Twin Cam Project for 4g92

I just got quoted by a mechanic saying that will cost RM1900-2000 for the conversion...wah lau abit pricy than i thought...:(

Anyone here actually did transplant the mivec engine head??? Wonder how much would that cost??

i;m not sure bout this but i think u also need the ecu if changing to mivec head. and that also will involve wiring. can easily go above rm3000. i think la.

1900-2000 for 4g93 head conversion? some of us i think did a lot cheaper. maybe 1500. try buying the head urself la. i think it only costs 400-500 for the head. then u'll also need a distributor that can fit that head. can easily buy from a forum member. then try asking ur mech how much he wants to do the conversion. sure he cannot markup the price of the items anymore. except if u have to change ur valve seal, timing belt for sure . best of all, try looking for a head thats in working condition and not those from chop shop. u'll save alot more. good luck.

Well besides, chop shop i dunno where to get the 4g93 head. Plus how to differentiate that its a good condition or a bad cond. head also at doubt.

For those who use less than 1.5k for the conversion, mind sharing wit me the location of the mechanic??

yup, try to find a 4g93 dohc head in zth lah, is more cheaper than chop shop about 400-500, last time one member offer me 380 including the manifold and spark plug but my mech advice don do this conversion(bcos he said no power, just waste money), now feel a little bit regret y don take it..
totally cost will around 1500, i heard from members from this conversion thread. alien_03 and deacon bro got one to sell, try to ask them and get from them. if conversion need 2000 fees, i think u should not go do this conversion, it is not such feeling that match v this amount do it.
anyone successful can share v more details like performance, fuel comsuption, torque, hp, and any attracted pics? hehe.. nice conversion.
actually i also go ahead v this conversion v my sohc 1.8, but i am confusing now whether go v mivec head or just dohc head. mivec will give more power but following v the cash flows also. some more need a skillful mech, if not, mivec din't operate properly.

damn, still have doubts in doing this conversion...

nelson when u converting??

Actually to do this DOHC conversion, can use 91 head also. Recommended by my foreman. Coz according to him, the 93 head ports are a little too big for the 1.6 block hence u lose more on low end. With 91 head its actually more suitable. In fact most of the ppl i know have done this conversion with 91 head. Just need to get the distributor.

FYI, I have a complete 4g91 DOHC for sales ( everything inside head completed ). .An extra that I bought. Its going for RM300 non nego. Blardy cheap already. HEheh Pm if interested.

hmm...not sure bout using a 4g91 head...Already there is a member saying that using 4g91 head on 92 block will have problem like sound and all.

Btw, Do u guys know where can i find cam pulleys (adjustable or non adjustable wans) for 4g93 engine head???? Or mayb recommend any shop which i can able to find it around PJ area??

for thoose who wanna convert 2 mivec head.. i think u dont need 2 get the wiring n ecu as well... coz mivec is not like vtec.. 2 activate mivec just need to tap 2 wires to battery.. means >> only 2 wires from insed the head, attach wit suis the 2 battry.. then can activate mivec manually.. if u hav the extra cash can go 4 VAFC.. my formen thats damn lazy did this wiring n tought me.. he say sav budget ma... heheheh

Guys, anyone of u here using 0.4mm metal head gasket along wit this convertion?? Will it really create higher compression ratio and power?? wats the pros and con of it??

ive used 0.4mm metal gasket b4... knocking kaw kaw.. better don use ler

Dude, the knocking sound comes once in awhile or its there as soon as u start ur car??

e819 said:
for thoose who wanna convert 2 mivec head.. i think u dont need 2 get the wiring n ecu as well... coz mivec is not like vtec.. 2 activate mivec just need to tap 2 wires to battery.. means >> only 2 wires from insed the head, attach wit suis the 2 battry.. then can activate mivec manually.. if u hav the extra cash can go 4 VAFC.. my formen thats damn lazy did this wiring n tought me.. he say sav budget ma... heheheh

its advisable to get the complete mivec wiring and ecu coz it runs on different fuel n ignition maps b4 n after the mivec activation point.....yes, u can still activate mivec wif various types of method, but it just wun perform as good..... =)

popcorn said:
:X-: walawee..... have to make love with the car first? so hard la bro...... none of my buddy use this kinda machine to test drive..... :regular_smile: ..... can try urs ar :_:

hahaha......long time didnt come in here so interesting oledi....hahaha...new way to test drive?:_:

long time no c.....

I'm back....all my bro......how r u guys?:_:
leftfoot said:
great news guys!!!
i managed to clock 9.64 seconds from 0-100 last night. i know its not that accurate but me and my skinny friend did it many times. well we got 10.2+ and 10.3+ in the first 2 tries when the air cond was on. furthermore the 1st two tests was done on an incline road. so i should say that my car can go under the 10second barrier and i didnt even change the cams!.
leftfoot, go run man....good timing u have there.....

liki said:
kksoon: wei, man, long time no c u online and reply here, how about ur engine? modified wat part already??
cheers to all conversion guys, good luck,man.
liki, yalo...previously a bit b4....my engine? nothing upgrade...same as previously 1....any TT from our group here?

spyderslr said:
its advisable to get the complete mivec wiring and ecu coz it runs on different fuel n ignition maps b4 n after the mivec activation point.....yes, u can still activate mivec wif various types of method, but it just wun perform as good..... =)

agreed...

Dude, wat timing belt u use?? I heard from my mech that ori 4g93 timing belt cannot be used. Any ideas guys??

pifecto14 said:
Dude, wat timing belt u use?? I heard from my mech that ori 4g93 timing belt cannot be used. Any ideas guys??
me oso having the same problem....1 of the bro use 153yu, if not mistaken....