Suzuki Swift

qencing said:
wanna give my oppinion but its been told edi...

but when the spare part is consern, must remember that suzuki malaysia is a company under DRB. so parts they will have... its also a rule when u wanna open a big dealership.. u need all of this... not like those cars where u import cars 1 by 1...
suzuki also has a 3S center in T.Tun. so sont worrie bout the spare part... oni small mater. but price im not sure... if they get from japan then might b alil expencive la... so to all owners remember to service ur car at the service center.. got 2/3 years warantty on all parts!!!

just wanna say this la..
if lari topic i say sorry 1st...
i placed my booking 4 the swift on sept 6. they say will take a few weeks
to get the car out. applied 4 the loan n all and it took less than a week to get it approved from the bank.

placed my order at suzuki 3S (mofaz)
till now i still have not heard bout the car!!
every week i ask the salesman n the manager n all they can say is next week come out...
its been 2+ months n still they say next week come out.

but i cannot balme them bout this delay... as u all know wit the A.P under declaring n all the customs cannot realese the car from the port.

this is not oni for suzuki but all cars that are imported which has reach the port.
i ask honda, toyota, cheverolet n they all say the same thing.. A.P sangkut!!

so if i wanna order any imported car i just wanna say u need some patience...
but to those who orded the MyVI u ppl very bersabar.. hehehe must wair at least 4 months...

Hi qencing,

Thanks for your input regarding the part. That's one of my worries sorted out. My other worry is the reliability of this car. It's new and all so I understand that not many people can give a deffinate answer to that. You had to wait this long? The shop in Hartamas I went to said that I the wait time is about a month. Well, what to do, people missused their power now see what happen. Everyone else suffer.
Well, I would really appreciate if members who have driven the Swift and Jazz to give more comparison of the 2. Just wanna be sure on which is best before deciding.
Anyway, hope to hear more from all you members out there.

Cheers...

ya, the AP issue stuck all the cars there...

MadCow, i got my car frm hartamas there, coz that time only they have ready stock... all other showroom was sold out...
but their manager is like those "nanti besok lusa ada" attitude.... we waited another one week bcoz the way the manager do things... :(

imagine, after u kao dim bank loan, bla bla bla, paid them deposit(thursday), the next day(friday) manager left to indonesia holiday without sign those documents to let the progress continue...
after few days when he came back tat day(wednesday, already one week), nvr go office....
so thursday only he sign company cheque to release AP frm bank....
then tat day(friday) go jpj for inspection(coz number plate transfer), runner, salesman appointment him to meet 9am at the puspakom there, then he over slept... he reach puspakom ard 11am something....
as u know, its friday, after inspection, then is sembayang...
then after tat inside jpj delay this and tat(you know la).... then at last have to wake another week to get road tax....

so personally i dun recommend tat showroom... :P

btw, suzuki giving 50,000 service n 3 years warranty...
abt their service... its all free watever stated in the manual books...

so basically their service included parts, labours, oils are all free~!

abt the mod, alot of mod have been done in other country...
singapore n malaysia basically doing out look n rims mod first...
there's a black swift installed recaro n safc too... in malaysia.. :P

http://www.swiftclubmalaysia.com/index.php?act=site
check the forum, they got discuss abt the service center, mod n spare parts things... :D

kwai said:
ya, the AP issue stuck all the cars there...

MadCow, i got my car frm hartamas there, coz that time only they have ready stock... all other showroom was sold out...
but their manager is like those "nanti besok lusa ada" attitude.... we waited another one week bcoz the way the manager do things... :(

imagine, after u kao dim bank loan, bla bla bla, paid them deposit(thursday), the next day(friday) manager left to indonesia holiday without sign those documents to let the progress continue...
after few days when he came back tat day(wednesday, already one week), nvr go office....
so thursday only he sign company cheque to release AP frm bank....
then tat day(friday) go jpj for inspection(coz number plate transfer), runner, salesman appointment him to meet 9am at the puspakom there, then he over slept... he reach puspakom ard 11am something....
as u know, its friday, after inspection, then is sembayang...
then after tat inside jpj delay this and tat(you know la).... then at last have to wake another week to get road tax....

so personally i dun recommend tat showroom... :P

btw, suzuki giving 50,000 service n 3 years warranty...
abt their service... its all free watever stated in the manual books...

so basically their service included parts, labours, oils are all free~!

abt the mod, alot of mod have been done in other country...
singapore n malaysia basically doing out look n rims mod first...
there's a black swift installed recaro n safc too... in malaysia.. :P

http://www.swiftclubmalaysia.com/index.php?act=site
check the forum, they got discuss abt the service center, mod n spare parts things... :D

Hey kwai,
Thanks again for the info man. If the manager in Hartamas behaves this way then I'll go the shop in Bangsar then.
I'll also check out the link for more info on Swifts.

Anyone got info on Jazz?

Cheers...

I just want to clarify, my salesman told me that there are ready stocks in KL and all I have to do is book for the car and the car will come in the next shipment, that is somewhere around early December. According to some of you, we have to wait 1-2 months due to AP problems. I am slightly confused here. For your information, I am from Sarawak. Can anyone please clarify this issue?

I almost booked the car but after hearing from you people, either my salesman is lying to all customers in Sarawak or there is no AP problem at all. So, which is right?

MadCow76 said:
ModMaestro, The car felt pretty solid and the drive is also smooth, handling wise too. I didn't notice much in the engine bay, you mean this is originally a turbo engine?

I'm not really sure if it's a turbo engine or not. But if you take a look at the engine bay, it seems to have empty space at the right places. And that coupled with the 9.5 to 1 compression ratio, that sure sounds like turbo to me.

astalavista_baby...that is what the dealer is telling us la...we wouldn't know if he is pulling a fast one or not we don't know. But they also tend to tell over promise delivery time just to make the sale. Also, if he said shipment is coming doesn't mean that the car will be cleared, also due to the AP thingy. Not too sure about the dealers in Sarawak though...maybe they got connection la...

ModMaestro...I honestly can't remember what the engine bay looks like la bro. Maybe should have another look.

madcow, i wud personally choose the Swift. good looking but rare. maybe slightly less power to Jazz VTEC but who cares when the saving is about 20K? some more there are too many Jazz around.

btw, i do not think Swift power output is low as proton's own campro 1.6 DOHC produced 110bhp. difference of ONLY 5bhp. not big deal.

do not worry about parts and maintenance. as new car owner, u r covered by warranty. in case u need body parts, i believe locak suzuki agent shud have familiar parts in stock; namely bumper, bonnet, headlamp and such. in case claiming against insurance, price does not matter much isnt it? and if buying a 'small' 80K car is also not big prob, higher parts price also no prob isnt it? and i dont think the front bonnet will cost us RM2,000 isnt it?

one good thing i like about the swift is its big interior and simple dashboard but complete. unique-fit stereo actually lowers the chance of theft or break-in.

but let me suggest u consider local cars too...
the Myvi 1.3 A premium is also big, with high tech features and VVTi engine. savings abou 30K. waiting period also shorter i think compare to standard spec 1.3 A.

one more worth considering is Savvy AMT. but its quite cramped inside, and the dark interior feels like not welcoming us. steering wheel is fixed and not adjustable and the plastics inside feelss sooo...PLASTIC!.

but gearbox is a real gem. maybe u will drive this car more often than ur girlfriend...

my 2 cents...:D

MadCow76 said:
astalavista_baby...that is what the dealer is telling us la...we wouldn't know if he is pulling a fast one or not we don't know. But they also tend to tell over promise delivery time just to make the sale. Also, if he said shipment is coming doesn't mean that the car will be cleared, also due to the AP thingy. Not too sure about the dealers in Sarawak though...maybe they got connection la...

ModMaestro...I honestly can't remember what the engine bay looks like la bro. Maybe should have another look.
Hmm, according to him, AP has been cleared and next shipment has been delayed to early December and car should be able to be on the road by mid December. According to him, the car initially had some problem with the AP and now it has all been cleared and that the car can be shipped.

Weird though, if you said the AP hasn't been cleared, then how the heck do they ship the car and promise customers car delivery? If the AP hasn't been released the car couldn't even be released from Port Klang needless to say shipping to Sarawak?

BTW, did you people get the Swift through the Suzuki authorized dealer or through some other car sellers? I am just so confused with the AP stuff here. hehe.

in my knowledge, without approved permit, nobody is allowed to import any cars in - be it new CBU or used CBU.

there's no point of shipping cars and once reach the shore try to apply AP. if not mistaken, no other independent dealers are selling the swift as grey import. maybe the reason for late delivery is choosen colour not available.....:D

Hi all...latest news. My girlfriend has decided to get the Honda Jazz IDSI. The car comes this Thursday. She chosed it due to the interior and boot capacity, the seats are more comfy compared to the Swift and I like the 7 gear function, just like driving an F1 car. But mainly the Jazz IDSI has got a good fuel consumption and has excellent resale value.
Thank you all for the time and patient in feeding me info on the cars.

zan...thanks for the lenghty explaination. But she's not looking into any national car now la...1 is enough in the family. For me, I'm just gonna maintain my car and do it up.

astalavista_baby...I guess it could be one of the reasons la. May it be AP problem, colour availability, over booking or he's just one of those salesmen that just pushes sales with empty promises. But I heard that there are also dealers (depending on the size of shop) that needs to make a certain amount of booking with Suzuki Japan to enable them to get the cars shipped into Malaysia. If 1 shop book 50 cars and another books 200 cars for example, the shop which books the most will surely get the car first. Just my 2 cents worth.

Well, thanks again for the help everyone. astalavista_baby...all the best in your car booking, make sure you ask the salesman to be tranparent.

Cheers...

Sweet little car if you have the money to burn. I myself prefer used cars. hehe

MadCow76 said:
Hi all...latest news. My girlfriend has decided to get the Honda Jazz IDSI. The car comes this Thursday. She chosed it due to the interior and boot capacity, the seats are more comfy compared to the Swift and I like the 7 gear function, just like driving an F1 car. But mainly the Jazz IDSI has got a good fuel consumption and has excellent resale value.
Thank you all for the time and patient in feeding me info on the cars.

zan...thanks for the lenghty explaination. But she's not looking into any national car now la...1 is enough in the family. For me, I'm just gonna maintain my car and do it up.

astalavista_baby...I guess it could be one of the reasons la. May it be AP problem, colour availability, over booking or he's just one of those salesmen that just pushes sales with empty promises. But I heard that there are also dealers (depending on the size of shop) that needs to make a certain amount of booking with Suzuki Japan to enable them to get the cars shipped into Malaysia. If 1 shop book 50 cars and another books 200 cars for example, the shop which books the most will surely get the car first. Just my 2 cents worth.

Well, thanks again for the help everyone. astalavista_baby...all the best in your car booking, make sure you ask the salesman to be tranparent.

Cheers...

idsi only got 7xhp tats why i choose swift... :D

n swift are not slower than honda jazz vtec, coz jazz vtec only have 110hp but swift also have 105hp.... while jazz running on CVT n swift using normal auto gearbox, which i think faster than cvt... :D coz it have fix gear ratio.... :D
but cvt are not... :D

http://www.suzukisport.com/news/051124zc31_comfort/top_img2.jpg

kwai said:
idsi only got 7xhp tats why i choose swift... :D

n swift are not slower than honda jazz vtec, coz jazz vtec only have 110hp but swift also have 105hp.... while jazz running on CVT n swift using normal auto gearbox, which i think faster than cvt... :D coz it have fix gear ratio.... :D
but cvt are not... :D

http://www.suzukisport.com/news/051124zc31_comfort/top_img2.jpg

True la it's not as powerful as the Swift, but my girlfriend won't be needing that much power though. If she wants power, she can drive my car hehehe...
I mean the main factor of choosing Jazz is because of the boot space la bro and the back seat. Swift's boot is so small and the back seat is very unconfortable, it's like sitting on an upright position, not so good to travel out station. That was the down side la basically.

yeah, jazz is actually has the biggest boot in supermini category. in fact bigger than saga LMST which is not in supermini group but rather small hatchback category. he he its along story..back from the 80's.

one advantage for choosing iDSI Jazz is, other than the bigger boot, is becoz of it being economical. in fact more economical than a 1.6 car i can say.

there's not much i can say in terms of resale value..very subjective issue. but compare swift and jazz, jazz is old enuff; all new model may not be far away thus has impact on resale value also. swift has at least another 3 years shelf life.

but ur gf madcow, is iving alone most of time isnt it, so dont bother so much about other occupants.. and for the future, try consider Toyota's i-swing.

http://www.toyota.co.jp/en/news/05/1011_1.html

I can imagine it now.. i-swing in Kesas highway, with starbucks coffee on the right hand, and a cigarette on the left.

kyspeaks said:
I can imagine it now.. i-swing in Kesas highway, with starbucks coffee on the right hand, and a cigarette on the left.

:O...

ya, jazz have bigger boot rooms, n the size really impress me.. :O

i was like... why so big? :D haha... :D

kyspeaks said:

imagine the whole stretch of Jalan SUltan Ismail and Jalan Buikt Bintang closed to all vehicles except i-swing...he he he

It's true la about the fuel consumption, that was also one of the main factors.
Back seat also comfy...no doubt we're not leaving with parents but you know sometimes have to fetch the parents time...must give comfy seats la..or else sure complain one hehehe.

i-swing looks cool man...but i doubt it'll ever come to Malaysia la...

All in all...we're pretty happy with the choice la...can't wait to collect the car this Friday.

suzuki swift has good handling, beautiful curves and other nice features.....
just that the price is abit PIA (pain in the Ass) le......
u should also ask her to consider other options such as kembara maybe?
if she is not going for killer performance or serious mods like us car enthusiasts, i suggest Kembara la...... only 50K plus.... maybe the extra 30K plus can use for your wedding later? hmmmmm...... think about it.....
just my 2 cents.....

rvn_rvn said:
suzuki swift has good handling, beautiful curves and other nice features.....
just that the price is abit PIA (pain in the Ass) le......
u should also ask her to consider other options such as kembara maybe?
if she is not going for killer performance or serious mods like us car enthusiasts, i suggest Kembara la...... only 50K plus.... maybe the extra 30K plus can use for your wedding later? hmmmmm...... think about it.....
just my 2 cents.....

Hi rvn_rvn,
She already owns a Kembara and like you said it's a real "PIA".
But thanks for your input though. We've already purchased the Jazz in November.
Cheers...