Perdana V6 Community Forum *

Do more as in? Add the piggyback, larger injectors, high cam? Actually thinking to do a 2.2 or 2.4 liter stroke up.. but just worry will end up using manual gb..haha..
yep, maybe get bigger injectors, piggyback, metal gasket.
since u are using the "RS" RVR, ur power is like 230hp crank, so maybe about 185whp.
even to get 240whp, u have to go up 55whp, which i think with TD05 and up boost maybe will get u there..

u can try with the auto as its heavy duty.
hey even ppl in the US still using their auto gb with higher power (on their Eclipses and Talons..)

yep, maybe get bigger injectors, piggyback, metal gasket.
since u are using the "RS" RVR, ur power is like 230hp crank, so maybe about 185whp.
even to get 240whp, u have to go up 55whp, which i think with TD05 and up boost maybe will get u there..

u can try with the auto as its heavy duty.
hey even ppl in the US still using their auto gb with higher power (on their Eclipses and Talons..)

hmm.. well wish me good luck den.. hehe.. if gb fails, i might thinking to order the torque converter from US... try see ok or not.. by the way, i'm going to do servicing tomoro.. what gb oil you will recommend? Original mitsubishi? or? and the engine oil? I currently using a new brand bought in sg autobacs.. having the viscosityof 10-50W.. so far so good as the engine oil never less.. i used Liqui Moly before 10-40W but the oil need to keep on topping up.. so what do you recommend bro since we use the same engine..

aiyo. u cannot compare to my engine oil usage la.
i only use normal semi engine oil not like u use Liqui-Moly. minyak mahal tu...

my ATF is from Pennzoil - Pennzoil Multi-Vehicle ATF. just focus on ATF that has SP3. that's all..
i'm a frequent Pennzoil user but my engine oil now (just changed last week) use Verve semi 10w-40.
just testing Verve coz got discount and they're upcoming company trying to promote their stuff to car clubs..

if i got the dough, i would try both engine oil and ATF from Amsoil or Redline or Royal Purple or Shaeffer. :biggrin:

aiyo. u cannot compare to my engine oil usage la.
i only use normal semi engine oil not like u use Liqui-Moly. minyak mahal tu...

my ATF is from Pennzoil - Pennzoil Multi-Vehicle ATF. just focus on ATF that has SP3. that's all..
i'm a frequent Pennzoil user but my engine oil now (just changed last week) use Verve semi 10w-40.
just testing Verve coz got discount and they're upcoming company trying to promote their stuff to car clubs..

if i got the dough, i would try both engine oil and ATF from Amsoil or Redline or Royal Purple or Shaeffer. :biggrin:

But Liqui-Moly i use like not so good ler.. minyak keep on kurang.. now i use that one is bought from sg de.. can't remember what brand le.. but i bought @ SGD95.. thinking wanna try HKS for turbo car use.. price @ SGD135.. but dunno good or not la.. maybe just branded.. but i thought our engine cannot use 10w-40? My mechanic say too thin the oil thus causing oil keep on going less.. he say must use higher viscosity because old engine.. i also dunno.. used before Arpol 10w-50 but in the end also will less.. but one thing, my tappet sound sometimes have sometimes no.. how bout urs? I remember using Liqui-Moly the tappet sound loudest...

As for ATF we can use other brands than original Mitsubishi (metal tin)? I currently using Arpol ATF also.. what do you mean SP3?

But Liqui-Moly i use like not so good ler.. minyak keep on kurang.. now i use that one is bought from sg de.. can't remember what brand le.. but i bought @ SGD95.. thinking wanna try HKS for turbo car use.. price @ SGD135.. but dunno good or not la.. maybe just branded.. but i thought our engine cannot use 10w-40? My mechanic say too thin the oil thus causing oil keep on going less.. he say must use higher viscosity because old engine.. i also dunno.. used before Arpol 10w-50 but in the end also will less.. but one thing, my tappet sound sometimes have sometimes no.. how bout urs? I remember using Liqui-Moly the tappet sound loudest...

As for ATF we can use other brands than original Mitsubishi (metal tin)? I currently using Arpol ATF also.. what do you mean SP3?
as for HKS, i think its the semi-syn engine oil for turbo application with 10w-40 rite? saw some at N1 racing. sure can use but too expensive, i dont bother la.

our engine can use 10w-40, if u read - Bob is the Oil Guy u will be lagi pening coz some of the articles are opposite of what we perceive. but yes, we can use 10w-40. even fully-syn can use but people say cannot la, this la, that la..

my tappet also sometimes got sound, usually after cold start or after hard driving. my oil level is ok, so i think its just becoz: 1) the oil pump is getting old and not efficient in pumping oil; 2) becoz Mitsubishi's tappet is usual like that and 3) becoz of the oil getting thicker, usually after 4-5K km the sound comes (after my oil change last week, no tappet sound yet)..
right now i just leave it la. what i will do later is maybe to replace the oil pump and maybe get a newer and better tappets..

ATF for our generation of auto gearbox, Mitsubishi requires their special spec ATF - "Diamond SP-II and SP-III". that's why i look for ATF that has SP-III spec. either Diaqueen SP-III, Proton SP-III, Hyundai/Kia SP-III or any Multi-Vehicle ATF that has SP-III spec..
Arpol? what spec does it have? any picture and spec sheet?
its advisable to not use ATf with other spec as it may not have similar qualities required..
if u google, u can read that we cannot use Dextron or Mercon, which may damage our gb..
its not like our engine, where u can pour any engine oil. auto gb requires their special spec..

Just done servicing last saturday.. now car feels lighter and smoother..
Engine oil Mobil 1 15w-50 = 4L
ATF oil STOP Oil = 4L
Motor up transmission treatment = 1 bottle
Front engine mounting 1 pc
Damage to wallet = RM480 :biggrin:

do u have the STOP oil ATF spec? any links or pics? price?

Price is RM100/4L.. the gb guys assured me no problem and it's ok for my mitsubishi gb.. the original Diaqueen SP-III you know i saw in sg autobacs how much? SGD165/4L... Crazy price... haha.. den i go to the gb specialist here in jb.. he told me it's ok to use other oil than the Diaqueen, but if i insisted to use the Diaqueen SP-III, he is ok la, just not that necessary.. but must change gb oil filter.. which i did not manage to change because need to order from KL... sien.. :banghead: jb here no keep stock.. as vy rare.. haiz.. so next round i must change the gb oil filter already..

Hi everyone. I am new. I noticed year 2000 proton perdana is cheap. Some as low as RM17K. I think of buying but takut. I am willing to spend 18k for it but dont want to repair anything anymore after that. Ok lah may be 1 or 2k extra if it is really reliable. Do you think I have a chance. I dont know how to inspect a car. You teach me also no point. I dont mind paying for some help. Any suggestions are welcome.

corgia ... its the interest comes first .. buying a 2nd car is like gambling ... u can check exterior but not 100% interior conditions.

as for me .. i liked perdana for quite some time and i did purchased one last 2 months and im liking it more every day. my suggestion: if ur planning for standard usage.. go for V6 .. if planning to change engine and etc.. then go for sei type.

bt still .. its up for ur decisions. btw .. sifos can advice more :D

---------- Post added at 02:31 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:31 PM ----------

Price is RM100/4L.. the gb guys assured me no problem and it's ok for my mitsubishi gb.. the original Diaqueen SP-III you know i saw in sg autobacs how much? SGD165/4L... Crazy price... haha.. den i go to the gb specialist here in jb.. he told me it's ok to use other oil than the Diaqueen, but if i insisted to use the Diaqueen SP-III, he is ok la, just not that necessary.. but must change gb oil filter.. which i did not manage to change because need to order from KL... sien.. :banghead: jb here no keep stock.. as vy rare.. haiz.. so next round i must change the gb oil filter already..

nevermind bro .. next time changing we go together :D

Hi everyone. I am new. I noticed year 2000 proton perdana is cheap. Some as low as RM17K. I think of buying but takut. I am willing to spend 18k for it but dont want to repair anything anymore after that. Ok lah may be 1 or 2k extra if it is really reliable. Do you think I have a chance. I dont know how to inspect a car. You teach me also no point. I dont mind paying for some help. Any suggestions are welcome.

corgia, how much exactly u are willing to spend for the car?

u should set aside around RM2-3k to do cambelt service or other stuff right after u buy the car. except if the previous owner can provide proof he's done it..

u want a standard car (v6 auto) or v6 manual or modded car (6A12 twinturbo or evo or rvr or eclipse)?
if u are new in cars, i suggest get a SEi manual or V6 manual..

we here can give some advise on how to inspect car but u must learn la. hehe..

anyway, where do u live? if u are near, maybe i can help a bit la..

corgia ... its the interest comes first .. buying a 2nd car is like gambling ... u can check exterior but not 100% interior conditions.

as for me .. i liked perdana for quite some time and i did purchased one last 2 months and im liking it more every day. my suggestion: if ur planning for standard usage.. go for V6 .. if planning to change engine and etc.. then go for sei type.

bt still .. its up for ur decisions. btw .. sifos can advice more :D

---------- Post added at 02:31 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:31 PM ----------

nevermind bro .. next time changing we go together :D

Ya we go together.. hehe.. i also second what bro "myperdana" said.. if you wanna change engine.. better buy a cheaper body.. den mod all the way.. hehe..

I dont have a lot to spend. Around 20k the most. I need auto transmission. Wife says dont take loan because I am old already. So I can afford cheap car only . All this turbo stuffs and engine change scares me but I am willing to consider. Imagine my own inexpensive v6 turbo car. What I am worried is the maintainance pulak. I am ok with the normal v6 auto but if engine change would not give me headache later I would consider it. Spare part senang ke?. I have called one sellers today in mudah but not sure when to see the cars. Actually I am not prepared la. Dont know what to check. ha ha ha. Time is also a constraint at the moment. We will see how it goes. To some of you who are willing to accompany me already, I am most appreciative of the offer. Maybe someone can summarize for me the pros and cons of these engine change things and the estimated cost altogether with the car. Sometimes my wife suggest buy a wira aeroback only but perdana is so cheap nowdays. Is it worth while?

Bro Neuro see this.. reliable ka?

http://www.mudah.my/Re+Flash+piggy+back+ECU+chip-12666924.htm

anyone have Perdana V6 side skirt and V6 1st Gen reverse lightfor sale?

My '00 V6 had the popular "stuck in 3rd gear problem", ie on the highway, it will downshift to 3rd gear and won't go into 4th.

I thought I was screwed, have to overhaul or get recon/chopshop gearbox.

Took it to a guy who worked at Proton before. He said have to "replace valves and solenoid" for RM6K :confused::banghead: But warranty 1 year, which is long. Said all those other recon gb's will still fail after a few months. I was almost tempted, since he was recommended by a friend and also the workshop reportedly does good work.

Then I spent a few hours online doing research, including searching for recon/used gb's on mudah.my.

What I found was

1) Those cheap RM1.3-1.5K recon gearboxes are hit-and-miss. Can last long time, and can also fail after warranty period if seller did a crap recon. Mentioned "big" recon gb sellers are M-Scope & EH Autolink (but service reportedly sucks ever since their South African guy left).

2) Better bet in terms of longevity would be 2nd hand gearboxes from Japan. Might be Eterna gearboxes. Better manufactured to begin with. Still susceptible to failure if have been abused. More expensive at RM2-3K. Go to a mechanic who knows what he's doing, who will check these 2nd units first before selling to you.

3) If your problem is only those "stuck in gear" issue : only have to change the valve body, for < RM1,000 inclusive of top-up oil and labour.

4) Important preventive measures are
a. to install an ATF oil cooler (new from eBay for RM450, or chop shop for ard RM200).
b. change ATF oil every 15,000 km, about once every year. Some people change every 6 months.
- some swear by the original Proton Type III gear oil, if bought from Proton Edar (too many fakes)
- some swear by the Toyota Type IV gear oil, or other funny obscure oils.

Anyway, I took my car to another workshop that services Mercs in PJ. I thought was going to be very expensive. The owner took a look, then said only have to change the valve body. RM650 for used valve body, RM150 for installation, plus another RM80 or so for fluids. Done in half day! (If anyone wants to visit them, can PM me).

Who wants to guess how long my gearbox has lasted?

Still using the original one from year 2000. So up to this valve body replacement, it has been 11 years. Who says Perdana GB's always fail often?
- if it matters, the 1st owner changed GB oil every 6 months religously
- on my side, I installed Hayden ATF cooler (RM450) about 2 years back, and changed GB oil about 1-2 a year.
- I sometimes drive fast on the highway up to 140km/h, but rarely accelerate too fast, ie didn't race the engine at every stop light. The Perdana V6 is an excellent cruiser, not really a sports car.

I think issue is, mostly those who have problems post online. All those who don't, can't be bothered to mention it much. Those who managed to get a good recon gb, just happily driving and never post again. Those who had to replace 2-3 times, keep condemning non-stop (can't blame them). I think the problem of the gb is overstated, esp if more owners know how to maintain well. If the problem is way more serious, there would be very few old Perdana's still on the road. Compared to the Proton Tiara - now that's a problematic car and that's why rarely see them on the road.

Thanks to DanzEterna , our moderator here, who also provided useful advice to me about the Perdana GB's!

Hope this info is useful to someone who face the same issues.