Soft bass - box or tube???

ir1

Hello fellaz,
Between this two ways, which one will give the soft bass??? Bcause I used 10" box and the bass not soft.
I just seen a bass tube 8"/10" include with amp inside (cap ayam), is it good to install?? maybe can change the woofer to others branded one.

Try use winisd software. From there you can see whether the box is really meant for the sub or not.

agreed... try to use the winISD and make a custom box for you... how a sub will sound will depend on the box itself other than your tuning...

cheers...

Bro...
OIC...where I can find this software and how to use it??

better get a 8" sub in a small sealed box, save more space than a tube and sounds much better too. if sub is too loud for u just need to lower the gain on your amp.

I already install WinISD but really..really dont know how to use it, pls help me

u need to get your T/S parameters of your sub and input it into the software with other info u have. not something easy to use to get automatic answer u are seeking....

yeap..
y0u hav to flick around with it before you can understand them... if got anything dun understand... can always send SOS to Zenn...

cheers...

Zenn said:
u need to get your T/S parameters of your sub and input it into the software with other info u have. not something easy to use to get automatic answer u are seeking....

Ok bro...I search the parameters 1st and try with this s/ware

ir1,

1. box shape does not change how a sub will sound. It is the box type, construction & volume will affect the sub.

2. No need to mess with WinISD. That 'bass tube' will not give you soft bass (based gut feeling).

3. To have soft bass i.e. more on low end extension is by getting sub that can in first place is designed to be able to give more low end (can use Fs as guideline but i rather not). I've modelled sub using WinISD and there are subs that roll of soon even at low Qtc. value eg. IDQ 12" V2 sub.

4. The easiest way to do it is by using ported box tuned low eg. 20hz. Dont be surprised of the port length required. If u decide to use sealed box, expect very large box vol.

5. Not all branded (well know brand actually) subs will give u plenty low end response. Look for subs designed for SQ.

Kippo said:
ir1,

1. box shape does not change how a sub will sound. It is the box type, construction & volume will affect the sub.

2. No need to mess with WinISD. That 'bass tube' will not give you soft bass (based gut feeling).

3. To have soft bass i.e. more on low end extension is by getting sub that can in first place is designed to be able to give more low end (can use Fs as guideline but i rather not). I've modelled sub using WinISD and there are subs that roll of soon even at low Qtc. value eg. IDQ 12" V2 sub.

4. The easiest way to do it is by using ported box tuned low eg. 20hz. Dont be surprised of the port length required. If u decide to use sealed box, expect very large box vol.

5. Not all branded (well know brand actually) subs will give u plenty low end response. Look for subs designed for SQ.

Thanks bro....good info but i'm not really understand with ...
>>> The easiest way to do it is by using ported box tuned low eg. 20hz. how to do that??? sorry cause i'm newbies in this. thanks in advanced.

irwan,
u know ported box yep? a box with a pipe/hole? yep?

that pipe is a port which need to be tuned to get the best setup. How to tune it? since u have winisd, just key in the box volume & the port tuning freq. eg. 20hz & look at the dimensions given. So u will buy PVC pipe & follow that dimensions.