter of your exhaust will move the powerband because
you need a higher RPM (more gas flow) because you need a higher velocity to
effect exhaust scavenging.

My understanding of pipe diameters has a lot to do with cylinder volume and
the design of the extractors on a NA engine. Depending on your cam degrees,
you would also want optimum pipe velocity to get a strong reflected
negative wave during the cam overlap period.

For turbo cars, you throw all of the above out the window. The design of
turbo exhaust systems runs counter to exhaust design for NA and that is for
another topic.

As for exhaust wrapping, keeping the heat off is only secondary to the main
reason of wrapping it up. When exhaust gases are pushed out of your
cylinders to your exhaust manifold, the air surrounding the manifold begins
to cool the gases. This cooling process reduces the velocity of the
escaping gases and the engine must work harder to push the gases through
your exhaust system. The hotter the gas the lesser the density.

Wrapping the exhaust headers will sustain the hot exhaust gases and it will
exit the system faster through decreased density. It will also increase
exhaust scavenging, along with lower underhood and intake temperatures.

---------- Post added at 03:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:06 PM ----------

and as for manual car.
it's always better to get straight flow.
but if u dont mind losing a little top end power for more silentness, put s-flow..

neuro, thanks for such a good info.. very beneficial one..
but nowadays hard to get hks, tanabe, apexi brand with 2.3" inlet.. normally 2.5" & above..
then how bout ur old tanabe, sold already ka? hehe.. btw, long time no see ur handsome car.. :biggrin:

they are available....but need to source from halfcuts......the inlet could be modified from 2.5' to 2.3' or your desired measurements.

Hi All !!

Im a newbie here.
i wanna ask all sifu here
Im planning to have my own perdana 6a12tt b4 this hari raya.
My question is which one of below option is better?

1-Buy a perdana which already got 6a12tt
(Got 1 very nice maroon perdana TT to be sold price rm23k here at JB)

or
2-Start from scratch,
Buy a perdana then buy a 6a12tt h/cut then etc bla bla bla
and which model suite 6a12tt better? perdana sei or perdana v6?

hope to hear any advice asap

tq

bro, my suggestion, better buy perdana already has turbo engine inside rather than u start from scratch

Bro danz
tq 4 ur quic reply

yeah im thinking to just buy a ready made perdana tt
no need pening2 kepala.

u might wanna comment bout the car as per attachment

is it ok or not?

• 11.jpg
    11.jpg
    38.7 KB · Views: 176
  • 22.jpg
    22.jpg
    61.1 KB · Views: 143
Nice outlook. How many years car?

Here some area you need check b4 you buy transplant car. If can bring yr mechanic friend test the car with you.

1. Any major accident before.
2. Did gear box got any weird sound? Including reverse gear.
3. Absorber is stock or after market?

I'm from JB as well. Welcome to the V6 world.

yeah, ive seen the car on mudah before, but wondering y the owner selling so cheap, cos the car looks quite nice....

mines

tq for ur advice
u are now at JB or what?which area?

bro Danz

yes this perdana TT was advertised at Mudah and now the car at one of used car dealer at Batu Pahat.i know the car dealer as previously i work at BP.Recently tranfered by my company to JB.

My bro in law own a 99' perdana v6(standart).He bought it cash at auction last 2 years(bank lelong).
So far rosak 2-3 times already.once i borrow his car and suddenly radiator pecah-asap satu enjin he he he.repair rm300 i think
Few mont ago the car rosak again at sedenak hiway.Don now apa rosak but this times it cost him almost 2k.My mother in law marah him 24/7 non stop ha ha ha