PERSONA : Lets share our stories

ANDY_RESORT

Hi guys, since there is no topic on the new Persona, why dont I start one.

Currently own a Persona base-line. My first time owning a P1. Used to be a Nissan kaki of a different vehicle segment.

So far am satisfied with the ride and handling. NVH levels are superb. The Campro engine is nothing to shout about but revvy and gives you the needed power on long haul driving. Comfortable ride with the right firmness on the upholstery and seatings. I'm a six-footer, no qualms at the driver's seat.

However, there are some minor enhancements needed for the Persona, thus the topic exist.

All are welcome to post BUT NO BASHING. All negative comments can be aired but please PROFESSIONALLY word it. Lets be civilised motorists yeah.

This topic is solely for the Persona and also any upcoming social events i.e. owners club, TT, autoshow, convoys, trips, etc.

I may not be the expert on automotive technology but my love for cars and trucks are shared in http://www.andymervingeorge.com, do drop by and say hello. :itsme:

What? Proton Pesona?
I dont know what proton's engineer thinking...
Just stress the rear part only.

talk till the end.. its Gen2lak sedan onli...
just my own opinion... no harm...

Its a GEN2 sedan in lay terms. But what you dont see are the improvements on the 'popular' issues of the Gen2. It has all been addressed but still there are some improvements can be done also. Nothing is perfect but at least the Proton guys listened to us and finally MADE CORRECTIONS on it.

Since its a GEN2-derived 'new' car, at least I am assured that it is not completely 100% new model as the parts have been refined and in terms of manufacturing, the operators are more skilled at it thus improving efficiency in the manufacturing process, not to mention improved in quality control too. Of course there are few unlucky ones but that number has been significantly reduced and dealt.

how's the FC?

and the power?
last time i test drive my cousin's 1.6neo auto...
mayb haven go for 1st service...
really no feel on low rev... no chance 2 try high rev...

since it really a money due car,rather buy a 1.3 car better choice persona la.proton really had the improvement.

actually did u all notice that they use back the orginal chasis of gen two and just weld two piece of plate on the chasis to extend the back? take out ur spare tyre and u will notice that...is this what u all mean by PROTON improving?

anyway..just my 1 cent comment....

Just passing by, I dont know any detail la, havent had a chance driving it oso.
For me, i dont see any improvement on this car. Just Gen2 sedan only.

there's nothing wrong with persona IMO, its just like satria and putra, both same just that, putra got longer back.

i like persona, got some improvement in terms of quality. same goes to neo IMO, interior and exterior quality not bad.

one thing bother me is... there's no manual tranny for the high line... i like driving a manual car ^_^

actually did u all notice that they use back the orginal chasis of gen two and just weld two piece of plate on the chasis to extend the back? take out ur spare tyre and u will notice that...is this what u all mean by PROTON improving?

this is a new term of engineering ma.. once accident the back will drop to protect passenger just like those vios and city once heavy accident at front, engine will drop...hahahahhahaha:biggrin:

Well, at least we can rest assured that the Persona is not a completely NEW model. There are common parts available thanks to the GEN2. We dont have to worry about spare parts.

PROTON did improve in terms of build quality for the whole car. Forget about the engine technology, the cabin has drastically improved in terms of fittings and upholstery.

Im not trying to defend Proton here as I am not a fan of them too..

Just my few cents too.. :)

Just passing by, I dont know any detail la, havent had a chance driving it oso.
For me, i dont see any improvement on this car. Just Gen2 sedan only.

Go ahead and test drive one today.. if you have a friend who got one, test his ride too. :)

there's nothing wrong with persona IMO, its just like satria and putra, both same just that, putra got longer back.

i like persona, got some improvement in terms of quality. same goes to neo IMO, interior and exterior quality not bad.

one thing bother me is... there's no manual tranny for the high line... i like driving a manual car ^_^

Im a manual person too! You are darn right about quality too!

Get a manual Mid-line and slap on all the stuff that the High-line has...
Dont know how u gonna convert ABS+EBD into it though... :P

all i know is that the engine is damm good.
after 4000 rpm u feel persona TEC kick in. something like VTEC larr.........
below 4000rpm u feel ninja turtle kick in.

all i know is that the engine is damm good.
after 4000 rpm u feel persona TEC kick in. something like VTEC larr.........
below 4000rpm u feel ninja turtle kick in.

Exactly. THe torque, unfortunately, hits at 4000 rpm..
New engine is OK to rev it that high but not sure when it gets older.. could cause higher FC..

What do u guys think? :hmmmm:

oh i think whoever drive that kind of engine will sure press the accelerator hard hard to let the campr0TEC kick in larr........... or else how to potong kereta?

i bet there is a camel inside the engine sucking petrol. becoz below 4000rpm it is running on turtleTEC so it is very fuel consuming especially u stuck at traffic jam. high torque car like vios and latio save fuel cozs they wont consume much petrol whenever they move their car after a stop. as for this unta like engine, u have to press hard hard then the car will move sikit.

i heard if u install 4-2-1 to this campr0 engine the torque will be better. but dun know the fuel consumption will shoot up or not larr.
my fren bought a gen2. want to naik bukit no eye see lorr......... press accelerator til half baru can go slowly. if drive kelisa, press a bit the car already run like road runner...........

but dont worry larr....... they have develop variable intake module which helps on the torque at low rpm.