smoking (leaking) turbo

HKS-GT2835R

will it ever end? :banghead:

why turbo must alwiz kong one..

now when stop @ traffic lights got that burnt oil smell..
and that smoke frm exhaust.. aiya

any permanent cure? :banghead:

will it ever end? :banghead:

why turbo must alwiz kong one..

now when stop @ traffic lights got that burnt oil smell..
and that smoke frm exhaust.. aiya

any permanent cure? :banghead:

bro.. law no. 1 - -'turbo aint die..it being kill'

when ur turbo problem pls make a little effort to do the 'postmortem' on y ur turbo kong?
is it because of engine kong or using turbo near to kong (used), or because of u:idea:..:rolleyes:

law no 2.." diamond r 4ever -- turbo ...hah i dont thing so :listen:"

usually turbo life time is equal to engine lifetime...normally car life time is about 5 to 7 yearS...so if ur turbo kong after using more then 3 year (by using the car 8hour per day)...in my opinion it normal under rules of wear n tear..:slug:

LAW No 3..'everything has it own limit- every people knew but only few can accept :biggrin:...in malay WE called it 'HUKUM ALAM' :smokin:

just my opinion...:sleep:

usually turbo life time is equal to engine lifetime...normally car life time is about 5 to 7 yearS...so if ur turbo kong after using more then 3 year (by using the car 8hour per day)...in my opinion it normal under rules of wear n tear..:slug:

early of the year i install newly refurbished t25. last week start smoking dy..:banghead:

If white smoke from exhaust when stopped at idle 90% chance your turbo has had the carrot!
Rebuild will cost almost the same as a new one, I would advise upgrade to a new turbo.
The oil seals let go inside the turbo and only a full rebuild or replace can fix it. It is leaking oil when you drive also, you just don't notice it as much as the oil burns as soon as it leaks out, when you stop oil builds up and it is much more noticeable and smelly.
Pull your turbo off and see if there is oil in the exhaust manifold, if there is your engine is leaking oil and it is all over.
If the exhaust manifold is dry, your turbo has given up.

Good luck.

Turn1

reputable turbo rebuilder will know the bearing tolerence, correct seal usage and of course know how to advice a customer if there is further crucial damage which will make the turbo not worth to rebuilt.... it depends on what turbo la.... if i own a to4Z or a t51R... i would certainly rebuilt if anything goes wrong..

but for t25 aka s14 turbo.... i guess better let bebola ganaz to check and advice since its free and if really need to change or rebuilt .. i guess u will still be in peace of mind as they are in the list as one of garret dealer

reputable turbo rebuilder will know the bearing tolerence, correct seal usage and of course know how to advice a customer if there is further crucial damage which will make the turbo not worth to rebuilt.... it depends on what turbo la.... if i own a to4Z or a t51R... i would certainly rebuilt if anything goes wrong..

but for t25 aka s14 turbo.... i guess better let bebola ganaz to check and advice since its free and if really need to change or rebuilt .. i guess u will still be in peace of mind as they are in the list as one of garret dealer

HOHO BRO I AGREED wit u la..depend on turbo model and also type of damage, honestly-sometimes it not worth it to repair or rebuilt...:smokin:

i already exprience something same as you...try check da oil prresure:idea:if da prresure is too high it will pass da ring at da turbo shaft,if to low i will kill da turbo.mine is too high when using a ballbearing turbo,so i restrict da flow abit and use da inline filter for turbo and da problem solve.still using da turbo till now and no white smoke at all....:biggrin:

oo.. i get it. :proud: brilliant idea! :adore:
to restrict the flow a tiny bit so that it does not overwhelm the bearings.

anyway how do you install the filter? mine is using the small metal piping from oil feed to the turbo meh?

and how does this filter look like? :hmmmm:

da filter size is about the same as our thumb,work eng. brand got this product....i fit it inline between da engine oil source to turbo...

i always heard that rebuild a turbo might not be reliable to use at all...
not sure about this,hope sifu sifu can enlighten me...
there is once my turbo got black oil inside?maybe is due to a long period nvr drive the car thats why got dirty oil stuck inside then when i use the car boost abit then the whole turbo KO before...

i always heard that rebuild a turbo might not be reliable to use at all...
not sure about this,hope sifu sifu can enlighten me...
there is once my turbo got black oil inside?maybe is due to a long period nvr drive the car thats why got dirty oil stuck inside then when i use the car boost abit then the whole turbo KO before...

rebuild turbo have no problem if it been done by experience/qualified turbo builder...maybe your oil line to turbo tersumbat...