Twin turbo or single.?

monsterv6

Guys... i need some advice la...Now im using a v6twin turbo..and im planing to go for a bigger twinturbo such as td04 twinblade mod to a ball bearing..
will it turbo lag on that..
my frend as me to moded it to a single turbo..but i guess the whole piping thing will be a nightmare....what dou guys thing about it..? help me out here...thanks

"....Do or do NOT..there is no try..." Master Jedi Yoda ( TESB )

ah chaange to ball bearing ah....power wise very good. your rpm will go up very fast. as far as i know, theres no lag. but ball bearing turbine very fast kong.
because it spins so fast and so light, it wears out very fast. I used to use SR20DET with Ball bearing turbine... now i chged the turbine to normal T88...better last longer!

is the bearing modified one? if modified, did they balanced it properly? cause ball bearing is better than using oil...

yes ngo-chi....but if u oil it also....it'll still wear out.
ask any mechanic, because its too light it spins very fast> power but the turbine wears out fast.

there is no basis to this explanation my fren...

ball bearing turbos are the way to the future..conventional method of journal bearing or float bearings are a way of the past.

I'd like to see how your mechanic explain that ball bearing turbos wear out fast. No offence to him, but does he really understand the actualy workings of a turbocharger ?
In a forum i prefer to reason these kind of MYTH away and give the other users a true perspective and not get the wrong message just because of some heresay...

SDF B)

sum-dum-fuk said:
there is no basis to this explanation my fren...

ball bearing turbos are the way to the future..conventional method of journal bearing or float bearings are a way of the past.

I'd like to see how your mechanic explain that ball bearing turbos wear out fast. No offence to him, but does he really understand the actualy workings of a turbocharger ?
In a forum i prefer to reason these kind of MYTH away and give the other users a true perspective and not get the wrong message just because of some heresay...

SDF B)

ok sifu relax man...i'm just a turbo user that used to use ball bearing turbo... until i realize that it cepat kong(change turbo 4x). then i went to a couple workshops and they say the same thing.... the ball bearing turbine wears very fast. then i went back to mechanic, he said "there i told u, ball bearing turbine not good..."

I'm sorry if i have offended engineering expertise but i'm just a sharing experiences mah. maybe u can tell me how to slove my problem with my turbine.

many problems arise is due to the fact that the turbos u bought are from junkyard..
90% of the junk ball bearing turbos are damaged...which is why u alwiz have these problems..

sum-dum-fuk said:
many problems arise is due to the fact that the turbos u bought are from junkyard..
90% of the junk ball bearing turbos are damaged...which is why u alwiz have these problems..

if not get frm chop shop...then where else can i get for a good price.
i don't believe in modding it coz it will give a lot of problems later.

if u don believe in modding...then why mod ? u seem to be giving conflicting answers... ;)

get a GT2530..GT2540...all are bolt on....New ones bout RM 3-4k...

Why go for 2nd hand junkyard parts when you can get new at almost the same prices?

Garett GT Series (dual ball bearing) brand new prices guide :-

Dual Ball bearing series
GT25 - RM3500
GT28 - RM4000
GT30 - RM4800
GT35 - RM5300

Other turbos (non-ball bearing)
TD04 - 14B - RM1400

TD05 - 16G - RM1900
TD06 - 18G - RM2300
TD06 - 20G - RM2800

TO4B - RM2500
T04E - RM2800
TO4S - RM3400
TO4R - RM4100

comes with 6 mths warranty. pm me if you need more details.

Dan..

pls state what and how your 6 months Warranty covers ?
As far as factory is concerned...it does not cover any Warranty...

warranty is only for product defect, if any, and is given by us. Does not cover defects caused by misuse.

go for single turbo la....no need to buy 2 of everyhting. piping also will be easier to do than twin setup. :)

Danny said:
Why go for 2nd hand junkyard parts when you can get new at almost the same prices?

Garett GT Series (dual ball bearing) brand new prices guide :-

Dual Ball bearing series
GT25 - RM3500
GT28 - RM4000
GT30 - RM4800
GT35 - RM5300

Other turbos (non-ball bearing)
TD04 - 14B - RM1400

TD05 - 16G - RM1900
TD06 - 18G - RM2300
TD06 - 20G - RM2800

TO4B - RM2500
T04E - RM2800
TO4S - RM3400
TO4R - RM4100

comes with 6 mths warranty. pm me if you need more details.

Thanx Danny....you were a very helpful sifu.:) i'll pm u later...most probably end of the month...hehehehe abit broke lah this month.

sang kancil, will get back to u soon

goosfrabra, no problem, but me not sifu, sdf is the tai kor here :)