Rally style handbrake ....

must ask the supplier if it's compatible

hey, i don't sell it ya, i'm just sharing info on this...

last i checked, for the same kit, WRC Motorsports sold it for RM800, and another place down the road sold the same thing for RM1500!!!!

so RM600 (for ALCON brake pump) is pretty good deal me think :D

i definately need to go look at the complete kit and see what's needed to make it compatible (since it's a Plug and play kit for Protons)

ninja..

is this thing compatible with disc & drum brakes as well?
running drum brakes now at my back.. maybe in the future
I would be running discs.. for $600 i think its quite ok for
something that can make your car turn 360 ... lol!

stanley... do inform me on the complete pricing and installation for my car. plug and play sounds good.

it will completely replace the ebrake cable right? that means even when i'm parking i will be using this right? but does this require the engine to be started to function (like the normal hydraulic brakes where u need the hydraulic compression)?

okie: this is wat i understand from the use of this la:

the input brake lines (metal) from the brake pump that goes the rear (got 2, left and right for most cars. Cars like Kancil got one rear input only) is severed and a joint is made there.
the stainless steel braided hose is then fitted onto this input line, and the other end of the hose is stuffed into the ALCON brake pump's input. (usually only 1-in-1-out)

THEN we stuff another stainless steel hose into the pump's output, and this hose is then fitted to the original other end of the severed input brake line (to the rear)

SO:
in normal use, the pedal brake will activate the front AND rear brakes like normal, where the pressure from the front would just pass thru all the stuff stated above, and your brakes will work NORMALLY.

BUT:
during rally-autocross-autokhana style hand-brake turns, you yank the h/b handle, this time NOT the cable trying it's best to lock the brakes (drum OR disc) BUT now it's the brake fluid pumping the brake piston to work the brakes.
so the braking force is much much greater now.

if your rear wheel doesn't lock after all this, methinks you guys been using super-soft SLICKS for your REAR and you didn't know it! :D :D :D

hmm i'm not sure if i get it.

so I think its like this according to ur explanation

from master brake pump------------>+ALCON----------rear brakes

so its a pass through the ALCON brake pump. issit? ok. so that means there's a one way valve in the ALCON to close the connection to the master brake pump at the ">+" symbol so that all braking force from the ALCON ebrakes goes to the rear when it is pulled. however when the main brakes are depressed, the valve opens (coz is in the direction towards the rear brakes) and the brake fluid can flow to the rear brakes.

am i right ar? or wrong?

btw, sounds interesting tho. count me in if your gonna check it out.

guys

the 'ALCON' pump is actually just like your brake pump, just that instead of 4 outputs (for 4 wheels) this has only 1 output, just like Proton's clutch pump.

MetalZone,
yea, that's how the diagram looks like..

the ALCON brake pump is activated in this case, by having something connected from the h/b to PRESS (like your brake pedal in front) onto the pump cylinder.

So there's a mechanical connection from the hand-brake lever to press onto the brake pump le. Of course the pump is securely fastened to the floor.

a nice about this is:

during normal parking, the brake guaranteed very makan :) :D

a nice about this is:

during normal parking, the brake guaranteed very makan :) :D

I have hydraulic handbrake in my car :)

http://images8.fotki.com/v107/photos/1/12090/1208626/PICT0662-vi.jpg

hydraulic brake

hello...
may i know where to buy and how much...?
hehehe
interested...

A word of caution to those who think they can replaced the cable handbrake with the hydraulic one. The cable handbrake's use must not be removed or disabled, use
the cable handbrake when the vehicle is parked !!. Here is a senario, suppose the
vehicle is parked with the use of the hydraulic handbrake only, the chances of
a hydraulic system failure is there and when this happens the vehicle is free to roll.
The addition of the hydraulic handbrake would be good for drifting or rallying but
please do not remove or diable the cable handbrake and use it when vehicle is
parked.

Engaged in gear when parked is ok but it would be inconvenient for those turbo'ed
cars with turbo timers.