Pioneer DEH-P1Y Head Unit

cRuZ1011

Hi ICE GURUs in zth... me is ICE virgin hence would love some feedback on the DEH-P1Y HU from all ...

planning to get the HU but have a few question in my mind:-

1) is this Hu a good one if my intention is to just match it with 4 6'5" speaker for my car, 2 speaker in front 2 at the bek OEM position in my proton putra... good as in SQ bagus and at times can put blast loud so other ppl on the road can share my music....

2) would this HU be a good unit to have in terms of future ICE upgrade ie add amp and woofer and stuff??

3) how much would this HU set me back for and got any lubang to get dealer price or stuff ah???? think should be quiet expensive... any better combination of HU and speakers to give me good SQ with also good upgrade option that u may suggest??

hope current users or gurus well versed with this HU can give some feedback...all opinions are welcomed and thanked in advance... cheers

Hey bro , check out this thread got pioneer head units for sale . Anyway, P1Y market price should be around RM1900 and up.

the last time i had stock for it , i could get it for RM1300 but not sure whether they still have stock for this model cos its like since 2 years ago if im not wrong. anyway, do check out this 6850. Its the latest model for 2006.

Market price is RM1490, selling for RM1050 slightly nego, but has to be ordered.

This hu definitely wont have probs with the setup u mentioned, and also for future upgrades. to start off, theres built in 50x4 , but to get the best of any system, u definitely need amps and at least, a sub. Anyway, this hu got 3 sets of pre outs, enough to control 2-3 amps directly from the hu without the need for pre amp, etc. got built in crossover, subwoofer control, equalizer and many other functions. Oh yeah and it looks great too!

http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=75615

Do call me if u happen to be interested at 0123913788 and we can arrange to order the unit etc. Thanks!

hi bro

thanks for the feedback.... have checked out the 6850 HU u were mentioning, preety impressive cool player i might add. in your honest opinion which one would be a better HU to own? not taking into consideration the price, the yr it was introduced etc.... just purely based basically on the usability and performance wise.
As my current plan is just to throw in four speaker front and rear to be powered by solely the HU, would the 60wt per channel of the P1Y constitute a world of a difference from the 50wt perchannel 6850 unit.

i read the specs la but its all like foreign language to me la....can let me know in simple england ah? the confusion lies in the built-in speaker power and the continous power output.... hmmm wat is the difference ah??? any other major difference between the 2? (need your personal wisdom ere)

have more or less narrowed down myself to the above 2 mentioned HU.... so would be great if u like sorta help me out ere sort out the all these worrying issues.

also can you kindly pm me the price for the above two units ah? give me some handsome beginner discount la bro hehe

oh yes sorry ah mafan banyak banyak but wat good speaker to get ah to be powered by the HU? any good speaker for a decent price to recommend? tot of putting four 13 speaker for front and bek.... or do u recommend 10cm in front 13cm at the bek?

many many thanks...

take yohanes one RV6200XT lo...
pretty good speaker for the price you pay...but thts for my ears and my music preference... you might second my opinion here...

the 50w and 60w that both player offers are rated at the max output... so the continuos outout would be around 25w and 30w or lower...

i think both model are good enough for a beginner.... but if i were given the choice i would choose the P1Y... although the 6850 is a newer model but from the spec list i would go for P1Y... as it is a better choise for future upgrade...

for the speaker... normally 10cm ones are better for vocal details while 13cm are better in producing mid bass.. so choose according your own music preference... i would recommend you to put a component set which consist of a mid bass woofer , a tweeter and a crossover up front... you would get a better sound with these set... trust me on this one... as for the back dun do anything to it yet... jus leave the original speaker there... you will get a better sound this way too in terms of sound staging...

Hi bro..like crazie cheld mentioned , the 50 and 60watts is just the max output. This is not really a true gauge of the head units capabalities in terms of reproducing sound, therefore the difference its makes would be small in this area.

To really feed your speakers, you would of course be better off with an amp rated in rms power(nominal or actual consistent power output) of 50watts rms or more. Just as a gauge the two head units probably have built in power of 18-25 watts rms...somewhere around there. Therefore, the difference is small.

As for the two head units on comparison, of course the P1Y is a better head unit, but the thing is, do you need it? hehehe...even the functions in the 6850 are indeed more than sufficient already considering the fact that it already has 4V preouts, 3 sets of em, built in crossovers, etc.

As for your speakers , like craziechiled mentioned, it would be good to get a component set 6.5" in size straight away for the front. components set = (1 set of tweeters, crossovers and mid bass drivers) as the bass from a 6.5" set is substantially better than that from a 5" speaker. ur next upgrade would better off be an amp (4channel ) and a sub and it would definitely make your system sound much better than with 4 speakerrs front and back.

yohanes... do you have the CD-RB10 or CD-RB20 AUX adapter for pioneer HU one... pm me the price if you hav those...