Shell Launch new patrol (V-power racing)

I haven;t try V power racing yet....but the V power alone should be quite a good fuel though....

The problem is....i'm not sure if there are not many ppl using it or what.....last time i pumped in V power...the car suddenly shaking.....and the rev meter goes crazy up and down. So i suspect maybe the fuel in that particular station added something else or no one pump that fuel until it had somehow oxidized.

After that....i never pump V power.

There's another question though....if V power Racing is totally different fron V power, should the station add another fuel tank underground juz to store that new fuel ? Or they juz mix it up with V power ?

Anyone ?

From what I see they just replace the normal V-Power. So no extra tank needed.

Quoted from Shell FAQ:

Will all cars benefit from new Shell V-Power Racing?

New Shell V-Power Racing with FMT has been formulated for use in many modern and high performance vehicles. Customers should follow their manufacturer’s recommendations for using ethanol blend fuels. The Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries website (http://www.fcai.com.au/) indicates which cars are suitable for fuels that contain ethanol and we encourage customers to visit this site.

For cars that can use ethanol-blended fuels, new Shell V-Power Racing is designed both to help keep the engine clean and to help clean up existing deposits. The friction reduction properties of new Shell V-Power Racing with FMT have been formulated for improved acceleration by reducing power loss due to friction. Any improvements in responsiveness will vary depending upon your particular car and the driver’s style of driving.

see here for a list of vehicles that suitable for ethanol blended fuel, both 5% and 10%.

Sato said:
I haven;t try V power racing yet....but the V power alone should be quite a good fuel though....

The problem is....i'm not sure if there are not many ppl using it or what.....last time i pumped in V power...the car suddenly shaking.....and the rev meter goes crazy up and down. So i suspect maybe the fuel in that particular station added something else or no one pump that fuel until it had somehow oxidized.

After that....i never pump V power.

There's another question though....if V power Racing is totally different fron V power, should the station add another fuel tank underground juz to store that new fuel ? Or they juz mix it up with V power ?

Anyone ?

Some adjustment need to be make.....not every shell station gives me that problem.....only a particular station which those fuel are terrible....

My car....a JDM car...i think it should be alright to use v power .....

So...if they replace the old to new v power racing without using new tank...means we need to wait for a while in order to get PURE new v power racing fuel ???

agree with you Sato.

also i found that early and very late night petrol, the density is bigger, thus less vapor.

Juz read the article on motortrader.....

It's still a RON97....the v power racing...

Nothing diff then... what a shame

mind me to ask RON97 is not 95% octane? RON100 is 100% octane right? so if this new petrol is 95% octane with 5% ethanol, then should be still under RON97 lor... correct me if wrong. TQ

not 100% octane.. RON is just octane numbering... specifically Research Octane Number, as opposed to PON which is in use in the US, which is Pump Octane Number.

There is no 100% octane rating because the racing fuels have 104, 114, etc octane rating, based on purity and additives added to increase the AKI.

The AKI (Anti Knock Index) rates how knock resistant the fuel is, and the more resistance it is to knocking, the more timing and higher dynamic compression ratio (Edit: I missed this part... "you can have in your engine setup").. hence the 'power' coming from the fuel.

Theory-wise, you shouldn't get extra power from just a switch of fuel, unless you're talking about dynamic systems like present in subaru (google for the white papers), which auto-tunes based on what kind of fuel you're running.

From the link posted by one of the forummers above, achieving 100 octane with 5% blended ethanol has some wear concerns for the fuelling system for old cars like mine.

thanks for the xplanation. i m driving gen2, i guess should benefit from this new petrol huh?

which petrol in msian market AKI is best? i heard some said Esso, not sure how true is that.

i tried the fuel. 30bucks worth. and i can really feel it pulls as low as 3000rpm. my car also sounded different when the vtec kicks in. heh. or is it only my imagination?

lightningfield said:
i tried the fuel. 30bucks worth. and i can really feel it pulls as low as 3000rpm. my car also sounded different when the vtec kicks in. heh. or is it only my imagination?

Definitely your imagination. :regular_smile:

Haha, actually I not sure coz I havent tried this new V power yet.

just pumped...but cant feel any differences yet.
maybe bcoz i've been using v-power....and the differences btw v-power and vp racing not tat big.

yeah .... indeed cant feel the difference leh .... i feel that my car rev much louder than normal..... which i tink is not good.....

funkydog said:
yeah .... indeed cant feel the difference leh .... i feel that my car rev much louder than normal..... which i tink is not good.....

That means your engine is screaming for more RON. V-power not power enough...

haha ... Simon ... isit ? ... haha.. when i pump vpower racing... i pump at 3/4 full.....

juz now pump at half tank , den pump vpower racing till full........ wow...... now den can feel... seriously ... haha.. smoother a little..... higher speed at lower rev , juz like what others said........

Really? Ok now Im tempted to try. Most likely my next pump I will try it and see any results. :regular_smile:

if your engine require 100octane then might have feel....if u take a saga put vpower racing i think is abit waste of money wont feel that much

got much different loh than other brand of petrol ...... xpensive i feel... same only lah .... this petrol that petrol. Ur car no power put wat also no power. take few ringgit want wat xtra 10hp????

hahahahaha... thats rite... like me if using v-power i think oso no different... or maybe i'm lack of feeling the power... huhu