Superchargers and such

probably because of the 1.6 liter engine don't have enough power to pull the supercharger like what those big blocks can. small engine always benifits more from turbo..

but some ppl expect 4AGZE to be running with the 1.8 GSR, VR4 and evo's woooooooo

Blitzkreig Posted on Jan 24 2005, 13:59
but some ppl expect 4AGZE to be running with the 1.8 GSR, VR4 and evo's woooooooo

:D

To expect and to actually see one put it on the line is diff bro, I guess the engine has some potential...but on a drag,....there are just too many factors working agains the GZE....

my 2 cents :ph34r:

Thanks for the link, Scavenger..
Eh guys, please continue your discussions, i wanna read and hopefully can get more kwnoledge out of it.

Hmmm okay... this is getting rather interesting...

http://www.vortechsuperchargers.com/images/ys-trim_cw_str_sat.gif

VORTECH V-7 YSi-TRIM SUPERCHARGER
"Large blower" performance in a smaller package that fits most existing Vortech bracketry

* Fits engines up to 1200 horsepower
* Maximum airflow: 1,600 CFM *
* Maximum boost pressure: 30 PSI *
* Maximum impeller speed: 65,000 RPM
* Adiabatic efficiency: 78% **
* Available with straight or curved discharge in clockwise rotation only

------
Kinda cool... 30 PSI max boost application and 1200hp max output...
But now im wondering... can all cars use this supercharger unit? will the power gain be as easy for turbo cars to shoot up to 1000 HP after throwing in various performance parts? or is it the power only a little bit after you put in various top quality branded performance parts?

The bigger the c.c., the better the power u get.. so its best to put it in big c.c. engines, right? hmm how bout 1UZFE or 1MZFE?
oh.. any such thing as twin supercharge, like twin turbo?

small engine don't have power to pull the belt of supercharger that big. just like turbo, if you use big siput on kancil engine, i dun think it will ever spool up even if at max rpm already.

goes the same as supercharger, but instead of not spooling up, i have a feeling that you can't even start the engine :lol: cuz the supercharger too tight.

i have heard before some supercharger used in an american muscle car need 30hp to pull, see that the 660cc kancil only have a max hp of 31, at 5000++ rpm, guess it won't even be able to start the engine...

so its the same, big supercharger for big engine, small supercharger for small engine, big siput for big engine, small siput for small engine.

anybody saw any engine running on supercharge smaller than the gze? since gze is the smallest displacemnet engine i saw running on supercharge

Originally posted by shamburke@Jan 24 2005, 09:39
scave,

u used s/c also ka!!!.....can we meet the next time i'm in png....

can go for soup in front of Hotel Malaya!!!!then we can share2 ideas lar...

cheers...
I'm sorry bro, I'm not using s/c but I'm VERY interested in them... Although I'm not well studied on the topic as of yet.

Hehe... Phai seh... :P

I don't think that there's a twin 'charger system coz then it'll just makan engine power due to too much restriction coming off the belt driven chargers taxing on the engines.

Rather, I believe that in the case of superchargers larger blowers are just installed/replaced in place of the smaller charger if more power is needed.

But as earlier mentioned by Rollakid, the restriction would cause more restriction rather than provide more power... hahaha...

Just some thought.... :)

rollakid Posted on Jan 24 2005, 17:38
anybody saw any engine running on supercharge smaller than the gze? since gze is the smallest displacemnet engine i saw running on supercharge

Subaru Vivio....just to name one. Small wonder!

A twinchage setup does exist, not sure if its stock or if its a modded engine....I remember being told that the engine is 5 figures in Ringgit terms :lol: :o

Hmm lets see...
so, if a person decides to supercharge a V8 1UZFE 4l, he can put his hands on bigger superchargers lar?

If for supercharger, the boost comes in right when u start the engine... but it needs certain rpm level for it to start spooling.... how do this boost and spool relate to each other for superchargers?

Oh an what do you mean by...
goes the same as supercharger, but instead of not spooling up, i have a feeling that you can't even start the engine :lol: cuz the supercharger too tight.
Too tight? lol

Basically, a supercharger takes HP to move it, but if the correct supercharger size is used, then the returns for the HP would be more lucrative? you know, it sucks to think of the idea that superchargers actually take HP to work, rather than giving out more HP... does that phenomena apply to turbochargers as well?

Rather, I believe that in the case of superchargers larger blowers are just installed/replaced in place of the smaller charger if more power is needed.
Can this really be done?

Hmm oh yeah... say, If A vs B, with A Turbocharged 500hp and B supercharged 500hp, both 400m.. who would win? Would B win? since turbo takes time to boost up and supercharger has already started boosting when the engine started.

Ahh... from 100 questions on Superchargers yesterday, now it becomes 200 questions... so complicated.. or maybe im just slow...
Kinda seems that Superchargers are more complicated than turbochargers.
I really carry out this supercharged 1MZFE/1UZFE projects on a MRS, celica GTS or MRS in the near future.. oh well, time will tell if i actually have the chance and the cash to do so. Superchargers have caught most of my attention now... Turbo too common already.

I don't think that there's a twin 'charger system
http://www.club4ag.com/faq%20and%20tech_pages/Tech%20Photos/4agztbo.jpg
HKS 4AG Twin Charge System ;) look at the complexity...

so, if a person decides to supercharge a V8 1UZFE 4l, he can put his hands on bigger superchargers lar?
yes, technically speaking. There are already bolt on supercharger kit for 1UZ-FE, but i bet it cost more than my beat-up KE70 :rolleyes:

it sucks to think of the idea that superchargers actually take HP to work, rather than giving out more HP... does that phenomena apply to turbochargers as well?
not really, turbo uses waste energy (exhaust air) to turn the turbine, it suffers from inefficiency (some old toyota ct series turbocharger only have 60++% efficiency). probably rob you abit of power cuz exhaust system become abit more restrictive, thats what i think, dunno true or not.

Can this really be done?
not sure :unsure: but there are newer supercharger that can pump more air per rpm compare to the old one, mean you can have higher boost.

If A vs B, with A Turbocharged 500hp and B supercharged 500hp, both 400m.. who would win? Would B win? since turbo takes time to boost up and supercharger has already started boosting when the engine started.
dude.... turbo or super, you launch at 1000rpm or you launch at 5000rpm during a drag race?? :ph34r: turbo lag isn't too big of a concern if you ask me. go ask TE27levin, he run turbo on both his car and been in drag event for few years. he would know more..

Superchargers have caught most of my attention now... Turbo too common already.
:) FYI supercharger are generally cost more than the turbocharger. with turbo you get the "wheeee" and "pish" or "chiu" sound :lol: but supercharger usually don't, they are quiet and probably good for a sleeper car :D .

Turbo too common compare to supercharger? probably.. all pickup trucks and SUVs come with turbo, only mercedes benz come with supercharger :D wonder BMW supercharge their car or not :huh: anybody can verify this?

aahh.. why am i so convinced now that turbos are still better than supercharger in any way -.-||...
maybe a kid like me at this age shouldnt think and ask too much about this now.

me no car even.. how to play with you... bring my mom's buruk car out to drift can la.. FR oso...
I was also ever thinking of putting 1JZ in it also... but no money lor... what to do..
eh i wanna confirm something.. 1JZGTE is twin turbo?

1JZ come stock with single turbo only. same regulated HP at 280, but less 73Nm of torque. strange thing is the max torque come at 2400rpm!! make it feel like driving a v8 :)

1JZGTE ;)

Go for it...I bet you will love it!

If only I could afford one...... <_<

still, twincharging is an interesting concept no doubt... it seems that in malaysia its a rarity cos most people opt for one option only...

i'm quite interested in superchargers though... however im confused between the supercharger types. can anyone explain to me the difference between the roots-type supercharger and centrifrugal-type supercharger and how they both function?

:huh:

dunno how to explain root type supercharger, but can be seen in v8s, even 1UZFE have bolt on root type supercharger.

centrifrugal type looks like a siput, but only one not 2 like the turbocharger. spun by belt, not practical for daily use cuz max boost only come at redline. vortech supercharger is an example of centrifrugal supercharger. You watched Taxi? the movie... queen latifah got a "titanium supercharger", thats a centrifrugal type

Originally posted by Master D@Jan 25 2005, 19:04
1JZGTE ;)

Go for it...I bet you will love it!

If only I could afford one...... b]

guys,

from wha i read, crop up one question....bout twin charging......

1JZGTE - from what i read ,
the Z stands for chargers and the T stands for turbo....
so it means that 1JZGTE is a twin charging engine right? :huh:

Pls correct me if i'm wrong...... ;)