Q8 oil in B8 turbo

tonytony

guys,

Am wondering if anyone here is using Q8 oil in their turbo engine. currently using Total semi, its good for the first 3k km, and after that my HLAs would start to tick again. have heard of this oil being able to tackle this problem.
anyone here is using this Q8 oil ? any commments ?

tonytony said:
guys,

Am wondering if anyone here is using Q8 oil in their turbo engine. currently using Total semi, its good for the first 3k km, and after that my HLAs would start to tick again. have heard of this oil being able to tackle this problem.
anyone here is using this Q8 oil ? any commments ?

Hi tony,
i'm just used shell kuning 20/50w running ok.......every 3k km service.

HLA = Hydraulic Lash Adjusters aka 'tappets'...those little buggers that go tap tap tap in the morning and after idling for a couple of minutes.
specifically, i'm interested to know if this Q8 actually can help this problem for mazda engines. mitsu owners are having lots of good reviews about it.

comments pls ????

Yes, good comments from mitsu users, but different car / engine may have different outcomes. Me using it on my ae101, so far so good, can rev all the way to redlines, engine smooth and quiet only. :biggrin:

Why not give it a try. No harm at all, suggest you try Q8 advansed. Call gtr2579 aka Simon (012-6177883), he is the dealer for Q8. Good service also. :tee:

yup, i'd prob will. like you said, different engine different reactions. thanx for the contact number bro. will give simon a call soon.

but has anybody here have had this HLA problem ?? i'm pretty sure most b8 kakis sure got this problem. any advise on how you guys have solved it ???

heheheheh.....surely the tapping noise annoys you more than that batousai...
didn't it spur you take some more drastic actions ???

The tapping goes away once the car warms up, so its not that bad. If urs is really bad, maybe u shud have ur HLAs replaced.

ok , here's the verdict on Q8 oils...
changed my TOTAL semi-syn to Q8 Advance semi syn on satday :
1. VERY noticeable difference in HLA taps (improvement in tapping frequency by 70%)
2. Initially i thought the oil felt heavier, but once i w.o.t, my B8 just went ! its a feeling ive never felt since engine conversion
3. start-ups are better due to HLAs fully compressed
4. fuel consumption not sure yet as ive been revving the engine with so much fun !
5. engine is so much smoother !!

i've been having loads of fun with the engine since the oil change and i must say Q8 is really good for the mazda engine. highly recommend it for all those who;s havin the same engine.

tonytony, lozo,
how much the q8 advance?

i wondering where i can get it at mlc. anyone know?

im using TOP 1 semi....any comment bout this brand....??? RM 90...
any1 used it b4...???
i used it for almost 15000 km...
previous oil i never change for 7 months n over 5000km....coz i totally forgot to change....one thing funny....no tapping sound....i juz changed new one 2 weeks ago....the oil tat came out when i c... it was totally unbelivable.....fu*cking thick, smelly n black...

eerrr... so far i've tried few grade of MOTUL Full Synthetic, it's really good... no HLA's ticking, service every 5,000Km, even my gear oil also using MOTUL, i saw 2 MME track cars after their race, open up the gear box and it's clean!!! one of the car was last year's race, clean!~~~ cheers ~~~

heard from somewhere Q8 doesn't tahan panas....
wonder how true is that........

who got contacts for the brand "Royal Purple"
Seems alot of ppl is converting to that brand..

bought mine at sky zone in new business center taman mayang mas, but think you can get them anywhere in sunway.

isn;t royal purple an expensive oil ? do you knw how much for 4litres semi ?

i think around the same price as Q8 also...
but never really seen royal purple in the stall...
ok; regarding Q8; I think a lot of forumers sells in zth. ALso it's available in Eunos