Proton or Perodua

All owners of proton and perodua, I doing a survey here for both of this car. i dont own any of these 2 cars before so dont know much about them.

1. In terms of drivabilities, maintenance, after sales service, FC, safety features, funkiness of the car and value for money.

2. Although Perodua is founded later than Proton, do you think that it is better than Proton ? In terms of car design until now.

3. Proton and Perodua, which one gives you the fun in driving ? means hassle free.

4. Do you think that someday Perodua will be better than Proton in its engine technologies and car designs ?

My above questions are not meant to discriminated both manufacturers. Just want to do a survey and see what would be the future of these 2 car giants in Malaysia.

Looks like all 4 questions are in favour of P2.

1. After sales service for both companies are pretty much the same. Both sides have rotten SCs to deal with. Safety features? That depends more on govt legislation to force manufacturers to add more safety features. Otherwise, I'm putting my money on P2 as their chassis designs are based on newer Japanese cars with better crash/impact features.

2. P2 is still relying a lot on Daihatsu and Toyota, while P1 is *trying* to stand on its own two feet now. Car design until now? Depends on what you look for in car design; power? reliability? QC? FC? safety? handling?

3. I don't see how fun in driving and hassle free can come together. Ask any Alfa owner that. But both companies have had their successes when it comes to "fun" cars; Putra, GTi, R3, Kelisa, MyVi(?). If we're still talking hassle free, my vote goes to the Kelisa, although it's not really that fun being bullied on the highway.

4. P2 is already ahead of P1. But that's because they're propped up by Daihatsu and Toyota tech.

im driving a satria...but due to petrol consumption and drivability and handling,me favours P2.

but proton trying to find its own identity... lets support our local product...proton nearly produce 100% local made

except for the engine, aircon parts, electrical n circuit boards.

my family has both proton & perodua. no problems with perodua, proton = problem. if i had to choose between the 2, my money's with perodua. proton has yet to prove itself in over 2 decades!

i would say perodua..

i think the after sales service is depend on the dealer u deal with.. some find it good n bad at diff place.

p1 is already a loser due to afraid of the afta.. they r really sleeping after wira released..

TitanRev said:
All owners of proton and perodua, I doing a survey here for both of this car. i dont own any of these 2 cars before so dont know much about them.

1. In terms of drivabilities, maintenance, after sales service, FC, safety features, funkiness of the car and value for money.

2. Although Perodua is founded later than Proton, do you think that it is better than Proton ? In terms of car design until now.

3. Proton and Perodua, which one gives you the fun in driving ? means hassle free.

4. Do you think that someday Perodua will be better than Proton in its engine technologies and car designs ?

My above questions are not meant to discriminated both manufacturers. Just want to do a survey and see what would be the future of these 2 car giants in Malaysia.

1. Perodua.
2. Yes, Perodua.
3. Perodua.
4. Yes, if not already.

One more thing you need to consider, they make different car types, Perodua compact car and Proton sedan/saloon. With ppl with families, like me, even tho I think Perodua cars are better, I'll still opt for a Proton coz I need a sedan - definitely don't want a Juara (what my family calls a Transformers car hehe).
So they sell to different markets.

1. What is the most problems that Proton and Perodua have ? like engine breakdown, squeaking sounds...etc..

2. If customer feedback system were utilise. Do you think its a good idea ?

3. Would it be a dream come true if Perodua starts to manufacturer mid size sedan or hatchback.

4. Whats your's dissapointment for the both manufacturer ?

5. What would you like to expect from the Both company in the future ? eg. manufacture more high end cars ? have more built qualities ? more safety features ? own design ?

Hi Titan Rev,here is my answer,cheers

1. What is the most problems that Proton and Perodua have ? like engine breakdown, squeaking sounds...etc..
A:mostly every car also have but if only both can have a better services and more professional that dont eat "nasi lemak under table" everytime every where and i think
they will have better production and manufacturing.

A:Still there will only lead to "un professional" services.who want to be on this services line? i mean what knid of people they will provide?

3. Would it be a dream come true if Perodua starts to manufacturer mid size sedan or hatchback.
A:If only they have a strong services center, professional, responsibility and good management .... then only talk about dream come true.

A:Services & Professional and Manufacturer and Management

5. What would you like to expect from the Both company in the future ? eg. manufacture more high end cars ? have more built qualities ? more safety features ? own design ?
A:If they can concerntrate on the management,production,services and manufacturer...... improve this before going for further step.

TitanRev said:

I had a 1997 Putra manual for 5 years. Only 1 major problem - a/c motor seized up suddenly in the middle of Subang Jaya with no warning. Engine died. I had to cut the a/c belt, and then had no power steering becoz belts are connected. Also the usual proton problems like reverse sensor died after 1 month, windows stuck after 2 months, dashboard rattling and fittings squeaking after 3 months. Other than that no major problems.

TitanRev said:

Good to have feedback system, but I have no confidence in Proton/Perodua acting on customer complaints. They just dont care.

TitanRev said:

Always better to have competition. Then Perodua will give Proton a run for its money. But I dont think this will ever happen, unless the Govt sells its majority stake in Proton.

TitanRev said:

Absolutely no after sales services whatsoever. Any dealer, anywhere in Malaysia - they are only interested in selling the car. After it is sold, they simply dont give a flying **** anymore about you and the car you bought.

TitanRev said:

I would like to see at least a level playing field. Only then will Proton / Perodua buck up and give the consumer what it wants. Proton/ Perodua will only give the consumer what he wants - whether it is more high end cars, better build quality, safety features or better original design, only if it has to survive. As long as it remains protected from competition, we will never see this.

I have old perdana sei & my wife Kancil 660... For me better go for Perodua compare to proton. Proton suck ...sorry to say coz if u bought at proton edar u cant service ur car at EON...but P2 yes the accept ur coz the name already Perodua service ctr.

Thanks a lot guys. I have gain lots of infos from here and from mechs, salesman, owners and SCs....can start to write my project already....:D