rotary engines

elainenicklaus

hi guys
im back.
izzit true that rotary engine has high fuel consumption?
n izzit necessary for rotary engines to use 'cool' spark plugs to gain the efficiency n to maintain the engine for longer life span?
n izzit true that a rotary engine need to change their spark plugs every 15k?
n y can a 1.3 rotor engine can produce 220 hp?

yeah, Rotaries have a comparatively higher F/C compared to piston engines.

for more information, you could ask the RE Club Malaysia. they have a thread in ZTH as well.

by theory, a single cycle of 2 rotary piston produced as much spark as a single cycle of a V12 engine.
HOW?
a rotary with epitrochoid shape has 3 surfaces with 3 combustion chamber. in one cycle of crankshaft it's equivalent to 3 cylinder spark. multiply by 2 rotaries mean 6 sparks.

BUT!

remember any 4 stroke engines need the crankshaft rotating twice to complete a full cycle. therefore if rotary engines rotate twice, its same to a 12 cylinder engines.

elaine,
post your question at Rotary Engine club Malaysia, you will get the correct answer from all RX-7, RX-8 Rotary owner.

Rotary Engine club Malaysia
http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/forumdisplay.php?f=90

just remember, dun compare RE FC with normal car, you will get flame.
they will tell you, "RX-7 is a sport car, dun compare sport car FC with a road car" or
"if FC is your major concern, don't get a RE"

try to browse the threads in the forum, i think someone else ask the question before.
All the best.

elainenicklaus said:
3 surfaces..
izzit the so called '3 flank'?

u can call it anything, it remain same. :D

btw i agree with black samurai. try not to bring up subjects which had been discussed earlier. :D:D cheerss..

Full Tank RM120 Urban Driving Total 380KM
H'Way Driving Total 530KM

And yup do a search. this question asked sooo many times already.;)

Rotary

Read the stuff here : http://auto.howstuffworks.com/rotary-engine.htm

That's how rotary engine works....it's more efficient but the maintenance is higher (at least in Msia).

I always love RX series, but the lack of support and maintenance always kill my buying decision for it. Haihhhhhhh

phat7 said:
Full Tank RM120 Urban Driving Total 380KM
H'Way Driving Total 530KM

And yup do a search. this question asked sooo many times already.;)

WWWWHHHHOOOOOAAAAA!!!!! kao kao wei! but then again if i could afford it, i'd definitely get one too hehe! n ya lor can't really b too fuel consumption minded if ur looking into grabbing a per4mance engine/car etc...