to all civic ek sifu......

jas*o*n

aloha to all ek sifu here!i have a Q ,i buy a civic 97 1.6vtec(A) in Jan,and i want to upgrade my exhaust sistem to get more power but donno how and wer,extractor 4-2-1 or 4-1?centre box?FGK muffler ( mugen style)? can give me some opinion,pls????? :(

TQ!

Not a sifu, but by basic knowledge:

4-2-1 = mid range torque + top end power

4-1 = pickup (not sure if suitable for automatic cars)

Centre box = needed to maintain back pressure in exhaust system. If no back pressure, can lose torque and when going uphill car can be under powered.

muffler = depending on what sound you want. Most auto car go for S-flow type.

piping = 2.2-2.3 inches

Do note that what I mentioned above is usually applied on manual NA cars.

Riezal-R: da master of exhaust :D ..when ya changing ur piping so that it won;t give that irritating sound

hi jason,

i am driving a 96 1.6Vtec (A). want to change my extractor also. if u found any place cheap do let me know.

use 4-1 for the Integra Type R ones....i gain 4HP atw because of that manifold than the previous one Mugen

its also depends on ur engine...if its 1.6 use the itr....is its 2.0 and kau kau 220hp atw use mugen...mugen ext seems too big and lag the power of 1.6 ( not enuff power to push the air)

and its proven on dyno...

Originally posted by ][zoohalee][vtec][@Mar 13 2005, 22:53
use 4-1 for the Integra Type R ones....i gain 4HP atw because of that manifold than the previous one Mugen

its also depends on ur engine...if its 1.6 use the itr....is its 2.0 and kau kau 220hp atw use mugen...mugen ext seems too big and lag the power of 1.6 ( not enuff power to push the air)

and its proven on dyno...
hmm.. ITR header better than mugen?

I'm in a bit of dilemma here...I got both the ITR and mugen and dunno which is best...Im driving a B18C btw...

;)

Originally posted by aramis@Mar 13 2005, 23:21

I'm in a bit of dilemma here...I got both the ITR and mugen and dunno which is best...Im driving a B18C btw...

;)
I believe that the size and type of extractor you want to use, depends on the power of your engine and how you want it to perform.

Like Zoo said, Mugen seems too big and will lag a 1.6 engine. I agree on this. On low rpm, response is slow and not much torque. But these big extractors will give you more power for top speed. For pickup, I think smaller diameter extractor + shorther length will give more low-end torque and better response for pickup, of course depending on your engine power.

I myself used a B18CR extractor on my fairly stock B16 engine. There was some power improvement compared to the stock extractor I had, but the power comes during VTEC kick-in and top end. I changed to B16A Jasma extractor, smaller diameter... the difference was very significant. More low-end torque, better pickup and you can just feel the response when shifting gears. My stock engine was under-powered to use the ITR header, it had no pickup even tho it was 4-1. My B16A 4-2-1 with smaller diameter gives much more pickup for my stock engine.

So choosing between ITR header and Mugen, really depends on the power of your engine. That's what I think. To my knowledge, a B18CR and a Mugen type extractor has the same shape. Not sure about piping size and length.

For 1.6A cars, I just changed my 4-1 extractor last week. Brand cap ayam from Wai Heng, Puchong. I can feel a lot's of improvement on my low-end torque now, pickup faster. Some more I still using my stock muffler only. Hope it can improve again when I change my end muffler.

Originally posted by Riezal-R+Mar 14 2005, 09:16 -->
QUOTE (Riezal-R @ Mar 14 2005, 09:16 )
--QuoteBegin-aramis
@Mar 13 2005, 23:21

;)

I believe that the size and type of extractor you want to use, depends on the power of your engine and how you want it to perform.

Like Zoo said, Mugen seems too big and will lag a 1.6 engine. I agree on this. On low rpm, response is slow and not much torque. But these big extractors will give you more power for top speed. For pickup, I think smaller diameter extractor + shorther length will give more low-end torque and better response for pickup, of course depending on your engine power.

I myself used a B18CR extractor on my fairly stock B16 engine. There was some power improvement compared to the stock extractor I had, but the power comes during VTEC kick-in and top end. I changed to B16A Jasma extractor, smaller diameter... the difference was very significant. More low-end torque, better pickup and you can just feel the response when shifting gears. My stock engine was under-powered to use the ITR header, it had no pickup even tho it was 4-1. My B16A 4-2-1 with smaller diameter gives much more pickup for my stock engine.

So choosing between ITR header and Mugen, really depends on the power of your engine. That's what I think. To my knowledge, a B18CR and a Mugen type extractor has the same shape. Not sure about piping size and length. [/b][/quote]
hm....I guess the best bet is still to test it on a dyno..... ;)

Originally posted by Riezal-R+Mar 14 2005, 09:16 -->
QUOTE (Riezal-R @ Mar 14 2005, 09:16 )
--QuoteBegin-aramis
@Mar 13 2005, 23:21

;)

I myself used a B18CR extractor on my fairly stock B16b :lol: engine. There was some power improvement compared to the stock extractor I had, but the power comes during VTEC kick-in and top end. I changed to B16A Jasma extractor, smaller diameter... the difference was very significant. More low-end torque, better pickup and you can just feel the response when shifting gears. My stock engine was under-powered to use the ITR header, it had no pickup even tho it was 4-1. My B16A 4-2-1 with smaller diameter gives much more pickup for my stock engine.

So choosing between ITR header and Mugen, really depends on the power of your engine. That's what I think. To my knowledge, a B18CR and a Mugen type extractor has the same shape. Not sure about piping size and length. [/b][/quote]
:lol:

i need a 2.5 inch piping system, 2.3 inch too small. extractor and exhaust piping affects a lot becuz it is the highway of output. choose wisely on which is more suitable to the engine that you are runnning.

Originally posted by zero4@Mar 14 2005, 14:47
i need a 2.5 inch piping system, 2.3 inch too small. extractor and exhaust piping affects a lot becuz it is the highway of output. choose wisely on which is more suitable to the engine that you are runnning.
tailo... you B18C with mods. Surely powerrrrrr... and need bigger piping.

Originally posted by aramis@Mar 14 2005, 14:42
hm....I guess the best bet is still to test it on a dyno..... ;)
If you can afford that, then yes it would be the best way to find out. All you need to decide then is if you want the torque on low-end or the power for top speed :D

EG can give opinion kaa .. :P :P

for a standard set-up .. which means standard b16a .. 2" is already sufficient
I used 2.2" before in my standard b16a set-up .. pick kurang
change back to 2"

if yu have b16b or b18 or b20 .. different story loor ..

so, if yure engine is just 16(A) single cam .. better stick to the origin diameter .. 1.7" if not mistaken .. or else if yu really wanna change, just stick to 2" .. change the rear/bac box to s-flow to maintain the back pressure ..

I agree with syiokGILER.

I'm on B16 and I have certain parts of my rojak exhaust system that uses 2". That's where I get pickup response compared to my stock system. But of course, I lose out on top end power.

jas*o*n

put it this way laa .. as like others done to their exhaust system .. the collector/extractor and downpipe yu can make it 2" .. but the underneath piping stick to origin diameter ..

put one center box/bullet .. and back box, s-flow .. like me using tanabe hyper medallion .. which is s-flow eventho my engine is manual .. coz dun want to noisy exhaust .. nanti my daughter complain :lol: :lol:

happy trying .. B)