Turbo for my ride

Blitz20_86

Hi!! I own a Satria Gti. Now currently modded with hotbits extractor, mid pipe and exhaust. I also changed the stock filter to K&N. Now im thinking of installing TD04 turbo. Can i install the turbo without changing anything, cam piston,etc? Is there any risk? Help me sifu out there!! Thanks!!

Yup!!! sure you can but cant boost to much!!! Coz i'm using td04 on my standard engine too... If you wanna install it make sure install it with intercooler...

i think it would help if you change your piston to low compression and replace your standard valves to forged valves...

if u wanna go for high boost, then internal should be changed to force induction compatible.. ie lower comp piston and high strength con rod..

0.4 - 0.5 bar should be ok. 0.8 bar is the highest I think for stock internals and dropped compression. And intercooler for low boost applications a VR4 core should be ok IMHO.

BTW: Anyone knows where I can get a cheap set of exhaust temp meter and (my friend told me since he's the one looking for it) the required sensors? It's for a VR4 which is using Evo 3 wiring and 550cc injectors

If u wanna turbocharge ur GTI, engine management is the first thing u should think, bcoz ur standard GTI ECU is not tuned for turbo. At least get a piggyback, or remap ur ECU. U don't need a programmable ECU if u only want to keep it low/medium boost.

Yo bros, i bought a remapped chip few weeks ago.. Hope that will do.. :lol: I visited the chop shop the other day asking about the price for turbo kit.. The guy there said have to change quite alot of things. Even internal..After done up some calculation, the sum can nearly buy a half cut turbo engine.. <_<

remapped chip? what does that mean? i also turbocharging my sohc 4g92 but i use safc to control fuel.

Originally posted by Blitz20_86@Mar 25 2005, 16:32
Yo bros, i bought a remapped chip few weeks ago.. Hope that will do.. :lol: I visited the chop shop the other day asking about the price for turbo kit.. The guy there said have to change quite alot of things. Even internal..After done up some calculation, the sum can nearly buy a half cut turbo engine..
[snapback]840425[/snapback]​

then get a turbo engine :P

eh is that the engine being installed in a wira @ gt auto? got one 4g92sohc with wastegate mounted just like that. damn chun man

then get a turbo engine :P
[snapback]847592[/snapback]​
[/quote]

Actually im planning to use back the 4g93 and just add on turbo kit.. coz i just wanna play 1st and 2nd gear only.. Wanna drag everyone at the traffic lights :D Anyone knows how much does it cost for a turbo kit, chop shop condition that is.. so i can roughly estimate the cost..

Originally posted by tgrrr@Mar 28 2005, 17:02
remapped chip? what does that mean? i also turbocharging my sohc 4g92 but i use safc to control fuel.
[snapback]847572[/snapback]​
Hi TGRRR,
I also bought an safc recently to control fuel when i turbocharge my 4g13p later. I am feeling i will need more than just safc to integrate the turbo nicely. I was thinking of buying itc. any suggestions?

140dB

I heard some of them said that Itc will be give true performance if you got safc installed and even better if you have adjustable cam pulley. I think its worth buying..

Low boost applications... prepare around 2-3k... for high boost... prepare around 5k plus minus.

Important to remember fuelling... Dun forget fuelling man... It's very important... If you lean out at relatively high boost then you're in for trouble...