Review: Q8 Oils

rattan said:
I think the marketing team for Q8 have to work harder, I have been inquiring where to get this oil for my ride previously and have been days since I got reply where to get it, furthermore no one got back to me with the retail price for this engine oil. Maybe one way of Q8 production team to secure its database of customers is advertising the correct price of where the end user enjoys. In this way the customers are educated with the retail price they get and cut throats can be avoided.

Please consider the approciate.

U have enquired??? I did give my ph number inside the thread...as i myself is unable to be online frequently because due to the limited facility internet in my area....so if u wanna get the oils...do ask me.....ok

Im very sure u will get the oils........thanx

aircooled said:
more questions

1. Any reason for the increase? because other brand also increase or because Q8 in Leeds also increased the price?

2. Or is it the distributor, i am not sure who and which is the official one, having seen the oil is getting more popular, trying to make more profit?

3. RM43- to RM45? why the RM2 difference? where does the difference come from? what is the cost of the F1. Does the Rm1 and Rm3 difference go to the so called independent suppliers?

4. How bout T670 5-40. How much is it officially for 4 litres? I am paying Rm145. Some are selling for RM149.

5. i used to buy the Q8 coolant for Rm20. Now i am payign RM25 and there are some shops selling for RM27 just because it is a "PERFORMANCE" ITEM.

i am really pissed off with these type of business attitude. If it is RM43 it will be RM43 and I personally see no reason why the other shop should charge RM45. i have seen people charging RM46 a litre as well.

these bastards can go to hell.

EXCUSE ME !!! Mr aircooled.......

I think u are having a rough day assorting this matter.......
Prices that u see and that u get are prices quoted long ago.....of course prices of oil including petrol will increased too ......I dont simply sell items that is quoted to me cheap...i sell what has been suggested by the main supplier

As i said before, Q8 is not MADE LOCALLY, and its fully imported.....
There are many factor prices are increased:

1. U.K's currency (world currency) is subject to be variable from time to time
2. The prices of oil around the world
3. Importing it by paying duty tax and etc.

So u cant just simply blame the distributor nor the dealers around u. These prices are controlled

As u see MR AIRCOOLED......in Malaysia there are many companies that produces lubricant oil and they are also facing these types of problems.........

If the prices of base oils are up, then the manufacturer has no choice but to increase the prices in order to maintain their production capacity........

So be wise.....dont hate. Thank you.

Just my own opinion and experience.

Vtecdome,

1. yes, everybody knows Q8 is an imported product. Can you tell me what is the pounds sterling rate for now and last year exactly? I am using pounds because i am assuming the oils are bottled there (lEEDS) and we are importing directly from there as well. i can tell you it is much lower now and of course, there are still many factors contributing to the raise as you had mentioned.

2. i am not blaming the distributor, i just want a good price and not everybody around me telling me different prices.yes, i understand your prob as a dealer vtecdome. as i had also said, i am very happy with the oil.

3. just go to the shops in sunway and try asking a few other shops what the prices are..

so, anybody mind telling me the official distributor or supplier of the Q8 oils? sorry for the dealers, but i am going direct this time even if they are selling the same price as the so called private dealers.

yes, i am aware there are a lot of ZTH members and autoworld members who are actually dealers.

honestly i urge other users for this oil to be cautious and be very careful when it comes to the pricing of the oil. This oil is getting very popular due to the quality and price. I can predict some party out there will be trying to make a quick buck somehow or rather.

as vtec dome said, be wise. it things get out of hand, we as consumers need to do somethin and not simply give in.

Price increase is fine, i understand that, even the Mobil 1 is well over a Rm200 now, I have also a feeling the Q8 will eventually be more expensive than Mobil 1 even. but that is not the issue here. Oil prices will only go up NEVER down. i can live with the increase BUT THE

POINT IS why A sells for Rm43 , B sells for Rm44 , C sells for RM46 and D sells for Rm47????

From who and where?

aircooled said:
Vtecdome,

1. yes, everybody knows Q8 is an imported product. Can you tell me what is the pounds sterling rate for now and last year exactly? I am using pounds because i am assuming the oils are bottled there (lEEDS) and we are importing directly from there as well. i can tell you it is much lower now and of course, there are still many factors contributing to the raise as you had mentioned.

2. i am not blaming the distributor, i just want a good price and not everybody around me telling me different prices.yes, i understand your prob as a dealer vtecdome. as i had also said, i am very happy with the oil.

3. just go to the shops in sunway and try asking a few other shops what the prices are..

so, anybody mind telling me the official distributor or supplier of the Q8 oils? sorry for the dealers, but i am going direct this time even if they are selling the same price as the so called private dealers.

yes, i am aware there are a lot of ZTH members and autoworld members who are actually dealers.

honestly i urge other users for this oil to be cautious and be very careful when it comes to the pricing of the oil. This oil is getting very popular due to the quality and price. I can predict some party out there will be trying to make a quick buck somehow or rather.

as vtec dome said, be wise. it things get out of hand, we as consumers need to do somethin and not simply give in.

Price increase is fine, i understand that, even the Mobil 1 is well over a Rm200 now, I have also a feeling the Q8 will eventually be more expensive than Mobil 1 even. but that is not the issue here. Oil prices will only go up NEVER down. i can live with the increase BUT THE

POINT IS why A sells for Rm43 , B sells for Rm44 , C sells for RM46 and D sells for Rm47????

From who and where?

Aircooled, by the way what kind of product are you importing from U.K?? Im sorry i believe iam unable to answer the last years exchange rate for pounds sterling...

I want to inform you that I am one of the official distributors here in K.L

For some dealers, as u said the oils are getting more and more popular, they tend to take advantage of the situation...and as i have asked my supplier, and he told me that the price will be stable and he once mentioned to me not to put the price lower....

Maybe some of the dealers bought the product at the old price, and did not enquire or get the new price list from the supplier.

I understand that u are concerned with this matter Aircooled, just be cool, im very sure everything is going to be under control.

Thank you for your wise and useful comment aircooled, if u are interested to buy the oils, then u can contact me...i'll be glad to supply it to you.....Thank you.

Hello vtecdome, thank you for your reply.

Sorry, typo error, it should have read you import instead of we. No, i am not running any business importing from UK or anything. However, i do once in awhile import some engine parts from the UK & US, most of the time , relied on my pilot friend to bring back fo me. yes, the exchange rate exactly this time of the year last year was higher than now for pounds sterling. It was approximately about 7.1

Very cool and good to hear that you are the official distributor in KL. No worries, you will be contacted soon if i still fail to get the oils for the good price i am after.

Yes, I once bought 3 x 4 litres of Q8F1, 2 x 4 litres of T670, coolants at the same time from a "dealer". Seeing the quantity a lot more than my usual list, he asked me who is it the oil is for, i mentioned that some are for my friend to try out in his turbocharged car - a Subaru. Immediately he asked me to sell a few ringgit higher and told me not to spoil the market. Sadly, i never returned to him after that. I never liked those practises. Instead, after that, i just got it from the normal shops.

Really glad you mentioned everything is under control. Hopefully can stop those greedy dealers. Thank you.

aircooled said:
Hello vtecdome, thank you for your reply.

Sorry, typo error, it should have read you import instead of we. No, i am not running any business importing from UK or anything. However, i do once in awhile import some engine parts from the UK & US, most of the time , relied on my pilot friend to bring back fo me. yes, the exchange rate exactly this time of the year last year was higher than now for pounds sterling. It was approximately about 7.1

Very cool and good to hear that you are the official distributor in KL. No worries, you will be contacted soon if i still fail to get the oils for the good price i am after.

Yes, I once bought 3 x 4 litres of Q8F1, 2 x 4 litres of T670, coolants at the same time from a "dealer". Seeing the quantity a lot more than my usual list, he asked me who is it the oil is for, i mentioned that some are for my friend to try out in his turbocharged car - a Subaru. Immediately he asked me to sell a few ringgit higher and told me not to spoil the market. Sadly, i never returned to him after that. I never liked those practises. Instead, after that, i just got it from the normal shops.

Really glad you mentioned everything is under control. Hopefully can stop those greedy dealers. Thank you.

Aircooled, thank you for your concerned and advice regarding this matter, at least it gives the dealers and end users some sense of awareness of the market. Please dont hesitate to give me a call, and hopefully u will recieve the product on time........

Again thank you.....

evo5229 said:
normal price for Q8F1 how much.....thankss.. :tee:
Evo5229,

Q8 F1 10w/50 4 liters Rm 180.00

thanx....to confirm pls call me
0129126149 (zul)

Im a distributor for Q8 oils....

i just bought a bottle of Q8 T650 semi-syn 10W40 at Eneos, 1U.
Initially i thought only one type of Q8 semi-syn in M'sia, but suddenly i did notice Q8 ADVANCED semi-syn, also 10W40, but priced RM10 higher.

May i know what's the different between T650 and ADVANCED? used for different type of car?

OK, so it is RM45 a litre from the distributor itself.

Am in KL for christmas. Today went shoppin a little. went to a shop and saw the price tag for the Q8 F1 was written RM180.00. After some negotiations, I bought the bottle for RM174.
Mayb old stock ??

Also went to some distributor for Chemlube Oils. Looks like price remained unchanged and seemed more consistent. can't remember the exact pricing for all 3 diff visco, but that were the prices since last year....around RM42 to RM44 a litre. I remember this very clearly because last year this was the factor i chose Q8 because it was cheaper.

It seemed to me that Q8 prices went UP but not Chemlube. is Chemlube not subjected to all the duties like Q8?

Other competitors include

Redline - RM60 a litre
Motul - yet to find out
Royal Purple - was told RM45 a litre as well

something to think about.

Found this in the other thread.

Q8Oils - Extreme Performance Motor Oil
Made In England

Q8Oils Retail Price List*(Oct 2005)

Motor Oil
Q8 Formula F1 10w-50 / Fully Syn 1 liter_RM46.00
Q8 Formula F1 10w-50 / Fully Syn 4 liter_RM180.00 (+RM3 get 1 Proton oil filter)
Q8 Formula Excel 5w-40 / Fully Syn 4 liter_RM159.00 (+RM3 get 1 Proton oil filter)
Q8 Formula Advanced 10w-40 / Semi Syn 4 liter_RM96.00 (+RM3 get 1 Proton oil filter)
Q8 T670 5w-40 / Fully Syn 1 liter_RM37.50
Q8 T670 5w-40 / Fully Syn 4 liter_RM149.00 (+RM3 get 1 Proton oil filter)
Q8 T650 10w-40 / Semi Syn 4 liter_RM86.00 (+RM3 get 1 Proton oil filter)
Q8 T630 5w-30 / Semi Syn 4 liter_RM99.00 (+RM3 get 1 Proton oil filter)
Q8 Formula Plus 15w-40 / Mineral 4 liter_RM55.00 (+RM3 get 1 Proton oil filter)
Q8 Formula Plus Diesel 15w-40 / Mineral 4 liter_RM54.00
Q8 10w-30 / mineral 1 litter_RM13.00 (For kancil)

Gear Oil
Q8 T65 Gear Oil 75w-90 / Fully Syn 4 liter_RM185.00
Q8 T55 Gear Oil 80w-90 / Mineral 1 liter_RM22.50
Q8 T55 Gear Oil 80w-90 / Mineral 4 liter_RM86.00
Q8 T45 LSD Gear Oil SAE 90 / Mineral 1 liter_RM35.00
Q8 T35 Gear Oil 80w-90 / Mineral 1 liter_RM20.00
Q8 Auto 15 ATF Dexron III / Mineral 1 liter_RM26.50
Q8 Auto 15 ATF Dexron III / Mineral 4 liter_RM99.00
Q8 Auto 15 ED ATF Dexron III / Semi Syn 25/1 liter_RM35.00

Others
Q8 Coolant Ethylena Glycol 1 litter_RM25.00
Q8 Brake Fluid Dot 4 1 liter_RM30.00

Please contact : 012 6177 883 (Simon)
Email : [email protected]
Location : Kepong - Selayang - PJ - Subang - Teknology Park Malaysia

*utpate 1 Oct

looks like the Q8 F1 retail price is RM46 a litre. That is about Rm6 jump a litre since the last 6-7 months.

hawick said:
i just bought a bottle of Q8 T650 semi-syn 10W40 at Eneos, 1U.
Initially i thought only one type of Q8 semi-syn in M'sia, but suddenly i did notice Q8 ADVANCED semi-syn, also 10W40, but priced RM10 higher.

May i know what's the different between T650 and ADVANCED? used for different type of car?

hawick,

i'm using the semi Advance now, and my mileage is already 4k km. I still feel the power, especially during low revs, better response. I'm due to change when it gets 5k km. But i still feel the power as if the oil was serviced yesterday......

if price wasnt an issue...

whats the best Q8 for a V6 ?

just my opinion, i am assuming you are talking about a NA V6.

First of all i would suggest refering to your Owner's manual.

I personally would go for the 5W-40 T670 or Excel (Grey Bottle)

F1 in my opinion, is a little to thick. i personally see no reason to use a heavier oil than necessary.

My car has about 140,000km using also 5W-40 and so far luck has been on my side, zero oil consumption.

Not sure about turbo-charged models though.