UPM students vs UPM staff - again!

Update from Malaysia Kini news Students decry 'intimidation', seek help from Public Complaints Bureau :

Students decry 'intimidation', seek help from Public Complaints Bureau
Syed Jaymal Zahiid
Sep 21, 07 3:36pm

A group of university students submitted a memorandum to the Public Complaints Bureau (BPA) claiming that they are being subjected to ‘intimidation’ by their respective universities.
Breach of privacy
Unlawful expulsion

Plain intimidation at UPM
P Dev Anand Pillai
Sep 21, 07 3:26pm Adjust font size:

Source : Plain intimidation at UPM

I refer to the malaysiakini report Student: VC's 'porn' charges baseless.

It has happened far to many times for us to dismiss it again to say that this is an isolated case without much evidence. I must say that the students who are involved in standing up to the university should be applauded for their bravery.

When we boast that we are to become an educational hub for the South of Asia, we prod and challenge our young to be bold and brave and to take up issues that concern them and society as a whole. But when our students show their mettle - like what the UPM students have done - we can't seem to take it. Yee Yang Yang and friends should be commended.

The university authorities had suddenly confiscated his laptop and all his electronic study equipment. All this just at a time when campus elections are nearing goes to show that our young are being thought how to intimidate. After all, the ruling elites have done from the time they were in university.

What are universities for in the first place when the students are not treated as adults who are capable to thinking for themselves? Do we feel ashamed when our young do not even know what the federal constitution is or for that matter whether such a document exists! Is it wrong to have a different view? Can't we as a civilised society learn to agree to disagree? Why are we patting ourselves on the back for having declared some of our universities as research universities when we can't learn and appreciate that we have students who differ in views?

What that has happened to Yee Yang Yang is a case of - as the ruling elites would like to put it - ‘catching one monkey to keep the other monkeys at bay’. It is just plain intimidation of the highest order and to have it supported by the university’s vice-chancellor is even more insulting. Therefore, the term ‘Mat Rempit University’ befits Universiti Putra Malaysia very well.

The common accusation of Yee having obscene material on his laptop is a very old trick in the book. These kind of threats and intimidation are commonly used by the police to get the victim to admit to whatever they want them to confess to. What are we teaching our university students? To be compliant and docile and everything will be alright? Never question the authorities no matter how unfairly you may be treated? This is how far we have come after 50 years of independence.

If we do not want this beloved country of ours to sink further into a state of a ‘free-for-all’, we have to take the government to task this coming elections. Let’s not hope that all will be alright and we can continue on with our daily lives. Unless the government is made to respect the people, we Malaysians deserve the government that we get.
I refer to the malaysiakini report Student: VC's 'porn' charges baseless.

It has happened far to many times for us to dismiss it again to say that this is an isolated case without much evidence. I must say that the students who are involved in standing up to the university should be applauded for their bravery.

When we boast that we are to become an educational hub for the South of Asia, we prod and challenge our young to be bold and brave and to take up issues that concern them and society as a whole. But when our students show their mettle - like what the UPM students have done - we can't seem to take it. Yee Yang Yang and friends should be commended.

The university authorities had suddenly confiscated his laptop and all his electronic study equipment. All this just at a time when campus elections are nearing goes to show that our young are being thought how to intimidate. After all, the ruling elites have done from the time they were in university.

What are universities for in the first place when the students are not treated as adults who are capable to thinking for themselves? Do we feel ashamed when our young do not even know what the federal constitution is or for that matter whether such a document exists! Is it wrong to have a different view? Can't we as a civilised society learn to agree to disagree? Why are we patting ourselves on the back for having declared some of our universities as research universities when we can't learn and appreciate that we have students who differ in views?

What that has happened to Yee Yang Yang is a case of - as the ruling elites would like to put it - ‘catching one monkey to keep the other monkeys at bay’. It is just plain intimidation of the highest order and to have it supported by the university’s vice-chancellor is even more insulting. Therefore, the term ‘Mat Rempit University’ befits Universiti Putra Malaysia very well.

The common accusation of Yee having obscene material on his laptop is a very old trick in the book. These kind of threats and intimidation are commonly used by the police to get the victim to admit to whatever they want them to confess to. What are we teaching our university students? To be compliant and docile and everything will be alright? Never question the authorities no matter how unfairly you may be treated? This is how far we have come after 50 years of independence.

If we do not want this beloved country of ours to sink further into a state of a ‘free-for-all’, we have to take the government to task this coming elections. Let’s not hope that all will be alright and we can continue on with our daily lives. Unless the government is made to respect the people, we Malaysians deserve the government that we get.

Another old shit news of UPM!

Update from Malaysia Kini news UPM warns students - I know who did it :

UPM warns students - I know who did it
A Concerned Citizen
Sep 14, 06 5:59pm Adjust font size:

Last Wednesday, the deputy vice-chancellor (DVC) (student affairs) of University Putra Malaysia Dr Azali Mohamed had called a meeting with all mass communication trainees.

I understand from a report on Chinese online news portal Merdekareview.com that the DVC’s speech was to 'teach' the students who had disclosed the UPM fracas to the media.

The DVC was quoted as saying: “I don’t want to pinpoint, but I know who did it (the UPM trainee who works for Merdeka Review). Siapa makan cili, dia yang rasa pedasnya."

The purpose of the meeting was to warn and threaten the trainees not to use the opportunity of industrial training to ruin the good name of UPM. According to the report, Azali had said: “We will think of some rules so that we can take action against the students who had broken the university's rules. Maybe we will expel the students from the campus or disqualify the practical (training).”

If his statement was not a threat, excuse me for unable to read it otherwise. Azali also had said: “You are still subjected to the campus authority.”

This was shocking for the statement to come from a DVC of the university that should be grooming our future leaders. We need a capable leader with integrity. But the DVC had conveyed the wrong message that students are not allowed to be a person with integrity by warning them not to tell the truth.

Azali was quoted as saying that "the university is a place for smart students, for the one who know how to follow the rules”.

Isn't it worrying that the DVC did not even allow students to think critically but have to be obedient to the authorities?

University students should stand for their rights and be able to differentiate between black and white. I feel very sorry that the education system today does not encourage students to think critically and creatively.

I also feel sad and disappointed that UPM tried to sweep everything under carpet. The attackers in the scuffle had been let off scot-free. So do not blame our students for thinking that when they make mistakes, they need not take any responsibility.

I have found an online petition to protest the shameful action of UPM in handling the whole episode. We should all support the petition for justice and truth to be upheld.

souce : Varsities producing more cows than leaders
Concerned Parent N Citizen
Nov 22, 05 5:25pm Adjust font size:

Malaysiakini’s report of the pro-government Students’ Representative Council of Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) has only reinforced the fears among educationists, parents, politicians, and others that many of our local university students are ill-equipped to face the challenges of the new world of globalisation.

What is even scarier is that it appears that the Higher Education Ministry, and also Umno, condone, if not encourage, the training of our future generations in this mould: docile, domesticated, and unabashedly meek. After all, these are the kind of student leaders that they eagerly propped up in the recent students’ elections in their attempt to curb and control student activism.

Of what hope does the country have if many of its students share the view espoused by the UPM’s students council vice-president Sulhairil Hafiz Sulaiman who said that it was not the role of the students to demand for a review of the Universities and University Colleges Act 1971 (UUCA). This piece of legislation has been known to be largely responsible for emasculating academic and intellectual vigour among academics and students.

Worse, Sulhairil even said that he would follow – rather blindly – what the government leaders have to say: ‘If the government leaders think the Act should be reviewed then review it, if not, there is no need to review it. We don’t have any suggestions; let the leaders decide.’ Are we witnessing the making of cows (which can be pulled in all directions) as opposed to generating truly student leaders?

Is this the mark of our future leaders? They don’t seem to have the initiative to think critically, or the capacity to look for solutions. As students, they should be critical of almost everything - the government, the opposition and others. The young mind needs to be constantly challenged so that it can face and overcome the many obstacles in life. Is it any wonder then that many of our local graduates are unemployed and presumably unemployable?

A university ought to be a place where ideas flourish, and are encouraged to flourish. Here, differences of opinions should be of a premium value, not something that the university authorities look upon with utter contempt, especially the Students’ Affairs Department.

Critical academics and students should not be marked by the authorities as troublemakers and sidelined (if not punished) as a result. Needless to say, the meeting of differing ideas makes a university an intellectually exciting place. For such things to exist in our local universities, they would require academic autonomy, among other things.

So is Malaysia still thinking of being a centre of academic excellence in the region, with its universities ranked highly in the world’s hierarchy of educational institutions? Dream on.

Malaysia gone case already.

saga continue,
You exercise your bumi rights, I will unleash my langit lefts. hehehe just joking dude. hehehe

saga continue,
eh, just now I went to those ramadhan stalls at kelana jaya, i bought this murtabak, quite nice la. Then I saw this special murtabak johor. They use egg to wrap the murtabak, then sprinkle onion bits and some other dunno what sprinkles on the murtabak. wah... look very nice but it's RM6! I left back only RM2 in my wallet so I didn't buy, cos earlier on, I bought 1 murtabak daging, 1 murtabak ayam, 10 pieces roti jala, 4 pieces pulut udang, 1 bamboo pulut. Then left back RM2 hahaha

s_95 on an eating frenzy .... Eating for the rest that are fasting, hahahaha ...

saga continue,
I didn't finish all the food ler. hahaha I ate 5 roti jala, 2 piece murtabak, 2 pulut udang, 1 lemang (about 10 cm long). That's all. The rest of it I kept in the fridge, and heated it up for lunch today. haha By the way, have you seen those little brown donuts before? It's kinda dark brown in color and the size is a bit bigger than a RM0.50 coin. I can't remember what it's called but it taste nice. Got a bit of peanut kinda taste and it's sweet.

eyong,
Eating frenzy is somewhat better than going out on a mat rempit killing frenzy although I know almost all ZTH members would prefer me to go out on a rempit killing frenzy. hahaha

nitrus,
Next time, if someone says something like, "I've got bumi rights to this", you just reply and say, "I've got langit lefts and when my langit pisses on your bumi for few days non stop, your bumi will be under my langit's piss"
Get what I mean? hahaha Means, rain non stop, cannot see the bumi (earth) already. hahaha

Disregarding, that farker still deserve to have his teeth knocked-in, and his car melted into a block of plastic and steel ... Arrogance SOB !

Malaysiakini.tv news way better than local newspaper.Local newspaper like to cover up scared his company will closed down by government.Nowadays newspaper only think is how to earn money and not reporting the real fact

This is 'their' style of doing things when they're given authorities. pig shite is what many would call it.