satria GTI 2001 - seek info. thx!

reedoor

hi all,

im driving a GTI (just bought for bout 3 mths+, 2001 made).
Is my car with or without siemens ECU?
without siemens ECU's GTI is fr 1999 to which year?

Do u guys know where or which mechanic knows GTI better? cos im facing some problem with my gearbox, shifting gear not smooth... especially during 2nd gear, when i pump from 2nd to 3rd gear at 6k rpm, i wud feel the gear (inner part, hope the attached pictures can make u understand better) knock something, but still the gear can be shifted la. And the rest is okay.
http://img294.echo.cx/img294/3600/gearprob8ag.jpg
I did went to 2 mechanic & they said is like tat... but i really feel bit frustrated with that. Or, is there any GTi owner whom can come out yam cha someday, & mayb i can try ur car & u can try my car... something like tat... :)

furthermore, the RPM at 1st & 2nd gear seems quite high... but 3rd gear is ok (i feel). As i was previously driving wira auto, i was not familiar with manual cars, so, is GTI's RPM like tat, normal?

lastly, is there any place where i can tune my car? or modifying my stock engine, meanwhile, i will still b using this same engine, so, how should i modify to make it faster?

im from JB, but bought the car and work in KL, & really need some experienced guy to teach me something on engines. Thx!

Thanks to you all in advance! Cheers!!!

I'm not a pro, what you can do now is first check the clip at the cable. Maybe it came off while driving, so you will need to replace the similar clip. Afterthis, change gear oil.

If the problem still recur, then I don't know liao, most likely the gearbox going to heaven soon.

guy... i think u not used to manual shifting because u last time u drive auto ma.. like me last time first get my wira manual.. same as u i drive auto b4 that.... shifting problem like ur situation .. then used to the car aready then i get the shifting position correctly... just my experiance.. hopw can help.. hahaha cheer bro...

I sometimes get that feeling as well, but only when the gear-oil has not fully warmed up yet. I used to use a thinner gear oil and didnt have such problems. Not sure if youre having the same problem, but to me it isnt significant.

About the rpm for first 2 gears... yeah, the GTi's gearbox has a somewhat poorly configured ratio... personally I prefer a longer-ratio'ed one. :)

using castrol 80w-90 somewhat feel keras a bit lah.. esp when engaging gear 2.. next time want to try redline or motul

morning & thanks to u all,
hmm... actually i tot of gear oil problem also, and i did changed the gear oil bout a month after i got the car at proton service center, using the "better" type gear oil. But seems the "gear knocking" feeling still occur. Tats y makes me worried.
& im not sure whether you guys did face the same problem as mine... which is... "when i was running at 4th gear, then i slow down & shift to 3rd gear to make it slow faster, then gonna turn at the front junction, then i quickly wanna shift into 2nd gear, and i feel its hard to shift in...", during the time, if not mistaken the rpm shud b at around 3k.
hmm... im thinking (but not yet try la), i shifting like my attached pictures, will it be better a...??!!
http://img148.echo.cx/img148/8533/gearprob025xh.jpg
actually i did drove a manual car b4, which is about 5 yrs ago, a proton saga 1.5 manual. but in my mind, i never felt tat problem le...

So, is there any GTI owner tat facing the same problem? or... will it b alrite tat any GTI driver can come out yam cha so tat mayb u can show me how u shift gear?

& yea, if (touch wood) i need to change the gear box, how much wud it cost (gearbox+installation)? lets say original GTI gearbox or evo2 gearbox?

thx again..!!

Zeroed said:
I sometimes get that feeling as well, but only when the gear-oil has not fully warmed up yet. I used to use a thinner gear oil and didnt have such problems. Not sure if youre having the same problem, but to me it isnt significant.

About the rpm for first 2 gears... yeah, the GTi's gearbox has a somewhat poorly configured ratio... personally I prefer a longer-ratio'ed one. :)

Hi Zeroed,
thx for ur comment.
But wat do u mean by longer ratio? which means u "pull" longer?

that's wat i like abt SGTi, like having 2 personalities.
you can either drive it like a normal car, ie. shift up around 3k rpm or if you're in the mood for speed you can shift up after 6.5k rpm.

im sorry..i cant help u..
but i wud love to comment bout ur diagrammes..
..it's really neat~!
hehehe..

dear reedoor....understand ur prob, but i think u should get it checked by a good mech

since u wanna join the SGTi community...feel free to join us at http://www.satriagticlub.com.my
or come to our tt weekly on fridays

there are lots of 'sifus' there to ask...

Hi alien,
thx for ur feedback anyway.
im a designer, always need to communicate with ppl far away from me, so, a neater explaination wud help ppl to understand more on wat i wan to say. :)

Hi Manofwar,
yea, i wanted to join GTI club also. i did contact Mr. Chandran Rajan already, and im busy with my work recently. So, will find a day to join u guys at TT. Thanks alot man!

dear reedoor,
1) please try change gear oil.
2) check your clutch pump oil level
-low level might cause difficult gear shifting too..

i have that problem, albeit with a evo3 gearbox, also same as you, 2nd to 3rd got that knock feeling. I remedied it by changing the way i hold the gearknob as i shift from 2nd to 3rd. i use my palm and push it from the back from 2nd to 3rd like in a straight line (instead of palm on the top). Also do it slowly but firmly

eh.. i'm also experiencing something similar but changing to better gear oil doesn't seem to remedy it. changing gears like how dolly mentioned sometimes work, but on and off still get that knock feeling, weird, but the thing is will prolonged 'knocking' during gear changes cause any damage to the gearbox?

reedoor,

you need to change the gearoil that suits for your SGTI gearbox. "Better" doesn't always suits the gearbox.And to find out which gearbox oil that suits your SGTI gearbox, you may need to go back to SGTI kaki :).

hope that your problem solved and share with us the solution here. :)
nice pic.

Offtopic: What software you use to design those lovely diagrams? Flash? Freehand? Illustrator? Fireworks?