Rev limits.. how much B16A's one actually is

shiroitenshi said:
If rod is 200mm, and stroke is 100mm (theoretically lah, rounded numbers easier to count) then the rod is considered long rod..

long rod is confusing. it should be long/high rod - stroke ratio. the rod-stroke relationship is like the bore - stroke. this rod - stroke ratio has to do with the piston speed, piston acceleration, dwell time and flame propagation. anyways, nice discussion. :regular_smile:

You should check out honda-tech.. the argument still going on.. depends on where you want the power I guess.

-->shorter rods are used on longer strokes. long stroke, shorter rpm, more torque. eg. drag racing

-->longer rods are used on shorter strokes. short stroke, high rpm, less torque. eg. endurance racing

shiroitenshi said:
You should check out honda-tech.. the argument still going on.. depends on where you want the power I guess.

can paste the link here?
who knows maybe i can solve their argument.... hahahahha

hattech-v said:
can paste the link here?
who knows maybe i can solve their argument.... hahahahha

use their search function lah. I'm too lazy too look.. just back from TT, replying mails while looking at zth forum.

Thing is.. how long is long rod ratio? How short is short rod ratio.. that one also cannot decide.

For me... depend on make... honda always run 1.74 (B16A) and below. So can say that this engine is the long rod engine (at least for hondas)

Other makes most run higher rs ratio I think... not sure.. not really into other makes..

arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh napiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!!!!

keep the car at home better, make sour pickles. ( direct translation : simpan kat rumah buat jeruk sudah woi..hahahah)

HanafyEG said:
drag and torque...i like...hehehe

J101 said:
-->shorter rods are used on longer strokes. long stroke, shorter rpm, more torque. eg. drag racing

-->longer rods are used on shorter strokes. short stroke, high rpm, less torque. eg. endurance racing

not so true. lisa kubo's civic turbo has got long rod-stroke ratio. some other honda all-motors dragsters deck their block to get longer rod-stroke ratio.

i was just mentioning the basic idea. dun wanna get ppl mixed up with the advance american racing technology.

zaki said:
not so true. lisa kubo's civic turbo has got long rod-stroke ratio. some other honda all-motors dragsters deck their block to get longer rod-stroke ratio.

Now you know why the americans cannot agree on what is long or short rod ratio.. some go short, and still sucessful, some go long and also sucessful..

In other words... depends on engine builderlah!

The unofficial agreement seems to be 1.6 thereabouts (according to my mech friend) as a middle ground, although from the net, 1.7 thereabouts is also considered middle ground, with anything higher being considered long rods.

mie...u wanna study all these to make ur car faster aaaa??
urs already very fast no one can beat man, btw like one of the discussion here, ppl make long also win, ppl use short also win, so very difficult to say which one is better.

all these runs back to basic engine construction, in overall which is the better one for every engine depends on the builder and what you want the engine be used for.

nice discussion though, very technical

aiyaaa... dun say like that... how come my car unbeatable... still consider slow ride laa....
btw, i'm gonna find out n learn about this short n long... just for the sake of getting more knowledge n then i can share it with my friends... :)

Since I'm planning to make a B20 as well. I think the stock B20B rod length is way too short.. that's why the bottom end is so powerful.. up to the point people have to change gearing. I think using a longer rs ratio would help move the power up a bit... so it'll be just nice with the stock y21 gearing, with the FD ratio increased by using bigger tire size, or simply dumping wider tires in..

Just a thought though.. it's expensive to find out, but the theory is sound, I think.

If you think there's something wrong with the idea.. feel free to shoot me down..