Rx-8 Engine swap

3riple-D, care to share wat's the power that mazda claimed and what was the actual??

3riple-D said:
it is not that it's underpowered but the power was below manufacturer's claims which ended up in a re-call in USA.

not too sure, some mazda associated people told me while i was in Aus but i didn't ask them wat was the actual power and the claim

maybe you can search the internet ;)

The claim HP on engine is 250hp..... But dyno results show that the engine doesnt have that much power (220hp-230hp)..... Therefore Mazda offers buy back you're not happy with it.... I can understand wats Americans thinking.... They are too familiar with V8 and turbo cars...... which is cheap over there...

but wonder did Mazda ever tried to tune up the engine after the call back....i supposed with consumer rights so "big" over there, they would most probably make sure that the next batches that goes out hits 250bhp.

the beauty of the car is the engine placement ( front-mid engine)and the balance of the car, hence cornering speed is also very high....

if you want a high power car go for a skyline or an evo

why would u even consider a piston engine on it??????

defeats the purpose of the car.....

mazda enigneers spent so much time and research to build the car,seriously u think that transplanting a sr20 would a better choice????

heh i think the thread starter loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeees the mazda rx8 body chassis somuch but wana a piton engine type? love the looks but not the engine..

anyway if u manage to get an rx8 n plonk in the SR20 do please tell us the results..

kai_rel said:
heh i think the thread starter loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeees the mazda rx8 body chassis somuch but wana a piton engine type? love the looks but not the engine..

anyway if u manage to get an rx8 n plonk in the SR20 do please tell us the results..

I had seen some FC with SR20DET but certaintly not as powerful as FD...

kai_rel said:

right on the spot bro. finally somone understood.

now why dun u put B8 210 engine to ur rx8 haha.. still mazda what..

mazda + nissan = mazsan.! haha

I tot Vipers are V10's, didnt know vipers raced in 1991 and I tot vipers raced in GT category and not Group C.

3riple-D said:
dude, you must be crazy! If you're really going to swap an engine than my best recommendation is to get a complete rebuilt rotary turbo engine ... a good rebuilt race spec FD engine will do. In USA they have a rx8 drag car running with a 20b 3 rotor turbo engine. Please dun put a piston engine into the rx8, it practicaly will screw everything up and you might end up with something WORST than b4!

And just a small correction;
The Mazda rotary that entered the Le Mans is a 4rotor, not 3 rotor :)

The mazda 4 rotor car was SO-SO fast that NOBODY could even come close to them, not even the V8 vipers. Aparently they are always so far ahead in the race (like 6 - 7 laps ahead) that they had time to stop the car in the pit stop to wash the car so that it will look good when it crosses the finishing line and still win 1st place! I'm serious!! I got this info from one of their ex-pit crew while i was in Australia.

Aparently also that because they kept winning without a fight, every other car makes started complaining and finally the Mazda 4 rotor car was banned from the Le Mans race and the car was placed in a Muzium!