Proton ------ Proton again.

ZTH

Proton saga continues

THE Proton saga continues. There are reports that Volkswagen would be the new major shareholder. There are also reports that the new major shareholder would be a local party. We next learnt that the March 31 deadline for Proton’s partner had not been met. In this apparently never-ending merry-go-round, ordinary Malaysians are utterly confused over the Proton story.

As consumers, all the ordinary Malaysians want is a car of reasonable quality at a reasonable price. Ordinary Malaysians have been massively subsidising Proton and at the end, we still have a company that simply cannot compete against anyone in the world.

An Australian fresh graduate can earn A$2,000-A$3,000 per month and drive a brand new Toyota Camry for A$33,000. A Malaysian fresh graduate earns RM2,000-RM3,000 per month and has to make do with a discounted Proton Saga.

What does the Government want for Proton? They want Proton to spearhead the country’s industrialisation process and at the same time, achieve income and wealth redistribution.

In the recent Geneva Motor Show, there were various attractive models from China and India. Lotus was there. Proton was absent.

Proton has tried for more than two decades and failed and will fail again if the right things are not done.

The issue to resolve is this: How can we make Proton globally competitive?

Will the local party have the skills, resources, management, alliances, experience, technologies and a huge host of other critical assets to turn Proton around? Or will it come in and give us a lifetime guarantee that millions of ordinary Malaysians will have to keep subsidising it?

We should learn from the Czechs. Their willingness to give up their national marque, the Skoda, brought about immense benefits to the economy. From a marque that sold only 120,000 cars in 1991, Skoda sold 559,821 cars in 2006, equivalent to the size of Malaysia’s total vehicle sales.

How did they do it? By bringing the marque to a globally acceptable level of quality and by building up exports. Skoda is not the only marque that has exports driving its performance (see table).

Proton has not only become a saga. No “real” explanation has been given as to why the March 31 deadline was not met and we do not know if there will be a new deadline and whether it will be met. All we know is that the whole country and its future are being held ransom to parties that do not bother to explain to Malaysians why there is another missed deadline.

In the first place, should we have a national car? Thailand does not. Taiwan does not. What is even more glaring is that even China does not have a national car project. The domestic market of China is big enough to support numerous national cars. In 2006 alone, China sold approximately seven million cars.

The skills and technology available to China are advanced enough for her to start a national car project. Yet, China has chosen a different strategy from Malaysia. China is realistic enough to eat humble pie and have joint ventures with the foreign carmakers instead of arrogantly striking out on her own. Now, we have China cars reaching our shores. Proton has yet to reach China after two decades.

Let us make our investment and business decisions based on sound commercial reasons.

Taken from : THEStar Newspaper

do we need a national car? yes we do.

national cars bring the lot - engineering aspects, knowledge, improving the human capital, etc,etc. no to mention dissappointment and deficits.

proton is not beyond repair. what we need is a serious business. let them do the business. what we have been doing for the past 20 years is that, mixing business with politics. and that don't combine well. it doesnt sell.

politicians do politics. politicians cannot do business. proton sell and design cars. so let proton do that. free hand. and free proton from the hands of the government. meaning they had to survive on their own. and of course, if they lose, so, be it.

the germans started all this approximately 100 years ago. and now, they are the darlings of autoworld. we only started 20years++ and that 20 years++ is not doing business. nationalism? patriotism? don't be kidding. We are like the germans - we dont care about patriotism - we just buy what ever want regardless of the where it comes from. So, dont compare Proton with the likes of Honda and Toyota or Kia. They got people of their own to support them.

there is a growing concern that some people don't want proton to recover. dont ask me why. all i know is that Proton is sitting on a landbank worth 1 billion dollars. so, again, business middled with politics and money.

the threat starter tell stories about China sold 7 million cars a year? well, of course they can because the Chinese are more than 1 billion in population alone! and also, being Chinese, they do BUSINESS. no politics. no hanky panky. nothing. dollar and cents.

do you know, beside India and Hong Kong, China produced almost 300,000 new millionaires every year? dont know? Business Week, Feb 6, 2006. check the facts.

So, Proton, start doing business.

actually, its not all to blame on Proton. neither Proton nor Dr.Mahathir knew back in 1982 that they will face with AFTA today.

alwasy remember the basics; Proton was created with a few objectives in mind
1) to make cars more affordable to the people.
2) to get technology transfer from Japan
3) to generate good industrial growth for Malaysia

i have to agree with Dr.Mpower. Proton have to penetrate into a bigger market and take bigger risk in order to profit.
think of this

1. Indonesia 220 million population. proton cannot get 0.1% to buy?

2. Thailand 60 billion people. 0.05% perhaps??

3. India? Papua New Guinea?? Vietnam??

and yet they want to compete with strong established brands in UK and Australia. how many units they sold in UK last year?

Hmmm....very complicated and sensitive issue. Need to do more research for Proton weakness. Anyway good luck Proton.

as long the not relevant ppl keep on "ke po chi" in proton, proton will not growth up as a mature man... imagine u r 20years old but still need ppl to feed u makan , change ur cloths, pinpoith u this & that when u r healthy not cacat at all....

wat i can say leave proton alone let him growth let VW or who ever help him bcome a better man...

Hmmm....very complicated and sensitive issue. Need to do more research for Proton weakness. Anyway good luck Proton.

agreed..what we can do now is just wait and see only...
there is nothing much we can do now..:confused_smile:

Make it simple... as long there are politics in between, Proton will go no where except down the toilet.

Skoda and Seat sold their national cars to VW and today they are making a name for themselves and sold more cars than b4. Plus, QC went up so does customers' satisfaction.

In 20 years, what did Proton accomplished? Peanuts! Buying Agusta or Lotus is nothing (anyone with money can buy these companies).

Anyone still remember the very first Saga sold back in the 1985? Back then it was going for RM 17k OTR. Even at that price, QC was superb (except a few batches). A couple of years later, prices went up and QC went down. My mom's '89 Saga broke down twice in 6 months! She paid RM 25k for a brand new Saga 12V. After 9 months of ownership and numerous problems later, she decided to trade-in for a Mitsubishi Galant Super Saloon (RM 66k back then). Dealer took the car for RM 18k only.

Today, 18 years later, the Super Saloon is still around and I'm driving it.

VW partnership with Proton will bring the name back from the ashes. However, it has to be a business of making money not national interest or politicians side-business.

zan and acbc are damn correct!

it is a bit complicated - the longer they are in the business, the quality become much lesser. this is weird. but lets move on.

principally, proton can start by re-evaluating everything - cash, facilities, everything. look at the book. re-balance expenditure and sales. that way, they can see how much they are worth now.

improve quality and quantity. you are in the hurry. AFTA will not wait for anymore. if you miss the boat, then you are a goner. that saga promo is a good act. but, make sure quality is tip top. no hanky panky on this. WIN BACK CONSUMER's TRUST.

build up that trust. so that consumer will again consider proton in their buying car radars.

then, start to roll out new designs. this is crucial. make sure proton people do surveys, and see what the people on the street want. any idea, jot down. this is like school days, taking notes etc.etc. remember, proton needs to recover.

KIA did the PERFECT job - hiring top people all around the world, but since proton is cash-strapped, then they must used whatever THE BEST they've got in hand. Invite Theo or anybody for brainstorming. car designers. or they just can visit zerotohundred.com, there's a lot people with brilliant ideas here ;)

regarding Lotus. bring back lotus here. or if you are insist of lotus is in UK, then make sure the technology reach us here in the jungle of ASIA. bring a few engineers there to assist on certain project.

come on people, proton can make it up. just DO THE BUSINESS. shut the doors to these pain-in-the-arse politicians. but as you will say, cakap senang lah. well, atleast I speak out. and I hope some people out there will hear all these.

alwasy remember the basics; Proton was created with a few objectives in mind
1) to make cars more affordable to the people.
2) to get technology transfer from Japan
3) to generate good industrial growth for Malaysia

u missed the most important point lol ?

TS's article said:
What does the Government want for Proton? They want Proton to spearhead the country’s industrialisation process and at the same time, achieve income and wealth redistribution.

When it comes to business, politicians are useless... why? They only good at giving their names but hopeless in the real business. In fact, there ought to be a law banning politicians from doing or owning business. They should just serve the people and get out and smell the crap/shit.

proton just need to add turbo to the current engine sure boost the sale of national car =P

as long the not relevant ppl keep on "ke po chi" in proton, proton will not growth up as a mature man... imagine u r 20years old but still need ppl to feed u makan , change ur cloths, pinpoith u this & that when u r healthy not cacat at all....

wat i can say leave proton alone let him growth let VW or who ever help him bcome a better man...

Yeap ... spoonfeeding will make PROTON WEAK :shcokedcamo:

Last time Proton CEO used to have a major in history! How a historian do business I also don't know! I think it's all down to management. Management of funds, management of human resource and management of quality especially. Get someone efficient to head Proton and it'll turn around. Just look at MAS. In less than 2 years, from 2 million worthless paintings to profits!

Pride and Ego will keep Proton away from those ideas mentioned here to remedy our nasional car company's problems.

Do you think a baby will learn how to walk if you carry her 24 hours a day and give her what she want?

It is same with Proton in Malaysia. Everythings they want is given by government such as subsidies, and high car importing tax. So will they improve much in quality? U guess!

This proton issue has been discussed countless times already. Talk until mouth dry also no use. We can't change anything. It's up to them whether they want to exhaust the country's funds to keep proton alive. Oh wait, it's our money too!

Either way, we're screwed!