The Reversing Sound

alien

why izzit when u're engage in the reverse gear..
it sounds different when u accelerate?..
that "ngeeeeekkkkk" sound?
wat's the source of tis..?
....really curiuos..... :)

Originally posted by alien@Feb 20 2005, 01:33
why izzit when u're engage in the reverse gear..
it sounds different when u accelerate?..
that "ngeeeeekkkkk" sound?
wat's the source of tis..?
....really curiuos..... :)
bcoz of the R gearing

gear R or reverse usually use straight-cut teeth gear..so, a bit noisy. and that's why manufacturer dun make gear 1-5 into straight-cut teeth gear design

yup, totally correct.. the reverse gear uses straight cut gear or spur gears instead of helical gears as per your forward direction gears.. sometimes when u engage to reverse gear, u will hear the "krak" sound.. its becoz u r tryin to push in a pinion spur gear in between 2 gears.. due to the spur gears grinding its teeth when it rotates, plus there are 3 gears in motion.. thats why the "ziiing" sound is abit loud when u reverse.. hope this explains it..

it's gettin a lot technical here...
but i think i get the picture..
but the thing is..
if there's another way to do it without the noise..eg.as in the forward gears..
why wud they use straight cut gears for the reverse gear instead..
there muz be a reason..
and tat wud be..?
..thanks in advance for answering to my curiousity.. :D

u c, for the forward gear, the gears for ratio 1-5 is in motion all the time.. all of it.. what determine which gear u are engaged in is the syncromesh..when the syncromesh engage, only then the selected gear engage.. for the reverse gear, it requires one extra gear to make the reverse direction.. since it is sharing the same output shaft.. the gears cannot be in motion coz it will deter the output shaft movement.. so a pinion gear is slide in between the driving and output gear to engage into reverse gear.. thats why it has to be spur gear (straight cut).. bcoz if helical than cannot slide in liau.. hope this explains it..

sorry my skill using paint is not that good..

how to make 1st gear till 5th gear with that sound?sound nice :lol:

hua...
there's such a thing?..
other than the sound...wat's the objective of the spur gear set?

u got more torque to transfer to the ground. less power/torque losses at the transmission system. when u dyno with same engine config. u got more WHP compare to stock helical gear set

Originally posted by lan evo@Feb 20 2005, 13:27
how to make 1st gear till 5th gear with that sound?sound nice :lol:
change to sequential gearbox ? :lol: