Rim cracked

popcorn

I need some advise from u all guys...... On 20 Jun 2006 i have bought a set of 15" recond sportrim + tyres at gombak for RM500 after trade in with my current 16" BSA sport rim + tyres. They said the 15" rim is imported rim from taiwan but made from japan. But after i use that rim for not more than 1 month the rim cracked at 1 of the spoke. After do some checking, i spotted rework area at the crack spoke. So, what can i do to fix that problem..... Or i should claim for warranty from the shop. Really need ur advice guys...

that's the prob when buying recond rims, try argue with them n change all sets if not possible, claim for repair, if i were u once the rim is cracked, it's not strong anymore regardless of how good the repair is, so change is the best solution....

go back to de shop n claim for warranty bro.. it's not ur fault.. they cheated on u..

Bro Kennethfong, i oso think like u thought. once the rim is cracked the strenght of the rim is not good enought anymore. but change to other will cost me alot unless the shop want to be responsible.

[s]UpErNoVa said:
go back to de shop n claim for warranty bro.. it's not ur fault.. they cheated on u..

:cry_smile: ye lor..... i felt cheated...... :baring_teeth:

u can try to make noise with them....but i don't think they will responsible on that...
just 2 cents...

make LOTS of noise... :biggrin: bring your friends all along with u. make a scene. be nice at first, but if they dun wanna take responsibility then raise ur voice abit la. Then later before leaving take picture of the shop outside n threaten u'll take it to the media... come on dun takut. u the one kena cheated.. (if its true la bout the redone crack mark on the rims as u said)

They'll definitely give you a hundred excuse if you go back to them. They'll probably say it was good when they sold to you and probably blame you for cracking the rims. Yeah, i agree that if you go alone they won't give a damn. Bring a bunch of guys, like 2 or 3, maybe 4. Talk slowly and nicely to them. When things gets worst, make a scene(not fight ok!) and take down particulars of the shop or even take pictures.

No amount of patch work can fix a broken rim. The strength is not there anymore. Rims are forged or even molded, so welding will not fix the rim, plus, its not balanced anymore so do not even accept if the shop offers to fix it.

try reason with them lar, it's really unfair coz u just used the rim for just 1 week, u gotta think of any counter reasons from them, such as: u aledi know the rims is recond not brand new and many other unexpected arguments....

threaten them with ur consumer's rights, establish a fact that u heard them telling u that the rim although is used and recond but in good condition n to be used as a roadworthy rims, but hello one week of usage does not fall into this definition, use ur rights against them, tell them it's misrepresentation of statements....

juz like all bro said, try claim n change it asap, quite danger if still use the rim,

is tht crack or break whn drive the car.....:emoticon_U:

claim back at all cost. at least, get a replacement FOC.

otherwise, throw the rim away. DONT JEOPARDISE YOUR LIFE!

cars have spare parts, we dont.

After read all u guys advice, yesterday i went back to the shop. i told them that my rim that i bought from their shop was cracked after used not more that 1 month. i show them the cracked spoke and oso the reworked area that i've spotted. and then they agreed to change a new 1 without any additional cost... thanx guys for all ur advice..... without ur advices maybe i have buy another sportrim and bare the cost. TQ to all and oso zth

popcorn said:
After read all u guys advice, yesterday i went back to the shop. i told them that my rim that i bought from their shop was cracked after used not more that 1 month. i show them the cracked spoke and oso the reworked area that i've spotted. and then they agreed to change a new 1 without any additional cost... thanx guys for all ur advice..... without ur advices maybe i have buy another sportrim and bare the cost. TQ to all and oso zth

good for you!

treat us pop corn lah..1 big bucket!!

the secret is - never buy sport rims that had been sprayed. coz every damage or repairs will be hidden out of sight and our knowledge.

good to hear that u've got it settled ! mwahahahaa... i was hoping for the fast n furious scene where they always arrive in many cars in front of the shop .. wahahahahahaha