Toyota MRS / MR2 spyder

wah dapat jalan?? but should sound alot better if on aftermarket manifold. else not too loud

Anyone got jalan for hardtop or not?? Me need to get one but WingHin takes 1 month and he charging me RM8.8k la...after discount somemore!!

:confused_smile:

btw, i believe theres also 2-3 others who will jump on the chance if there's a used HT.
feelers sent out a while back & no news unless someone "sells" from used car shop.

not worth the effort as it has been discussed over other forums. it mainly because the underneath the toyota MRS hard top has well-insulated linings unlike the bare metal HT like the miata. What most miata owners will then custom the interior with some insulation to protect from the heat. (if you have seen both the HT, you will see the quality of the toyota)

yes, there are known fabricators of the hard top (for track use but totally no linings insulation) in japan. Even in thailand there's a custom HT made in carbon fibre but he actually bought another HT just to use the inner linings & fasteners (total cost US5K according to thai chap).

the only way locally is to wait salvage yard to bring some in or use cars owners to remove from one vehicle to sell it to you. the other option is wait from owners from singapore to sell their pre-own ones. (hope that the jb owners dont get it first before)

but can hope fore this too
"anyone interested in a carbon fiber hard top?"
http://www.spyderchat.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=32212

catch up with you tonite then.

Those looking for some mod bits (flywheel) can look into zth ------>
The Marketplace Categories > Engine and Performance > TRD toyota 1ZZ

as forum rules, cant post sale here. so heads up.

hi guys, need some advice here....the thing is that i've just serviced my mrs recently and after that, the engine light came on...what is the reason for it?

Ho MRS and MR2 fan... I'm Newbie in MR2 or MRS... :mouth_closed:
My bro, willing to brought the MRS this few month. As i know this car damn hard to drive, are it true?
The driving timing and feel total different from FR car isn't it? Want to drift also hard?

terryhendra said:
hi guys, need some advice here....the thing is that i've just serviced my mrs recently and after that, the engine light came on...what is the reason for it?

need to sent for code check. could be a couple of things. > O2 sensor, Map circuit, Injector Circuit Malfunction...etc
i would worry to much but typically it boils (my guess) to O2 sensor. U could try to look for a used one.

You can go to those shop with dianotics check & they will trouble shoot it for you.
you can email me at [email protected] if you want a copy of obiicodes.pdf
(generic copy, applicable to most MR-S except some minor diffrence (euro spec, US spec, japan spec)

koolspyda

scomatic said:
Ho MRS and MR2 fan... I'm Newbie in MR2 or MRS... :mouth_closed:
My bro, willing to brought the MRS this few month. As i know this car damn hard to drive, are it true?
The driving timing and feel total different from FR car isn't it? Want to drift also hard?

hard to drive? did you bro get the right car for you? maybe it better you looked into a silvia S14 of S15 instead, they are bang for buck if you are very much into drift.

actually the MRS & the lotus elise is made prefectly balance hence the most you can only do is a "mini drift". it helps if you have LSD too.

both MRS & elise has a balanced weight distribution & it wont look as impressive drifting (also it's low in weight) like an AE86, S13- S15 (length of these cars are also longer) as they are "tail bias" & would easily be made to drift by enthusiast.

ermm... not me want to buy... my bro want to buy for heself... but currently still investigate and find the weak point on the car 1st.

I used the S15 b4, and i know it should be different when drive a MRS (MR).
I'm quit from drift already, but just want to know are the car easy to drift? If yes, it might be dangerous for my bro lor...

So... Thank for reply.. but willing to know also, are these car got weak point? Instead just can carry 2 person only.

Don't think carrying 2 is a weak point ler. If your bro is interested in purchasing a car, he should get the notion that a 2 seater car is not a 'weak point' like you mentioned. If he/you want more seats, I am sure you guys can find a better alternative.

Major weak point for all cars?! The nut behind the wheel! :)

Here we have nothing short of a Porsche Boxster, like an escapee from an early Nintendo game. It might look downright strange to some, but the MR2 is simply a car to have fun in-if you take it too seriously the noise, cramped cockpit and zero storage space could turn you off. No, better to rev the wee out of the little four, flog the sequential 'box and enjoy the lightweight, go-kart handling. That sequential gearbox is arguably one of the best in the business: Keep the revs near the 5000-rpm mark and the shifts are quick and precise. As digitized simulations go, it ain't bad.

The first thing you will notice about the MR-Spyder is the power-to-weight ratio. At just 2200 pounds, it's one of the lightest sports cars made. That alone promises all kinds of tossability when we have a real drive in it, with responsiveness and steering feel, not to mention less passionate stuff like good gas mileage.

The power for this sports car comes from the same 1.8-liter twin-cam four-cylinder that sits in the new Celica. The difference is that the Celica application has the engine sitting transversely in front, while in Mr. Spyder it sits transversely behind the two seats and forward of the rear axle. That means excellent balance.

The VVT-i variable valve timing, which adjusts the timing, lift and duration of the intake and exhaust cams to provide maximum power for low, medium and high engine speeds, spreads the engine's power and torque across much wider bands than they would be with fixed cam timing.

So when you stand on the gas and go, the MR-Spyder will respond quickly, before anyone can say, ``Hey, where the @#*? do you think you're going?'' Peak horsepower is 140 and peak torque is 127 lb-ft.

The transmission in the car is easy and smooth to operate and engaged about as simply as the best shifters on the market. Matching revs and changing gears smoothly was about as easy to do on this car as on anything you will ever drive.

The unibody felt tight, there was no shifting of secondary chassis loads around corners or over bumps. Crawl underneath and poke around, you will find some interesting stiffening methods used on the Spyder body. Tubular steel stiffeners ran crisscross all over the car: from the suspension mounts to the body; from forward of the semi-trailing arms up to the midsection of a crossmember; from the front crossmember to the main body (four of them); diagonally across the engine bay (two welded together where they intersected). It was a unique solution to body rigidity. It almost looked like they were all added after the main design to increase the torsional rigidity and bending resistance, maybe because someone decided this had to be a convertible, but that would be a question we'd have to ask of the chief engineer.

And the car is fun to drive, reminiscent of the original MR-2. Had you been given an open track instead of a short stretch of semi-winding road along the beach, it felt as if the car could be throttle-steered, adjusting understeer or oversteer through a corner with appropriately timed use of the gas pedal. More spirited driving will tell for sure.

The suspension consisted of struts at all four wheels, the fronts controlled by lower stamped steel A-arms and the rears by lower parallel arms with semi-trailing arms. Brakes were four-wheel vented discs with two-piston calipers.

The body, well... For all the svelte shapes that could make up a two-seat roadster, all the shapes that designers probably had on their sketchpads, Toyota chose one from its Tokyo design lab that is more boxy than smooth. Proportionally the Spyder looks like the Porsche Boxster, which is good. It has the same short rear overhang, stubby corners and squat, ready-to-leap looks that a roadster should have. But the MR-Spyder's lines suggest more a mix of roundedness and New Edge that doesn't meld together as effortlessly as it could. The Boxster, for instance, is all smooth undulation, with no edginess to it, and hearkens back to the 550 Spyder of the 1950s.

eh, promo la S13-S15 la.

small nimble street sports car. back to enjoyable fun.
The whole car seems to pivot around the engine, and in such a fluid way that nailing an apex becomes instinctive. If there is understeer it is easily quelled with a slight lift of the throttle, while a heavy right foot will load the rear of the car up beautifully out of a bend. The MR2 is not a car with which you take liberties, but over time you'll relish the thrill of mastering its tail-biased balance. Roger Green knows the little Toyota well and is smitten: 'Despite having driven several thousand miles in this car I'm far from bored of it because every time you drive the MR2 you learn another facet of its character. You have to drive it, too – it demands your concentration.'

if your want 200HP butt mover then there's are EVO, scobby, GTRs.

spotted a topless white MR2-Spyder on maxis road page 5 star.

damn they should have picked a silver !!:shades_smile:

The spyderclub will be hosting a mini getogether with all spyder members next week for a mini photo shoot for a local mag / owner gathering to familarise with their cars.
The street slider (midship) & the vivacious spectra blue (cheowweng) are probably the savviest local MRSpyders around!! Sure there are "wide rides" MRS floating around but i dont think many have spend attention to detail esp cheowweng ride.

will keep you guys posted. This weekend we'll be having a autocross event run & if you are keen to look see or take part, you can sms me or mrmic2 for details.

koolspyda..... my car's not the nicest le... many more outside. My car's still not done up. Never done. Hahahahaaha....

dude, dont be shy la. while your kit is almost stock with GT wing, it's the attention to detail that sets you apart. I have seen JB rides & some of SG spyder too. they do have very nice kits (GT300, L creation, top secret, Trial, etc but it's the interiors setup that has you peering slighty ahead. as you said it WIP, so dont slack up.

more guys are now considering the MR-S, & it wont be long when some of them pours some serious mullah to dress up their rides!!

me & johnson, we are more motorsport inclined so not so much money spend on exteriors yet.

ooi, still riding single or have you have someone warming your passenger seat??