S.S.O 5.5 D1GP : Bkt Jalil

anyone else have any video clip of the drift event?i wish someone have recorded the scene where the drift king and drift master drift together one...really like it man...anyone mind to share?

Man da event was bad...i mean on managment side laa.but the drift wass alll guud!..except for some laa where an s13 makan billboard and hachiroku turn turtle..bring my digi cam..man! cd pulak full!! so got 2 take onli pictures laa...all the drift action till the finale between the hachiroku and the ke71!!!..errr some girls pics 2...errr...ppl gf 2..hehehehe...

i went to de event on saturday, sadly only can reach thr around 6pm after drift king & kazama performs... :cry_smile: bcos of my gf's convo... sigh...

i might b few of those lucky ones tat i manage to shake hand with Keiichi Tsuchiya and got his autograph :regular_smile:. but i do think this event is not really well organised, but then i do 'giv them a chance', hope de next time when D1 really starts in malaysia, we can hav a proper area for de show, then we'll comment again.
im not sure whether any of u (senior members) read wat i posted long long time ago, i did posted in de forums telling ppl "i found a place for drifting!!!", & de place i mentioned is the SSO & drifting u guys saw last weekend. :)

my comment, de track is 'dangerous', especially de part beside "hutan" as de commentators (i agree with de commentators are rude, especially de 1 keep laughing 'muahahahaha... muahahahaha....' tat 1, its annoying) said, cos u can see all those drifters slow down cos of de bumpy area, they cant speed up! & few of them even crashed!!! so, i think R3 need to at least make de track a proper 1, as Tsuchiya said, drifters need to speed up (full speed) b4 entering grip 1 (if not mistaken, green flag). & most of de drifters cannot speed up i think is bcos of the 'bumpy area at de starting area.

2nd, safety issue. i think they shud hav more 'tyres' & 'cushions' beside de track, if any of u follow Option D1GP videos, u will see theres a track they organise beside a train station (sorry i forgot wat track name is tat), they hav tyres & cushions all around the track. & spectators are (most importantly) ALL SITTING, bout 20ft away from de track. & everyone sits well & can view cars starts from they ran out & went in, not like us, some of us need to 'stand on chairs', 'stand on tiang', 'climb pokok'... sigh... sad.

& 3rd, even de organiser cant build so many chairs around the track, they at least prepare a projector maa... put at de right hand side of judges (where behind is de road), i think the area is where 90% of spectators can see lo. jus bcos there are trees, tats y no ppl stand thr lo.

hope tat D1 starts soon... im eagerly waiting for it... hope u guys enjoy de show like i did. cheers...

So seems like some one shitted his pant after a joy ride with Keiichi.
http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/3623/pict05108ir.jpg

hahahah! wat the heck was he doing?

btw..the event was good with the king and all that...but it was badly planned.

reedoor said:
i went to de event on saturday, sadly only can reach thr around 6pm after drift king & kazama performs... :cry_smile: bcos of my gf's convo... sigh...

i might b few of those lucky ones tat i manage to shake hand with Keiichi Tsuchiya and got his autograph :regular_smile:. but i do think this event is not really well organised, but then i do 'giv them a chance', hope de next time when D1 really starts in malaysia, we can hav a proper area for de show, then we'll comment again.
im not sure whether any of u (senior members) read wat i posted long long time ago, i did posted in de forums telling ppl "i found a place for drifting!!!", & de place i mentioned is the SSO & drifting u guys saw last weekend. :)

my comment, de track is 'dangerous', especially de part beside "hutan" as de commentators (i agree with de commentators are rude, especially de 1 keep laughing 'muahahahaha... muahahahaha....' tat 1, its annoying) said, cos u can see all those drifters slow down cos of de bumpy area, they cant speed up! & few of them even crashed!!! so, i think R3 need to at least make de track a proper 1, as Tsuchiya said, drifters need to speed up (full speed) b4 entering grip 1 (if not mistaken, green flag). & most of de drifters cannot speed up i think is bcos of the 'bumpy area at de starting area.

2nd, safety issue. i think they shud hav more 'tyres' & 'cushions' beside de track, if any of u follow Option D1GP videos, u will see theres a track they organise beside a train station (sorry i forgot wat track name is tat), they hav tyres & cushions all around the track. & spectators are (most importantly) ALL SITTING, bout 20ft away from de track. & everyone sits well & can view cars starts from they ran out & went in, not like us, some of us need to 'stand on chairs', 'stand on tiang', 'climb pokok'... sigh... sad.

& 3rd, even de organiser cant build so many chairs around the track, they at least prepare a projector maa... put at de right hand side of judges (where behind is de road), i think the area is where 90% of spectators can see lo. jus bcos there are trees, tats y no ppl stand thr lo.

hope tat D1 starts soon... im eagerly waiting for it... hope u guys enjoy de show like i did. cheers...

your got your points right reedoor. R3 have been doing the S.S.O for almost a year now. They should have learned a few lessons along the way bfr this major event. but sadly, it's still the same. since they're doing this stint ( the S.S.O which should be upgraded to a full D1GP status from this year onwards ) they should have learned from their past S.S.O's, watched Option's D1GP DVDs ( hell, I suppose some of the R3 staffs who are directly involved in last weekend's D1GP preview must have been to at least ONE Japanese D1GP rounds to see how it is held ) hell, even Nomura was wearing his mouse hat and sat between the spectators! if i'm not mistaken, there will be selected Japanese D1GP drivers and their machines competing with our local dorifto's around this year's events. if this is how R2 and Proton keep on organising these events, sooner or later, they might just lose the D1GP status. here is what i feel, R23 and Proton should do for the upcoming rounds ( and keep 'em permanent ) :

- better locations to hold rounds. at Bkt Jalil, there was a bump right bfr the 1st clip - off point, and the road was not straight enough for the drivers to gain speed. also not enough run - off areas between the tracks and spectators.

- please do invest in some removable and packable stadium - style seats, so that even though if the spectators will be placed about at least a few metres away from the track, they can still see the action clearly. well, since R3 and Proton will be doing this D1GP gig full - time, i don't it's bad for them to invest in these, at least less complaints later on from spectators.

- better layout ( commentators area, spectators area, garage, staging area, changing room etc ) for each event onwards, focusing on drivers / D1 guests. please, don't make 'em run / walk a few hundred metres away to and fro next time, malu lah!

- please make sure you guys adhere to your own schedules!!!

- if, next time, we do have D1 guests from Japan ( Manabu is coming also next time, and at Bkt Jalil, i missed Inada...aiyoo ) please let them have a proper meet - the - fans session ( autograph, shake hands and take pics ) it's how they do it there at Japan, and the drivers themselves love to be around their fans a lot!

- if R3 and Proton can do all these the next round onwards, I suppose, charging about RM 15.00 for normal spectators, RM 50.00 for priviledged spectatos and about RM 75.00 for almost - full access spectators is a good deal. and fans will gladly pay up, if they can do what they promised lah. free spectators can still come in, but only at selected areas and standing only lah. RM 15.00 for spectators sitting in stadium - like seating arrangements, RM 50.00 still the same, but much, much closer to the judges ( make sure next time get the actual D1GP judges like Bkt Jalil lah! ) and these privildged spectators can shake hands, tale pics and get autographs from these judges whenever they are free and do the sam e with the D1 drivers at selected schedules. RM 75.00 for all that, but can come into the garage / pit, therefore have a much more access to the machines and drivers as well. here's my take at a proper layout :

http://img14.imageshack.us/img14/4486/d1gp4uw.png

a : paying spectators in stadium - style seats
b : free spectators ( free standing )
c : F & B etc
d : officials area
x : commentators area ( right in the middle of the stadium - style seat )
h : ambulance / emergency services
r : changing rooms
the other x ( near the pit ) : access road between pit and track area

this is just a simple layout, which i think, is much better than what we had experienced at Bkt Jalil last weekend. :regular_smile:

i totally agree with ace79! i rather pay to see a well planned show than going there free and ending up being disapointed.

ace79 : why not you go offer ur expertise to R3 lor ... since ur idea has alot of valid points

Fluffy said:
i totally agree with ace79! i rather pay to see a well planned show than going there free and ending up being disapointed.
yes, well maybe this 1st time they're giving it out for free. let's hope that they do learn from their past events, and if they finally start charging ppl, here's hoping that they make it worthwhile for the fans to pay up!

infernaL said:
ace79 : why not you go offer ur expertise to R3 lor ... since ur idea has alot of valid points

no need lah bro. there's about 1 or 2 R3 officials active here in ZTH forum. let's hope they thoroughly read my review of their last S.S.O & D1GP preview, read our comments and rants, learn and make sure their events onwards will be much better. i, myself have learnt from my own personal experience of holding up 2 successful scooter jamborees. it's not easy to handle around 200 - 250 participants and well over 500 walk - ins, to do a proper layout for registration, parking, competition areas, rest / shaded area, sprint area, area security etc. anyway, i've they're interested for my assistance, i'm more than happy to help ( but at least give me a couple of full - access passes lah, so that next time don't need to wrestle so many ppl just to catch a glimpse of The King Of Drift!!! ) :regular_smile:

yea..i dun mind paying...
if nilai got dragstrip...
i think its time we have a drift track...
then have drift track day
mwahhahahahahha

it was the biggest drift event of year 2006...skagee and I had a good time over the weekend...bringing the drifting scene to the next a higher level...wohoo....time for me to catch up.....

hmmm... just 1 question....

:shades_smile: the sunway extreme park....they are converting it into a drift park ah ?

see alot of construction there...its a good place to build one...all major workshop is close by...me think...:mouth_closed:

ace79 said:
yes, well maybe this 1st time they're giving it out for free. let's hope that they do learn from their past events, and if they finally start charging ppl, here's hoping that they make it worthwhile for the fans to pay up!

Cudnt agree more.. i would rather pay 75 bucks to c the driftos perform rather than seeing other ppl's head for free!!:shot: :marchmellow:

Yea..me too... i would pay that sum of money if i can get good view of the track,better crowd control, autograph and photograph session..

BTW..i feel that the place is little too small for the drifters and spectators..
Haha the commentators suck big time man... so annoyying.. kinda reminds me of the RTM sports commentators, rojak language commenting LOL..:retarded:
And mostly my view is blocked by some rempits standing on their helmets and those fellas opening their umbrellas.. The driting is good tho..

Too bad i cant get autograph from the kings... at least i watched their drifting...sweet..makes my day...:cyclops:

since this is such a popular topic, what would you guys do if you were running the event that day? How can we improve the event...

where do you guys think is the best place to run an event like this? sepang? shah alam car park? federal highway?? ;)

charge entry fee??

what safety and crowd control measures would you take?

what sort of manpower necessary(marshals, police, rela, bomba??) ?

would you have a stage?

djs? and who?

floodlights?

run during the day only or night? if day, dont have to worry about all that lighting.

to get AAM motorsports sanctioning or not?

how do we do advertising and promotions before the whole event..

ensure the 2 jap superstars sign autographs and take pictures with every single one of the 5,000+ crowd?

most importantly, where to find the money to do all of the above, + pay the 2 jap superstars and their entourage also..

cheaka said:
it was the biggest drift event of year 2006...skagee and I had a good time over the weekend...bringing the drifting scene to the next a higher level...wohoo....time for me to catch up.....

;) siok la u.. did u drift?