Rev limits.. how much B16A's one actually is

yes you are correct poji...
for mine slow b16a engine I only rev till 8K rpm only coz no point you rev till 9K coz the torque will be drop

you forgot to mention that most engine blow at 9K oso... ROFL!

Cannot rev high due to issues with valve floatlah.. that's why need springs and retainers.. they move so fast they tend to vibrate. Miss the seats and bye bye compression!

Rev high is okay only if you have long rod and short stroke engine (and don't lift the valves very high, like those motorcycle/mesin rumput (lawnmower) engine.

My friend CBR redlines at 15K. (O_o)

Stiffer valve spring means that the valves will return back to their seat faster, as when going at extremely high rpm, the valve doesn't follow the cam profile (start to float), so they will vibrate badly and miss the valve seats.

That's why theres a limit to how many rpm you can run.. It's a limit of physics.

As for not losing power at high rpm.. I don't get what you mean.. Depends on combos, I guess.

shiroitenshi said:
Rev high is okay only if you have long rod and short stroke engine (and don't lift the valves very high, like those motorcycle/mesin rumput (lawnmower) engine.

shiroitenshi, i couldn't get your point of long rod and short stroke engines

yours different coz internal already changed... but mine still standard!!

hattech-v said:
some engine the torque n hp still increase at 9k... hehe

i'm asking oni... if i can get what i'm expecting then barula pi tukar.... aiyaa...
now all oso standard laa...

hattech-v said:
i'm asking oni... if i can get what i'm expecting then barula pi tukar.... aiyaa...
now all oso standard laa...

hak tuuuiiii ........

hehehehe................

lozo said:
shiroitenshi, i couldn't get your point of long rod and short stroke engines

You can probably google up the terms.. but depends on each person I guess.. some people say B16A is also under short rod category, while some say it's under long rod category.

But when me and my friends talk about short/long rods...
Long rod is when the rod is significantly longer than stroke.. almost twice the length of stroke. So for us, B16A is considered the shortest of the long rod category (universally speaking).

Short rod is when we talk about B20B and B18C conrods.. which is 1.5 times (about there) longer than the stroke.

The stroke determines the categorisation of the rod.

If rod is 200mm, and stroke is 100mm (theoretically lah, rounded numbers easier to count) then the rod is considered long rod..

But still different people have different views.. like Jun EK9. He says that B16A is a short rod.. but for me and my friends that only specifically concentrate on honda engines.. the B16A is has largest rod/stroke ratio in the honda B-series line.

So for me and my friends.. it's a shortest form long rod/stroke ratio.... universally, (if you include other engine from other makers) sometimes it's considered short rod engine. (still arguable.. and can argue till morning if you meet with other honda engine maniacs) Depends on magazines/people you meet.
1.74 some considered long, some consider 1.80+ long.. but for honda... it's the biggest rod stroke ratio you can get in the B-series, and that's why it takes higher revs quite gracefully (not gila high revs)

My friend also says that a long rod engines has very poor bottom end power.. and driving mine and my friends car.. I see this to be true.

The rod isn't short based on it's length, hattech.
The B18CR has a longer rod than B16A, but considered short rod/stroke ratio engine, since it has a bigger stroke as well.

hattech-v said:
shiro, any figure for that? mean in number...

*digs through his pile of HT mags*
I'm PMming it to you.
Too lazy to retype.. read yourself. Since this from magazine.. don't take 100%.. still best measure the things yourself.. can use as guide only. It's good that the American mag retain the measurement unit.. if converted, sure all the numbers way off already. Those decimal points in the conversion formula not 100% accurate also if they convert. It's something to watch for when you read magazines using imperial measurements, and you convert back to metric.

Kena before, so now I know better.

Anyway.. I've heard people still experimenting with various honda rods and cranks into B20B.. if you learn something, don't forget to share! I'm wondering which stock honda crank and rod would make a great combo for power in the B20.

hattech-v said:
C32B crank in B20B will be a nice setup perhaps... kekekkek

What? And shave the block? I wonder if you can even clear the sump! and not forgetting.. can the rod cope or not? After that rod too short! ROFL!

hattech-v said:
haha... maybe someone here can try that setup...kekekkeke....
btw, thanx for the info via pm....

Don't kedekut ilmulah.. don't worry.. you'll never see me at the dragstrip one.. racing fuel is too bloody expensive!