SMT6 - piggyback

Badgti ,

Thanks for the update. Called Toby today and he said that he is not selling the SMT 6 anymore. Humm..anywhere in kl where Ican get one?

JB?u got their contacts?

toby is now doing interceptor - haltech in place of smt6

yeah I know they are doing Haltech. Just looking for a simple set up only. Dont wanna blow RM 5Kplus on a set up lah....hehe

Haltech Interceptor is sort of an entry level management system.

I think it does not cost RM5K that much.

opp1 said:
Badgti ,

Thanks for the update. Called Toby today and he said that he is not selling the SMT 6 anymore. Humm..anywhere in kl where Ican get one?
Try YS Khong Motorsports.

guys,

the guys in j.b have the smt6 cos just went to see them and they were very professional with the whole thing.
it also seems that they also have a dealer in k.l with smt6.its turbo sang from kepong.
anyway they are also dealers for obit ecu also.

but for my opinion on tuning , its all the same whether be it haltech or microtech, its all up to the tuner and the RESULTS that are produced. ;)

monsterv6 said:
sure or not haltech interceptor does not cost rm5k.?

The last qutoe I heard was RM6K for E6X (incl. install + tune)

RM5K for Interceptor does not make sense.

Just wanted to clarify, piggybacks and stand alones are TWO different things.

A Haltech 6 can make my semi-batch fire iginition to fully independant batch fire iginition. Thats a whole load of difference already ler.

Also stand alone ECUs offer a whole lot more ability. Best understanding is that a piggy back can only trick the original ECU to a limit before the ECU starts saying, "Now there cant be THAT MUCH air flow in at the air flow meter."

not enuff fuelling?

Boink Boink said:
Just wanted to clarify, piggybacks and stand alones are TWO different things.

A Haltech 6 can make my semi-batch fire iginition to fully independant batch fire iginition. Thats a whole load of difference already ler.

Also stand alone ECUs offer a whole lot more ability. Best understanding is that a piggy back can only trick the original ECU to a limit before the ECU starts saying, "Now there cant be THAT MUCH air flow in at the air flow meter."

hi boink,
IMHO
if u afraid of insufficient fuelling, newer piggybacks like smt6 besides being able to drive bigger injectors, they can also drive extra injectors. map sensors can be installed which i guess provides fuelling data independant of host ecu.

of course a fully s/a ecu is be$t no doubt

pls correct me if wrong guys...

140dB

Actually no ler bro, was not saying I was afraid of insufficient fueling, I was just showing an example of the expandability a fully programable compared to a piggyback.

Also agree on driving injectors and driving additional injectors.

I think we are agree-ing on the same thing here. :)

need some help....did the smt6 same like haltech no need to conect to ecu?coz i found a engine dun have ecu the engine is e15et turbo spec.no ecu coz the engine is very old than malaysia dun have sunny 130y is using injection so how? if i convert this engine to my car. :albertein

brother said:
need some help....did the smt6 same like haltech no need to conect to ecu?coz i found a engine dun have ecu the engine is e15et turbo spec.no ecu coz the engine is very old than malaysia dun have sunny 130y is using injection so how? if i convert this engine to my car. :albertein

hi,

wow big project ahead. good luck.

u need a stand alone ecu if i get what u trying to say...

look for microtech, haltech or maybe even perfect power PRS???

if ur mech really got time..heheh ask him hybrid some other car ecu into ur car...
4g13p and 15p berlambak...can try..heheh

again, good luck..

140dB

brother said:
Think you need to do some research first. If you visited the manufacturer's website you will quite obviously realise the SMT6 is a piggyback ECU. Not to mention the posts here.

Piggyback ECU means it works TOGETHER with the original ECU. So if you don't have one....

140dB said:
hi,

wow big project ahead. good luck.

u need a stand alone ecu if i get what u trying to say...

look for microtech, haltech or maybe even perfect power PRS???

if ur mech really got time..heheh ask him hybrid some other car ecu into ur car...
4g13p and 15p berlambak...can try..heheh

again, good luck..

140dB
if fit in microtech and haltech so expensive la so if can try i will do hybrid some other 4g15p ecu lo....so where can modify this thing???

Speed Demon said:
Think you need to do some research first. If you visited the manufacturer's website you will quite obviously realise the SMT6 is a piggyback ECU. Not to mention the posts here.

Piggyback ECU means it works TOGETHER with the original ECU. So if you don't have one....
thank speed domon jsut now i noe wat is piggyback tk....

140dB said:
hi boink,
IMHO
if u afraid of insufficient fuelling, newer piggybacks like smt6 besides being able to drive bigger injectors, they can also drive extra injectors. map sensors can be installed which i guess provides fuelling data independant of host ecu.

of course a fully s/a ecu is be$t no doubt

pls correct me if wrong guys...

140dB
"map sensors can be installed which i guess provides fuelling data independant of host ecu."

Does this mean I can change from MAF to MAP? SMT6 can does this?