Spark plugs for 4AGE 16V

ctan13

Hi All,

The manual recommends to use NGK BCPR6EY-11 or ND Q20R-U11 spark plugs for the 4AGE - but I can't seem to find these in the market here. Anyone knows what are their closest equivalents or I can go for any type, as long as the gap is correct?

BKPR6EP-11 or anything close ,11 stands for gap lo.
Or iridium IK20 would be good.

I've been using NGK BKR6E-GP spark plug. Remember our 16v engine plug gap for the spark plug is 0.8mm while 20v is 1.1mm. Don't tembak me because i still remember sifu Acoustic @ Chin told me about this one :D

Regards,
Mike

Is it true? In the manual it is stated 1.1 woh...
U're using G-power is it? How long have u been using? Did it last?

If its just normal 4AGE 10.5:1 N/A compression, I think cheap-cheap plugs is enuff.

Those NGK dunno what model RM16 / 4 pcs oledi can use, no need fancy smancy expensive plugs.

Hi all,
Thanks for all the replies.

KE2020,
What advantage(s) would you have in using Iridium plugs? How much are they? Pls share share.

Iridium needs lower voltage to create sparks, and long lasting . Need more info go to their website to check out.

ke2020,
yep I've been using it for long oredi and spark plug u dun need to change like engine oil every 5000 km, jes ask de mech take out de plug n check mah ok liao loh.. no worries 1.. u c those new cars all std engine n spark plug oso follow factory spec last long.. someone did said it can last as long as up to 100,000 km but i duno le how true is dat :D but honestly i've use last time de 1.1mm gap n i can feel something is not right well jes my feeling n i counted it as true.. but when after i change to dis plug spec i can sense something different dats all.. hard 2 explain but so far so good... heheheeheh :D

Regards,
Mike

i had tried super 4.... 2months only..
and its lousy for 4age!

now use RM18 ringgit NGK.. until now smooth like criminal.. hehehehee

Mine i bought was RM25 nicely pack with each individual plug in its own paper box inside de NGK pack at klang sparepart shop here :)

Regards,
Mike

Yeah mike is correct. Most 16v engines should use heat range 6 for spark plugs. I have tried (rare) 7 and the (bad) 5 from NGK. Not good. Still 6 is the best.

What mike tries to say about the feeling is, like the engine no power, and response is weaker. Also notice knocking is sometimes more apparent. Should happen for EFI engines, but it does because of incorrect heat range.

I do recall Chin saying 11 (gap) for 20v and 6 (heat range) for 16v. Here is 1 NGK sample,
http://www.ngk.de/uploads/pics/ZK_Grafik_waermewert_02.jpg

http://www.ngk.com/images/NGKsparkplugNum.gif

Hope this helps. But for many of us, just a refresher course. hahahaha.