Sunway car mod experts says......

The pic for those who prefer not to click.

car_mods.jpg

I don't even want to read that article cos I know it's gonna be something stupid.

The two guys that stated "lower income bracket" will not make themselves famous, they are very very very stupid to make that comment, people will not visit their shop anymore, especially people from "lower income bracket", they just did themselves no FAVOUR by saying that. it's stupidity.

It's an INSULT for the people who install those modifications, of course they are the rich owners who can afford more "high class" modifications, therefore they think they are qualified to justify people from "lower income bracket".

They just DID NOT do their mothers PROUD on this Mother's Day, their mums will be deeply ashamed by their embarrasing comments on The Star.

Doink said:
hey!!!what they mean by these phrase'

“Car modification is a way for someone to get noticed. Since they cannot afford expensive modifications that run into thousands of ringgit, this is a cheaper way of getting attention,” he said."
Aiyo. Don't so angry la. Basically, Mr. Goh's wife/gf is a piece of ugly fucking skin diseased dog. That's why he started a work shop to keep himself super busy so that he don't need to go home to see that retarded animal (his gf/wife). So let's be understanding a bit ler.

And even though the "attention seekers" are low income group, at least we know that a molotov cocktail only cost a mere RM10. heh heh

munpeng said:
They just DID NOT do their mothers PROUD on this Mother's Day, their mums will be deeply ashamed by their embarrasing comments on The Star.
I think their mothers just planned for a suicide. Let's keep a look out in the papers tomorrow for suicide articles.

BLaCkHoWLiNG said:
change rim oso must ask jpj.. dahsyat
Imagine if I change the stock proton 14" 5 spoke rims, to a stock proton 14" multi spoke rims. Have to go JPJ for approval. hahahaha

Weih u guys! Can STOP for juz awhile n read properly b4 u shoot off ur mouths at Goh n d other guy anot..?

d ONLY person here tat understands wats really being said is Glocker.

I'll juz quote his post in d 1st page n i hope u all read properly b4 shooting off without even reading... aih.

Glocker said:
Hello, did you guys read the whole thing in context? They didn't say people who put on bodykits and transplant more powerful engines are 'drivers from the lower-income bracket'.

They say;

"Regarding the change of colour for signal lights – for instance, giving the colour of the brake lights to the signal lights and vice versa – and adding blinking brake lights to the car, both experts said these were illegal alterations."

before saying...

"Goh said that this was common among drivers from the lower-income bracket.

“Car modification is a way for someone to get noticed. Since they cannot afford expensive modifications that run into thousands of ringgit, this is a cheaper way of getting attention,” he said."

So if you didn't add some blinky LEDs or brakelights to your car, why are you guys so pissed off? Unless you do that lah...then arr...no comment.

Goh n the other guy from sunway is talkin bout those "lower income" attention seekers r d idiots who put blinking LED / brakelights , etc. on their car, not d real proper car modders (like us) la. come on... plz read properly b4 u terasa ...

No no, when they mentioned "lower income bracket", it's already a disgrace to those people, I read The Star, I understand what the statements mean. Installing blinking LED/brakelights is not an idiot's move, they feel it's nice, that's why they do it, I don't think it's nice too but we cannot justify others' mod just because it's not our type, right?

The two fellars should care about other people's (who installed those mod) feelings, they will definitely felt hurt and insulted. The fact is they are rich enough to say that certain mod are just common for "people from lower income brackets", while richer people will definitely not do that, that's not true and shouldn't be posted on The Star.

err.. going around and dissing the person's family isn't much better lar. let's not put ourselves in that kinda position. so i kinda disagree with some of the comments that some of you have posted here. let's take a more diplomatic approach to this.

well i think their statements right up to the point before they talk about the blink-blink lights is fair. i couldn't agree more with them. but i'll reiterate again my point from a few post back (if anybody was even reading) that it was wrong for them to generalise or put down the lower income group for doing things like this just with the impression not-so-well-to-do people are poor and cannot afford anything buy cheapo stuff. also, im also saying that alot of those bling-bling illegal stuffs are done by the so-called higher-income group, why haven't they said anything about them? why single out the former rather than the latter? they have a point where these things are indeed illegal, but being biased to the fact isn't doing them any justice.

hmm i smell discrimination of the " lower income bracket " , but everyone is entitled to their opinions mar , we live in bolehland , remember ? .

instead they should not bash them on national newspaper , but post pictures and have more opinions from motorheads to be fairer , ie - initial b thread which sadly was closed . lol

I agree.

They are totally bias. those comments are very harsh towards the people they brand them "lower income bracket". There's no problem when you receive lower income, no problem at all, they may not be able to earn as much money as the owners of mod shop, but they are earning good salary, 'honest' money and they are working hard to support their lives, therefore these people who are being recognised as "lower income bracket" will be very very disapointed, coz people may not look at them with the same attitude anymore, because people who read The Star maybe influenced by the mod shop owners' comment.

"Car modification is a way for someone to get noticed. Since they cannot afford expensive modifications that run into thousands of ringgit, this is a cheaper way of getting attention." - quoted from The Star, page 6.

I am completely disgusted, they looked down on those people really, I am sure we will see a massive respond from a lot of people in The Star tomorrow, there will be a lot of people sending emails complaining and criticise the comments made today. Changing the colour of the signal lights and making the brake lights to blink DO NO HARMS to other road users, because they are not the Xenon/HID lights that are too bright which can cause disturbance. Blinking lights are just some decoration, or a way to get attention, people will say they are "ah beng" cars, that's all, illegal? so what? signal lights/blinking lights WON'T hurt your eyesight.

it's true that they are being biased to the less well-to-do group, but that's just life.. the disadvantage (poorer) will always be oppressed by the stronger (richer).

however, putting that aside.. those blinking signal lights or brake lights may not hurt your eyesight like how Xenon/HID could do, but i think they are illegal from the JPJ point of view (it's illegal for a reason, but don't quote me on which para. that came from) as being a distraction which might cause an accident. it might be all nice and pleasing to the eye, but if you change some of the lights and it confuses other road users.. you might just cause an accident. and we wouldn't want that, would we?

yea, they could be a distraction, I understand why JPJ doesn't approve it, but I am fine with it as long as they don't harm our eyesight, because, I can't notice any outrageous accidents that were caused by blinking brake lights or different colour of signal lights, accidents most likely are caused by recklessness and failure to slowdown/stop in time. To certain extent, blinking brake lights are "attractive" enough to catch the attention of other road users to notice the car is slowing down. So although JPJ disapprove it, they can't be blamed for causing massive accidents, but of course as a precaution, I believe JPJ is doing the right thing. Because, according to my experience, people who were at fault in an accident would blame the other car for not having a standard signal light/brake light, therefore I won't complain JPJ's decision on that.

Both of them r the greatest ah bengs... Hahaha

Now i know both of them mod cars jus get noticed by ppl. Mayb they look so horrible til they hav to use thier cars to get themselves some proper decent gf.

Ppl mod cars jus coz of 1 simple reason. Coz they r car enthusiasts. Mod cars to satisfy thier own interest. Mod car to let ppl to get attention pulak. Lame....

well, just my opinion
i think the two fellas were referring to mostly those cheapskates who wanna modify their car but did not think about the safety of themselves and and other road users

for example,
he stated there that there are those ppl who modify their engines to larger capacity or adding BOT without properly upgrading their handling systems and braking systems ( this i believe everyone have to agree as lots of ppl never think of budgeting for a better braking system ( read, i state here NOT all ) )

blinking lights and changing the colors of their reverse lights and braking lights
i believe we have encounter lots of ppl that does this on the road
what can we do about them, well, as for me, there are times when i pull up next to them and tell them that it is illegal, but most of them just ignore me till once when one car was ignoring me at the traffic light and that very same moment he closes his window, someone actually banged him from the back
couldn't help myself from giggling then

as for the lower income bracket thingy, well, it may not be adviceable to classified ppl in that way, do remember that if u earn
2k per month in subang = lower income
5k per month in subang = middle income
2k per month in perak = higher income
5k per month in perak = very high income

so it all boils down to the fact that we cannot classified things as we please, so the lower income bracket is a mistake of them
besides that, i totally support what they say about idiots who try to mod a car but doesn't know what is the proper modding ways ( please, someone show them the way, but these morons probably dun know how to use the internet to surf zth.com )
blinking and annoying lights are a no-no

Our nation have people thinking :
1) Adding blue, red and purple light in front of the car is OK, including the wiper water dispenser light.
2) Changing signal light to non-yellow is ok as long as they are blinking
3) Changing reverse light to non-white is ok coz they don't use it often
4) And there's the dreaded strobe light.... too much F1 safety car ?

Personally I don't think that's civic minded enough. But again that's just me, and I think what the 2 guy mentioned in The Star is true enough, majority of the people found with the above items are from the said population range, and sadly I'm from that range of income too.
But that's not the point, I don't feel insulted, Identity inferiority had got the best of us.

tibun,
i thought signal lights are orange???
=P, could be me being color blind

anyway, just to add one more thing about those ppl changing to blinking reverse light or so and so larrr

any of the ppl reading this is a programmer
if there is, could someone tell me how important it is to follow a certain format when doing programming
else when someone else takes over ur work and u take over someone else work?
mati rite, u wun understand what the previous programmer did correct

same case here, the color rules of brake lights and reverse light and so and so are there for a standard
without standard, we will be seeing lots of different types of brake lights
in the end we will be so confused that we wun know what is happening

for example, two cars are in front of u, one has red as reverse light, the other has red as brake light
simply following standard would tell u that both the cars are braking rite
but that just isn't the case here, someone is actually reversing
mati also lar

nitrus said:
Weih u guys! Can STOP for juz awhile n read properly b4 u shoot off ur mouths at Goh n d other guy anot..?

d ONLY person here tat understands wats really being said is Glocker.

I'll juz quote his post in d 1st page n i hope u all read properly b4 shooting off without even reading... aih.

Goh n the other guy from sunway is talkin bout those "lower income" attention seekers r d idiots who put blinking LED / brakelights , etc. on their car, not d real proper car modders (like us) la. come on... plz read properly b4 u terasa ...
dun worry nitrus, internet is a place for you to freely express your opinion. i assume you support what glocker had said, and yes i have the same view, and i stand my ground on this.

munpeng,
i've think through over and over and i don't see why mentioning "lower income bracket" is an insult.
Goh said that this was common among drivers from the lower-income bracket.
did you missed the "common" word? does that mean they mention they are all the same? does that mean rich people won't do it? NO.

what you guys doing now is just pick words from the article that you can flame him back. Yes i know that the article might not do everybody any just, but you guys are no better either.

the guy is talking about those blink lights, i don't think they give too much problem, but the real prob he mention is that those windscreen spray nozzle with light or light that make the side turn signal constantly blue color, and those with white brake lights and blue turning signal. those are the problem that causes danger. Its been said over and over again those things are illegal, but people still do it. Then some mech comes out and say those things is illegal then you all shoot him?

common the guy make some sense too, you guys are being unfair to him, yes what he said is not perfect but he doesn't deserve to be flame like this. go figure.

I understand your point Darkaccoon.

That's why it's correct that JPJ disapprove those blinking lights and non-orange signal lights. But what we are saying is that those people are judged as the lower income earners, and therefore being blamed for bringing harm to other road users, that is very harsh. Main point is the mod shop owners have made wrong and bias assumptions and that they don't think many 'rich' drivers would do that. What they told about the modifications are correct, but they cannot judge people base on what they perceive.

cool, someone post some sensible post when i'm posting. glad to have more understanding people here in the forum. we need to think further, lets not be narrow minded.

rollakid, I didn't miss the 'common' word, you have got your points, but what you said about "flaming him" is incorrect, I don't flame him. I was criticising because I feel what he said was bias, his perceptions do bring us the impression that he has for lower income earners.

What I was trying to say is, you cannot make assumptions that installing blinking lights are commonly lower income earner, it's unfair. In the Business Communication Skills subject I am studying in college, the book clearly said law requires that, when you want to make a statement, you have to have sufficient evidence, reliable source in proving what you state is correct, "lower income bracket" is the term used to describe people who install blinking lights, and I think he made incorrect assumptions from what he perceived, not base on a reliable source, so I am not saying they should be saints, and no person is perfect or have never make mistakes before, but making that kind of assumptions is not necessary at all, they could just provide useful information about modifications only, without adding any more comments towards the people.

yeah.. i've said it before, and i'll say it again.. i agree with most of the article right up to the point where he starts generalising "common among drivers from the lower income bracket". and i'm not saying this because im part of that income bracket or what ever, but i'm just pointing out how he generalise on this group. fine, it is true that we are targeting specific points of his statement, but right up to that point i believe what he said is true and fair. fine, sue me for being petty.. but the point still stays that he is singling out the lower income bracket as the main culprit.. if he isn't why couldn't he say this habit "is common among drivers nowadays?" and with this, then there will be a misconception that this group are the 'bad guys' breaking the law with all this kind of whacked out mods, while the other people are all goody and does thing the legal way. believe me, when people read the newspapers..they will believe whatever's written on face value.

it's true that if you bring the stuff (illegal) to fix onto your car to the mech, he will tell you it's illegal and it's better not to fix, but if you insist..of course he cannot say no. client is king, ya know? but in this case, these guys are mod shop fellas (unless they misconstrued the word mod shop and these guys are in fact only mechanics).. they are in the business of selling things, be it legal or illegal. it's all about making money. i have not seen any 'mod shops' not selling any illegal stuff and i sure hell haven't seen any business / sales man telling me not to buy them if i want to.

about all those lights, be it blinking.. different color, HID/XENON, strob lights or mods like GT wings and wide body kit just to name a few, they might be legal in your eyes.. but are they to JPJ? I won't comment whether it's 'legal' to put it as i'm not the law enforcement agency. so before we start saying what is legal and illegal, go find out with JPJ exactly what can be put. if you do not like what they have to say and if you still want to put it, you have been warned.. that's all.