Tranny fluid discussion................

Alchemis

spark up the thread......

i start one discussion about tranny fluid....

previously i've been using the Motul Tranny fluid along with LSD fluid on my rear axel. the result.... immediate improvement in smoothness and gear change.... acceleration improvement as well..

1.5 years later............

when the fluid is being drained out.....it has alot of powdered metal along in the fluid ..... a sign of metal is being grind into the fluids....

i was wondering if it's the fluids aren't protecting the metal gears and copper synchronisers...... bcoz in the end i need to change gear box due the the fact that the gears are so difficult to shift......

now i'm using Redline MT90....... along with Q8 LSD fluid....
the result... nice and smooth and fast acceleration... but on track days.. 4 laps... the gear is hot like hell.. barely able to hold the knob....

dev recomend to use friction modifier to reduce the temp.... i was wondering which part of the gear box....

Add cooler to rear axel....... Radical.....

Last edited by a moderator:
I use Trust (orange/black bottle) for both gearbox and Lsd, don't know can or not. But last I changed I didn't see many metal dust.

adding cooler is real messy on tubings,,, some say add cooling fins... but how much heat can it take out of that huge volume tranny.,.. ?

just dun use motul :)... dun think it's suitable..

regarding cooler thing, need to study on the gear oil working temperature 1st. Some oil need a higher temperature in order to have the best result. Not achieve certain temp may have extra drag. I think those racing grade gear oil like HKS, Trust, KAAZ and etc will work fine with the high temp that we can achieve on the street. Else, those who use them on the track will have serious problem.

go buy a set of sparco hand gloves:driver: , the heat on the knob i thought its common as the heat of our cars are extraordinary and it transfer to the knob. U remind me where when i thrash my car all out in track there were smoke coming out from my gear shifter.

Alchemis,

powdered metal in your tranny oil case is not caused by transmission fluid or the fluid temp.

Something is screwed up in there. Its best you get a transmission engineer to open it up. Sounds like something is no longer aligned properly.

replaced the gear box...
will see if anyting like that happen again..
btw... the rear axle is having the same metal powder symptom...
it couldn't be tranny and the rear axel is ahving same misalignment problem..
the only thing that they are common is that.. they are made out of metal and copper... and they use the same brand of oil.. which is motul...

Well, do keep us updated. Got a pic of the residue you're finding?

unfortunately... nope...
but it looked like dark brown pain with alot of metallic particles on it... :)